Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A well-blended mixture
'The Haunted Pad Vol. 1' is a sort of expanded version of the LP '20 Classic Instrumentals' issued by See for miles in the 80's. This CD offers 35 tracks though - with a playing time about 79 mins. Furthermore, some of the tracks seem to have been given the 'Beatle'- treatment, resulting in an enhanced sound quality. 'Gypsy Beat' by the Packabeats and 'Jack's Good' by the...
Published on 8 Sept. 2012 by le Wex

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not what it says on the packet!
The track listing on the Amazon site is not quite what is on the CD, although the track listing on the CD itself is correct. I have no problem with the quality of the music or the mastering, except that the one track I bought it for was not on the CD! Ted Taylor 4, M1. This track is actually on the companion CD called Whap! (I think), which means buying two CDs to get one...
Published 17 months ago by R. W. H. Hawkesford


Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A well-blended mixture, 8 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Haunted Pad: British Instrumental Guitar Music of The Sixties Part One 1960-61 (Audio CD)
'The Haunted Pad Vol. 1' is a sort of expanded version of the LP '20 Classic Instrumentals' issued by See for miles in the 80's. This CD offers 35 tracks though - with a playing time about 79 mins. Furthermore, some of the tracks seem to have been given the 'Beatle'- treatment, resulting in an enhanced sound quality. 'Gypsy Beat' by the Packabeats and 'Jack's Good' by the Krew Kats never sounded better - primarely due to a tight and defined bass sound. As always with collections of this kind, not everything will be to everyone's liking. I find the 4 offerings by The Ted Taylor four rather bland and uninteresting. I also could have wished for some trivia regarding labels and dates of original releases. That aside - this is a super compilation for anyone interested in guitar instrumentals of the 60's
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the haunted pad cd part one, 31 Oct. 2012
By 
Mr. S. Scott - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Haunted Pad: British Instrumental Guitar Music of The Sixties Part One 1960-61 (Audio CD)
Now this what I call a great instro cd from the sixites. Every one a winner putting this together someone must love the music.
This is very good place to start if you are into instrumentls,great value for money 35 tracks. I hope vol 2 will be as good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars instro gems, 11 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Haunted Pad: British Instrumental Guitar Music of The Sixties Part One 1960-61 (Audio CD)
using the cover of an eagles soundtrack from the film some people
this disc has some really good instrumentals on it
good tracks like Judd Proctor, Rhet Stoller. Nero and the gladiators
and others all good.I would recommend this disc to anyone interested
in British instrumentals
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not what it says on the packet!, 1 Dec. 2013
By 
R. W. H. Hawkesford (Northampton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Haunted Pad: British Instrumental Guitar Music of The Sixties Part One 1960-61 (Audio CD)
The track listing on the Amazon site is not quite what is on the CD, although the track listing on the CD itself is correct. I have no problem with the quality of the music or the mastering, except that the one track I bought it for was not on the CD! Ted Taylor 4, M1. This track is actually on the companion CD called Whap! (I think), which means buying two CDs to get one track,, which seems rather OTT... If Amazon's track listing had been correct, I would have given the album 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good range of obscure tracks, 27 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Haunted Pad: British Instrumental Guitar Music of The Sixties Part One 1960-61 (Audio CD)
Liked the unusual choice of material -not the usual commonplace instros that are usually included in this type of compilation
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Air Guitar 60's style, 6 Sept. 2012
By 
Howard Griffiths (Radio station gtfm 107.9 or www.gtfm.co.uk tune in and enjoy) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Haunted Pad: British Instrumental Guitar Music of The Sixties Part One 1960-61 (Audio CD)
In the early 60's I believe that 90%of the record buying public looked further than The Shadow's , other singers in those time's had their own backing group such as Shane Fenton and The Fentones , Marty Wilde and Kewcats/Wildcat's and Mike Berry and The Outlaws and later Billy J Kramer and The Doktas just for starters , these groups provided a musical break for the singer on stage , and they had to be good , they did make the odd single which broke into the charts ,nine times out of ten you were lucky to hear other than 208 good old Radio Lux's , if was't for the Record Label Shows a lot of these Instrumental's would have never had "air play" ,hence THE Barons Cossack I still have my 7" 45rmp.worth a "few bob" at record collectors fairs .
I will admit that I have picked up a couple of sorted after track on this album . Good sound and a nice little info booklet , if your just starting to get into 60's Instrumentals why not start here with this offering ?
Looking forward to Vol 2 to see what other gem's come along . {after you into the echo chamber}
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good buy., 3 Oct. 2013
By 
Mr. R. R. Richardson (SHREWSBURY SHROPSHIRE) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Haunted Pad: British Instrumental Guitar Music of The Sixties Part One 1960-61 (Audio CD)
Having read the previous customer reviews I thought I should buy this album as it featured of lot of Joe Meeks groups on it. If you like the early 60s instrumentals then I recommend that one should buy it. I hope there's a follow up to this one, as I shall buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 12 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Haunted Pad: British Instrumental Guitar Music of The Sixties Part One 1960-61 (Audio CD)
Lots on the CD I must have heard but do not remember,very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 Oct. 2014
This review is from: The Haunted Pad: British Instrumental Guitar Music of The Sixties Part One 1960-61 (Audio CD)
great purchase - thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 31 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Haunted Pad: British Instrumental Guitar Music of The Sixties Part One 1960-61 (Audio CD)
I love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews