Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another winner in the Peter Diamond detective series, 18 Feb 2007
By 
Iscamaid (Exeter, Devon) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had been eagerly awaiting "The Secret Hangman", having been a fan of the Peter Diamond detective series since being given a copy of the"The Vault". In this series Peter Lovesey has created a human and likeable hero whose stubbornness and bluff manner are his strongest points. He unfailingly provides us with a classic murder mystery in the truest sense of the word, with a strong plot, believable characters and storylines which keep you reading and guessing until the end. There is a lack of graphic blood and gore that you find in many recent thrillers, instead the writer gives an intellectual puzzle. In "The Secret Hangman" he has not let his readers down; here is another tale of murder in Bath, a serial killer hanging couples in a bizarre voyeuristic way from bridges near Bath beauty spots. If I have one slight criticism of this book it is due to the love interest from the "Secret Admirer". Having followed the series I was shocked and hurt by the murder of Peter Diamond's wife, Stephanie in one of the earlier novels. The love interest in this book seems a betrayal of her character and although this book is set 3 years after her death I found it uncomfortable to read. I almost felt as though Peter Lovesy had been persuaded by an editor looking for book sales to kill off Stephanie. It felt as though having a happily married detective was too staid and from her murder they could introduce a love interest and sex scenes. Instead they killed a main character from the series who gave peter Diamond credibility and a sounding board for his ideas. I would still recommend this book to anyone, though would suggest reading them in sequence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Page Turner, 9 April 2009
Peter Lovesey has written some superb books, probably none better than Bloodhounds. The Secret Hangman is no exception. Lovesey is an author whose style is reminscent of the old fashioned classic murder mystery that doesn't not rely on gore and sex to fill out the pages but intense plotting and the weaving together of intricate puzzles in which he allows Peter Diamond and his team to solve: another point to which the book is no exception. With well defined characters and vivid descriptions, those who admire the author's work will find the book a pleasure to read, as I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Puzzling to the end., 24 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another great read from Peter Lovesey in his Diamond series. Convoluted plot and the usual unexpected twist in the tail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 4 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Secret Hangman (Peter Diamond Mystery Book 9) (Kindle Edition)
This book is hard to put down and the local detail adds greatly my enjoyment as I can picture where the events occur.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another winner for Peter Lovesey, 2 Dec 2012
By 
rickvic (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Peter Diamond the feature character in these stories provides the reader with a credible touch of realism. The author manages to create a perfect image of Bath and surrounding area. The story line is gripping and the many twists and turns leave the reader hanging on to the end. As with all in this series, Great Character, great story, beautifully written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good who dunit, 23 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Secret Hangman (Peter Diamond Mystery Book 9) (Kindle Edition)
As usual I enjoyed this Peter Lovesey novel, trying to guess the outcome and then being surprised. The story flows well with plenty of suspence and and well written. You can't see the cogs whirring or find glaring errors in what you read. A good who dunit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very readable, 24 Feb 2007
By 
Claretta (London, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Not quite one of Lovesey's best - the Vault was really superb - but still extremely enjoyable and entertaining, even if the villain's identity is fairly easily guessed. One thing that bothered me was that the motivation for the murders was very similar to that in an Ed McBain 87th precinct novel. Can't say more without giving the plot away ... I agree with the previous reviewer, I wasn't crazy about Diamond's new love interest. She just didn't convince me as a character, and the relationship between them didn't work for me. The scenes between Diamond and his team are what really carry the book along.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Intricate story that keeps you reading, 8 July 2009
By 
Bluebell (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
I've enjoyed several of Peter Lovesey's earlier books and was not disappointed by this one. It's a classic detective story in that the murders are carefully planned, there are red herrings and a definite motive is revealed near the end of the book. The author creates distinctive characters, including Diamond the chief detective in this series. My only criticism is over the depiction of his boss, whose behaviour towards him is a caricature of an over-bearing and irritable woman who tries to take the credit for successful operations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Slight anticlimax, 28 Dec 2010
By 
Dr. Peter G. Upton (Woolston, Southampton United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well written police procedural, set in Bath and cleverly plotted at least at the start; I felt there were some problems with the denouement which were either glossed over or ignored. In particular Paloma does not convince in either half of the story, and some details of the way the villain gets his information are sketchy. However, well written and entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Secret Hangman, 18 Nov 2009
By 
Mrs. Sylvia Adey (Warwickshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
An interesting book - one you don't want to put down. But then, I enjoy all of Peter Lovesey's work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews