Customer Reviews


75 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars FASCINATING INSIGHT INTO ONE OF BOXINGS 'HARD MEN'
Many books on fighters give a very limited and one-sided view but after reading this you feel that you know more about Nigel Benn than just that he could hit hard.
He has been very open about things that he has done in his life and allowed the reader to make there own judgement.
Aside from concentrating on his fight career that we all know about he gives a...
Published on 21 July 2001

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Why tell us all the time how much you love this person or that person or your parent
Why 3 stars? because of the first sexual account at 12. No need for all those details...

Why tell us all the time how much you love this person or that person or your parent?

Also why not expand on the custody battle, which could give this book another flavour, joining so thousands of fathers who suffer the same situation?

Anyway the book...
Published 7 months ago by Florbert M


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Why tell us all the time how much you love this person or that person or your parent, 12 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nigel Benn - The Dark Destroyer: I've Had Some Good Rucks in the Ring but I've had Some Even Better Ones in the Street (Kindle Edition)
Why 3 stars? because of the first sexual account at 12. No need for all those details...

Why tell us all the time how much you love this person or that person or your parent?

Also why not expand on the custody battle, which could give this book another flavour, joining so thousands of fathers who suffer the same situation?

Anyway the book is like unfinished... You talk about ministry of sound and church..
You are not as real as mike Tyson in his book where he tries to be more open about his life and daily struggles, from millions to broke...

Boxing is over and life can be boring but, having your army background, many security companies would be happy to welcome you (undercover detective for ex?). You could keep it real this way, joining millions of workers at least once a week! It could be fun to join a new crew!!

We love u Benn and you are one of the greatest. Watching your fight is more exciting than Eubank for example! You have done your bit, you have won! But life continues, don’t drop the guard!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Benn but no bang, 17 Sept. 2007
This review is from: Dark Destroyer (Hardcover)
On the whole I found this book to be very disappointing. I was looking forward to reading about what made this ferocious puncher tick, but it didn't deliver. There are also some glaring errors, which should have been picked up by someone at some stage. Not least of which was calling Dennie Mancini, `Danny'! DENNIE has worked with some of the biggest names in British boxing, and to be honest that was poor to say the least.

I learnt nothing about what it was like in training camp, nor was there any insight into his big fights. Much of the book is taken up with Benn bragging how much money he has to spend so rich that he can thrash his sports car through the streets of London going through three clutches and two gear boxes in a year, when not boasting about money he is telling the reader of the women he bedded, then on the next page saying how he was missing his partner and children. For me Nigel Benn just came across as an overgrown chav with plenty of money in his pocket. I went to a lot of Nigel's fights but after reading this book I knew nothing more about the man than when I started.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars FASCINATING INSIGHT INTO ONE OF BOXINGS 'HARD MEN', 21 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Nigel Benn (Paperback)
Many books on fighters give a very limited and one-sided view but after reading this you feel that you know more about Nigel Benn than just that he could hit hard.
He has been very open about things that he has done in his life and allowed the reader to make there own judgement.
Aside from concentrating on his fight career that we all know about he gives a fascinating insight into his private life before, during and after his career, as well as giving the reader a chuckle on more than one occasion when revealing some escapades that he and his friends have encountered.
All-in-all a very entertaining and enlightning read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good read...bit short on humour., 19 Jan. 2015
This review is from: Nigel Benn (Paperback)
Strange little book...first off Benn the boxer was undoubtedly awsome. Benn the man however was frankly a bit of a dick. His obsession with buying stuff was weird and boring and his attitude to women was appalling. That is all in the past now hes found God. Well worth a read...just take a lot of it with a pinch of salt....wheelying Porches anyone?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 2 Dec. 2008
By 
jbezzo "jbezzo" (Cumbria) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Nigel Benn (Paperback)
It's fair to say that before Hatton and Calzaghe, Nigel Benn was one of British boxing's premier superstars who captured the imagination of the public, delivering excitement and thrilling knockouts on a regular basis in a time when the cream of British boxing regularly did their thing live on ITV. As boxer I regard Benn as one of Britain's best - a two weight champion who went from a knock-em, sock-em brawler to a ring-wise veteran who made ten successful world title defences.

This book however, fails to deliver. We learn of Benn's early life and the death of his brother Andy. We learn about the wild days of his youth which led to a stint in the army and then a career in the prize-ring. We learn of his sexploits that see him regularly cheating on the women in his life. The fights are described as though he is merely reading his own press-cuttings. How did it really feel to batter Iran Barkley in less than two minutes? You want to know what it felt like to be involved in one of the most primally savage fights ever beamed into the homes of a prime-time Saturday night audience. What did it feel like to walk away with his faculties intact while his opponent was so badly injured that he has never made anything close to a full recovery. Instead, we learn about the cars he's driven and the money he's made. And then there's the end, with Benn in a new relationship becoming a born-again Christian. I'm always deeply suspicious of those who find the light after freely enjoying the bounty of their sinners ways. If you want to a down-to-earth, funny and enjoyable boxing read - go for the Ricky Hatton book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Surprising very good, 1 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nigel Benn - The Dark Destroyer: I've Had Some Good Rucks in the Ring but I've had Some Even Better Ones in the Street (Kindle Edition)
Nigel is honest as they come, great pro,decent man and tells a good story!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Boxing legend!, 22 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nigel Benn - The Dark Destroyer: I've Had Some Good Rucks in the Ring but I've had Some Even Better Ones in the Street (Kindle Edition)
Love watching Benn's fights on YouTube and this was a good insight into his life outside the ring as well boxing achievements
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nothing dark about his story, 9 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nigel Benn - The Dark Destroyer: I've Had Some Good Rucks in the Ring but I've had Some Even Better Ones in the Street (Kindle Edition)
A great read honest and open. A good insight into the world of boxing with it's ups and downs. Good boxing life story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Review, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nigel Benn - The Dark Destroyer: I've Had Some Good Rucks in the Ring but I've had Some Even Better Ones in the Street (Kindle Edition)
wasn't sure if I would like this book,as Nigel Benn wasn't my most favourite boxers,but I must say I did enjoy it,I would really recommend it to my friends
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Boxing, 16 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nigel Benn - The Dark Destroyer: I've Had Some Good Rucks in the Ring but I've had Some Even Better Ones in the Street (Kindle Edition)
Good read if you like boxing and are interested in the person ( Nigel Benn ) that this book is about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews