Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Lot of Fun
This instalment of Richard Foreman's Raffles series begins with a lonely Bunny who has been deserted by best friend and partner in crime Raffles for a mysterious trip around Europe. Bunny worries about his friend's whereabouts and we get to see his jealous side as he plays with the idea that Raffles may have found a new accomplice. I love that we can relate to Bunny, we...
Published on 29 Jun. 2012 by Andy

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Average
OK for the simple minded and if you like short stories, hard to believe authors expect to be paid for this
Published 15 months ago by Mr P Bennett


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Lot of Fun, 29 Jun. 2012
This review is from: Raffles: Playing On (Kindle Edition)
This instalment of Richard Foreman's Raffles series begins with a lonely Bunny who has been deserted by best friend and partner in crime Raffles for a mysterious trip around Europe. Bunny worries about his friend's whereabouts and we get to see his jealous side as he plays with the idea that Raffles may have found a new accomplice. I love that we can relate to Bunny, we are as curious about the small snippets of Raffles' past that we have seen in previous books as he is. The friendship between Raffles and Bunny remains strong and loyal, Raffles soon returns from his endeavours to aid Bunny in quite a different quest - to get permission from the unpleasant Prescott Rosebery to marry his daughter Lucy. It's great to see Raffles the cricketer as well as the crafty thief. Funny as ever, you won't want to put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Favourite Raffles Yet, 5 July 2012
This review is from: Raffles: Playing On (Kindle Edition)
Raffles: Playing On brings together all the best elements of the series, drawing on familiar characters, witty quips and a fantastic plot twist which keeps you guessing until the very end. I was particularly drawn in by Foreman's subtle use of period details, which are not allowed to overpower the clever storyline but are really crucial for establishing the book's wider context. Having grown increasingly attached to the narrator Bunny it is great to see new sides of his friendship with the raffish and mysterious Raffles emerge. A light hearted read full of laughs, mystery and cricket- what more could you ask for?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love, crime and cricket., 26 Jun. 2012
This review is from: Raffles: Playing On (Kindle Edition)
It's here, at last. Another delightful Raffles and Bunny adventure. Foreman recognises that the reader is invested in the plight of Bunny as much as in that of Raffles. This instalment celebrates their friendship more than any other. Alarmingly there is a sense that this may well be the last Raffles adventure, but the clever reveals and touching ending should leave readers satisfied. This series has been a joy - blending old fashioned story telling with modern satire - since book one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Neat and satisfying, but want more., 4 Aug. 2012
This review is from: Raffles: Playing On (Kindle Edition)
Such is the neat and satisfying sense of resolution to this fifth book in the series that it may be the last book in the series. I hope not. Being both a lover of historical crime and Sherlock Holmes these Raffles books have been the find of the year, both gripping and funny.
Finally Raffles plays some cricket in the story, but he is overshadowed somewhat by another cricketer. He is also overshadowed in some ways by Bunny too - and having now read all of the stories twice the series could have just as easily been called Bunny, as over the course of all the books it's his voice you hear most and he's the character that changes most.
I hope Raffles still plays on after this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars By the end, you're knocked for six..., 13 July 2012
This review is from: Raffles: Playing On (Kindle Edition)
Raffles: Playing On begins with Raffles disappearing to take a trip abroad and no one knowing his precise location. The book then focuses on the apparent issues between Bunny and Lucy (namely her father). Just as we think all hope is lost for Bunny and Lucy Raffles returns with a plot to get revenge on Prescott Rosebery via a cricket match. The only disappointing thing about this book is that there's an air that it may be last in a glorious series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'A Sporting Finale', 30 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Raffles: Playing On (Kindle Edition)
I have been a fan of Foreman's recreation of Raffles since it first appeared on kindle and this latest instalment is probably my favourite to date. With many of the characters from the previous e-books reappearing, such as Shanks and Lucy, it creates a brilliant cricketing ending which is yet again full of the playfulness and charm we expect from the clever duo Raffles and Bunny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Average, 17 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Raffles: Playing On (Kindle Edition)
OK for the simple minded and if you like short stories, hard to believe authors expect to be paid for this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Raffles: Playing On
Raffles: Playing On by Richard Foreman
£1.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews