Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sparks Extended Extravaganza
UPDATE: On 10th Dec 2012 Repertoire release a tweaked version of this compilation entitled "Real Extended". Out goes the '98 Dave Aude remix of No. 1 Song In Heaven, replaced by the original '79 album / 12" version. The Plagiarism version of No. 1 Song has also been dropped. Cool Places has its title corrected. But best of all, the 12" version of Young Girls finally makes...
Published 23 months ago by D. Torrance

versus
31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A flawed collection - some good, some bad, some ugly
This review is for: Extended: The 12 inch Mixes(1979-1984)
When I first saw this CD advertised I was very excited so I pre-ordered it. It arrived today and I immediately went to play the main track I bought it for, the extended version of "Tryouts For The Human Race". Indeed it is the USA 12" version on CD for the first time! Hooray! Also included is the short...
Published 23 months ago by Mr. D


Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sparks Extended Extravaganza, 13 Aug 2012
By 
D. Torrance - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Extended: The 12 inch Mixes[1979-1984] (Audio CD)
UPDATE: On 10th Dec 2012 Repertoire release a tweaked version of this compilation entitled "Real Extended". Out goes the '98 Dave Aude remix of No. 1 Song In Heaven, replaced by the original '79 album / 12" version. The Plagiarism version of No. 1 Song has also been dropped. Cool Places has its title corrected. But best of all, the 12" version of Young Girls finally makes its CD debut! YAYYY!!! Hopefully the mastering error on Beat The Clock will also be fixed. No news yet as to whether Repertoire will send out replacements or if they expect us to shell out again for the updated edition. I've emailed them and will report back.

You'll already know and love most of the tracks here in one form or another (and if you don't what's the matter with you??) This compilation does a near perfect job of rounding up Sparks' late '70s and early '80s 12" mixes. A couple of similar CDs have been released in the past but this one features a few 12" versions making their CD debut: Tryouts For The Human Race, Progress (a personal favourite) and Sparks In The Dark. Horray! Also making its CD debut is the US 7" version of Tryouts. For some reason it's titled "12 inch short version" here but whatever, the track's a bit of an obscurity and it's great to have.
The sight of "Cool Places (Doorman's Delirium Mix)" in the tracklisting might furrow some brows. Doorman's Delirium Mix is a fan mix that popped up on the internet a couple of years ago. Fortunately what's actually included here is the original 1983 12" version. Phew! One other tiny hiccup is that the extended version of The Number One Song In Heaven on disc one is a 1999 remix of the re-recording from the Plagiarism album that also goes under the name of "Dave Aude's Heavenly Vocal Mix", but it's not doing anyone any harm here. Actually, since the original 12" version of this song is the same as the album version, the compilers probably deserve some credit for trying to give us something other than just another album track.
One major flaw is that this is the third (THIRD!) Sparks 12" mixes compilation to include the 4 minute 7" edit of Young Girls instead of the actual 6+ minute original 12" version, leaving that one track still without a digital home. Sob! Another problem is that half a second or so has been cut from the beginning of Beat The Clock. It may not sound like much but unfortunately it is quite noticeable.
In the main, though, what's not to love?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A flawed collection - some good, some bad, some ugly, 14 Aug 2012
By 
Mr. D "Mr. D" - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Extended: The 12 inch Mixes[1979-1984] (Audio CD)
This review is for: Extended: The 12 inch Mixes(1979-1984)
When I first saw this CD advertised I was very excited so I pre-ordered it. It arrived today and I immediately went to play the main track I bought it for, the extended version of "Tryouts For The Human Race". Indeed it is the USA 12" version on CD for the first time! Hooray! Also included is the short version from the Promo 12" B-Side which was also the USA 7" version (very different from the UK 7" version found on the Best of Sparks CD from 2000). So far, I'm very pleased and it's worth the money for those two tracks alone. Next up though and spoiling the mood is "Beat The Clock" with a horrible mastering fault - The intro has been clipped. Luckily I have the 4CD:Grand 12-Inches Vol.6 where Ben Liebrand has not only included the track but also tidied up some messy edits, so it's worth getting that too. There are two versions of "The Number One Song In Heaven" here, but unfortunately neither are original versions, which seems odd for a CD of 12 Inch Mixes from 1979-1984. The first version is Dave Aude's 1999 remix which has re-recorded vocals and a heavy beat. It sounds very out of place here. The second version is a bonus track and features Jimmy Somerville. It's a nice alternative mix, but if you are looking for the original 12" version it is not here. It is featured on the original "No. 1 in Heaven" album. Alternatively, good compilations to find that one track on are 2CD:Disco Discharge - Euro Disco or 3CD:The New Romantics - These are both mastered well, whereas a lot of other compilations include a version with a mastering fault where the tape slurs at the beginning (in fact, Sparks own "Heaven Collection" also has this fault!). Another disappointment here is "Young Girls", which instead of playing the 12" Disco Version simply plays the 7" version - shame! But on CD for the first time we find "Progress (Extended Club Mix)" & "Sparks In The Dark (Instrumental/Extended Club Mix)". So, this is a collection that has some highlights, but falls short of the mark with too many sloppy mistakes.

Summary:
Good - "Tryouts For The Human Race" USA 12" & 7" mix, "Progess" & "Sparks In the Dark" - All on CD for the first time.
Bad - "Young Girls" is the 7" mix not the 12" mix
Ugly - "Beat The Clock" is butchered on the intro and there is no sign of an original mix of "The Number One Song In Heaven" instead the extended version is actually the 1999 Dave Aude remix with re-recorded vocals
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You have to Wonder - Do they know the sparks catalogue?, 31 Aug 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Extended: The 12 inch Mixes[1979-1984] (Audio CD)
I have purchased the 12 & 7 inch collection, only disappointment is why would you put the disco edit of Young Girls on the 12 inch collection. It just does not make sense, with so much space left on both discs you could have included both you did for Tryouts For The Human Race. I now have to buy the vinyl. wake up record, companies employe people who have music knowledge and research skills.
Disc 1 49:15
1 - (7:59) Tryouts For The Human Race [Extended Version]
2 - (6:35) Beat The Clock [Extended Mix]
3 - (5:59) La Dolce Vita [Extended Version]
4 - (8:34) The Number One Song In Heaven [Extended Version]
5 - (3:54) Young Girls [Disco Version Edit]
6 - (6:19) I Predict [Club Mix]
7 - (5:17) Modesty Plays [Extended Version]
8 - (4:38) Cool Places [Doorman's Delirium Mix] - Sparks & Jane Wiedlin
Disc 2 46:34
1 - (5:06) All You Ever Think About Is Sex [12 " Club Version]
2 - (4:01) Dance Godammit [12 " Club Version]
3 - (6:14) Progress [Vocal Extended Club Mix]
4 - (5:39) Pretending To Be Drunk [Extended Version / New Mix]
5 - (5:40) Kiss Me Quick [Extended Version / New Mix]
6 - (6:39) With All My Might [Vocal Extended Club Mix]
7 - (3:56) Sparks In The Dark (Extended Club Mix)
8 - (4:00) Tryouts For The Human Race [12 " - Short Version]
9 - (5:19) The Number One Song In Heaven [Extended Version] - Sparks With Jimmy Somerville, Sparks & Jimmy Somerville
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, 1 Nov 2012
By 
L. Mcseveney (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Extended: The 12 inch Mixes[1979-1984] (Audio CD)
Bought for my dads birthday as he'd been looking for the number one song in heaven track for a long time, he couldn't be happier with it, much to our dismay as its been on repeat since he opened it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Where's Music You Can Dance To?, 8 Sep 2012
By 
Kevin Gray (Mississauga, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Extended: The 12 inch Mixes[1979-1984] (Audio CD)
Disappointed that this set does not contain Music That You Can Dance To. I would have preferred that instead of a 1987 bonus mix of #1 In Heaven.
Also, it sounds like a few of the tracks are taken from vinyl sources. Tryouts... actually sounds like it's taken from two sources! It is not cool that record companies continue to put out CDs with material sourced from vinyl and not master tapes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars IT was fairly enjoyable., 7 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Extended: The 12 inch Mixes[1979-1984] (Audio CD)
I do like all of Sparks material but sadly this compilation of their 12" mixes was certainly lacking in so very many ways. Yes the Cd was of excellent quality and all services related to this item. I will certainly be more careful when buying any 12" mixes and do my very best to check them out first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sparks Extended a Great Collection, 9 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Extended: The 12 inch Mixes[1979-1984] (Audio CD)
Superb... Didn't even know this existed until alerted via Amazon email.
A great collection of all the well know Sparks 12" tracks especially those
from the late 70's and 80,s. Also a good all round collection of other tracks
know either as singles or regular tracks radio or gig played by Sparks.
Very enjoyable and a great listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A bit of social history, 18 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Extended: The 12 inch Mixes[1979-1984] (Audio CD)
Sparks will never go out of fashion, good to hear those 12" singles once again, which I haven't heard or danced to in years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Extended: The 12 inch Mixes[1979-1984]
Extended: The 12 inch Mixes[1979-1984] by Sparks (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews