Customer Reviews


456 Reviews
5 star:
 (220)
4 star:
 (115)
3 star:
 (53)
2 star:
 (25)
1 star:
 (43)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


244 of 249 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top quality machine, excellent coffee.
What I wanted was an affordable, reliable machine that makes really good, hot coffee, doesn't drip on the worktop, & has a sensible shaped jug. I had been looking for quite a while...
I'm a firm believer that Quality Shows, & when I came across this Andrew James machine my first thought was "It looks well designed", so I ordered it.
My coffee maker arrived 24...
Published on 13 Aug. 2012 by EarthSong

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I hope this will improve but as yet i am not satisfied.
I had a look through the reviews to see if anyone had the same problem as i have. That is the taste of burnt water. I hope this will improve but as yet i am not satisfied.
Published 8 months ago by creamkate


‹ Previous | 1 246 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

244 of 249 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top quality machine, excellent coffee., 13 Aug. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Andrew James 1100 Watt Digital Filter Coffee Maker With Fully Programmable Function And Reusable Mesh Filter- 15 Cup Capacity
What I wanted was an affordable, reliable machine that makes really good, hot coffee, doesn't drip on the worktop, & has a sensible shaped jug. I had been looking for quite a while...
I'm a firm believer that Quality Shows, & when I came across this Andrew James machine my first thought was "It looks well designed", so I ordered it.
My coffee maker arrived 24 hours later.
It's very capacious...although I drink a lot of coffee, this makes enough to supply a small office - or a dinner party. It looks really nice too, which is a bonus as the machine is a couple of inches too big to fit in my kitchen cupboard when not in use. The cord is a little shorter than I need, but long enough for most kitchens.
When setting/testing the programming feature (I don't really need this feature, but wanted to check everything out) I found the display isn't lit during programming, & the numbers are not easy to see. But once set and switched to "on/auto" it lights up.
Now for the most important bit - the coffee!
This machine makes the best and hottest coffee I have had for years, a lovely smooth brew. And keeps it nice & hot for a couple of hours! There is no drippage onto the worktop, and no nasty cheap plastic smell to spoil the experience. The jug is a sensible shape, so it's possible to pour the coffee without resorting to contortions. There's a band holding the handle close to the jug so it feels secure. And to go back to the programming... I can have delicious coffee ready when I wake in the mornings, or come back from shopping in town! (Not necessary, but a touch of luxury.)
I'm not easily impressed by kitchen appliances, but this one has managed it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 50 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Awesome! Once the taste of burning plastic fades..., 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Andrew James 1100 Watt Digital Filter Coffee Maker With Fully Programmable Function And Reusable Mesh Filter- 15 Cup Capacity
A really nice machine. Makes lovely, hot coffee that stays warm for a couple of hours. Can also be set to a timer to start making coffee just before you wake up or get back from work, which always comes in handy. My one issue with the machine is the taste of burning/hot plastic that you have to suffer with to start with. My tip to get rid of it is to first, before making any coffee, pass a full jug of water mixed with salt or sodium bicarbonate (or a mixture of the two) through the machine. Once you have done this once or twice pass some pure water through it to give it a final clean. Hopefully this should remove the taste, it certainly worked for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Decent Value for the money, 26 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Andrew James 1100 Watt Digital Filter Coffee Maker With Fully Programmable Function And Reusable Mesh Filter- 15 Cup Capacity
Good machine for the money, took a while to get rid of the "plastic" taste in the first half a dozen or so brews, even after boiling through some salt water first a couple times, followed by some plain water before making any coffee, first few brews still tasted like burnt plastic, but now it tastes great. Capacity is more than enough, it says 15 "cups" but if like most people, me included, you like a proper mug of coffee, it makes about 6 mugs, which is more than enough for me, obviously you can just make enough for 1 or 2 mugs at a time too if that's what you want. The timer function works great, just set ready for alarm time in the morning and get up to a fresh brew! Don't know why some people complain about not being able to see the display when setting the time as it's not backlit, I could still see it fine, you'd have to either be blind, or using it in the dark not to be able to see it. Permanent mesh filter is handy, not having to buy paper filters or whatever all the time. My only main gripe about the machine is that the "anti-drip" valve does not work at all, make sure the machine is completely finished before removing the jug or you will have coffee dripping all over the place. The hot plate is fine, keeps the coffee sufficiently hot for 30 mins after brewing. All in all, decent machine for 20 quid!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect cup of Joe, 2 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Andrew James 1100 Watt Digital Filter Coffee Maker With Fully Programmable Function And Reusable Mesh Filter- 15 Cup Capacity
General Comments
================

Brewed Coffee temperature is at 68-70 deg celcius, which I found to be just perfect. The bottom plate gets hot upto 140 deg celcius, ensuring that the carafe on top keeps the heat. Made about 10 cups of coffee in 8mins. I did not use any additional paper filters, just used the included reusable mesh filter. No need to bother purchasing additional paper filters. I only wish it kept the coffee warm for longer than 35 minutes. LCD is not backlit when adjusting or setting the clock and timer; impossible to view when in a dimly lit kitchen/room.

Cups and sizes
==============
Note that the cup measurements listed on the right-hand-side of the brewing unit to indicate water levels are not the "standard" cup (i.e. ~240-250ml in US/metric terms) but is rather a "coffee cup" of 150ml. Of course, it might make sense to use a "coffee cup" measurement instead of a standard metric "cup" - especially in a coffee maker (!) - but something to think about if you've been baking immediately prior to making a cup of coffee using this machine! :-)

Simply warm the coffee without making another "batch" of coffee
===============================================================
**NOTE - make sure that there is no water in the water container** Simply place the (cold) coffee in the carafe, plug-in the coffee maker, press the on/off switch once such that the red "Run" light is lit - and you should be able to heat the already-brewed cold coffee after few mins.

Timer Function
===========
The timer is not a stopwatch function i.e. You dont instruct the unit to brew in 6 hours, but instead you specify the time of the day (e.g. 9AM). Works flawlessly. I simply add coffee powder - 1 scoop for 150 ml of water - then press the prog button twice to set the time of the day and then press on/off key twice until the green auto led lights up. Of course, you need to ensure that the current time/clock is set properly before you do this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Service, 20 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Andrew James 1100 Watt Digital Filter Coffee Maker With Fully Programmable Function And Reusable Mesh Filter- 15 Cup Capacity
Would totally recommend Andrew James (and, of course their products) to all. The jug broke on my coffee machine and with no hassle Andrew James sent a replacement immediately. I am just about to order an ice cream maker. Refreshing to receive good service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely brilliant, 31 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Andrew James 1100 Watt Digital Filter Coffee Maker With Fully Programmable Function And Reusable Mesh Filter- 15 Cup Capacity
Coffee produced is good and hot. Hotplate keeps coffee warm and bubbling. Robust Machine, would recommend to anyone looking for a filter coffee machine. Only curio, sometimes I have to check the time on the clock, so that coffee is ready in the morning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I hope this will improve but as yet i am not satisfied., 7 Aug. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Andrew James 1100 Watt Digital Filter Coffee Maker With Fully Programmable Function And Reusable Mesh Filter- 15 Cup Capacity
I had a look through the reviews to see if anyone had the same problem as i have. That is the taste of burnt water. I hope this will improve but as yet i am not satisfied.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars the coffee has a horrible smell and taste of plastics, 14 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Andrew James 1100 Watt Digital Filter Coffee Maker With Fully Programmable Function And Reusable Mesh Filter- 15 Cup Capacity
My husband was wondering why it was that cheep and the answer came, the coffee has a horrible smell and taste of plastics. Don't buy this product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Waste of money, 7 Nov. 2014
This review is from: Andrew James 1100 Watt Digital Filter Coffee Maker With Fully Programmable Function And Reusable Mesh Filter- 15 Cup Capacity
Absolutely awful quality, even for £23.00 - looks and feels really plastic-y. Not sure it will ever be able to sell for the RRP. I will be returning this for a refund!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quick and easy, 30 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Andrew James 1100 Watt Digital Filter Coffee Maker With Fully Programmable Function And Reusable Mesh Filter- 15 Cup Capacity
Great little machine - makes good tasting coffee quickly and easily.

The 'cup' measurements on the jug are a little confusing (I'm not sure what cups/mugs they use, but it bears to relation to mine) and it's quite noisy whilst running, but all-in-all it does a good job and is easy to clean. Definitely value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 246 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews