Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Basic model, probably more accurate than most
This entry-level step counter is ideal if you want it to count steps & nothing more. It won't do anything fancy, like convert it into an estimate of calories or fat burned, nor does it even have a memory longer than a day. It literally just counts steps & converts them into distance by multiplying the number of steps by your average stride length.

Before you...
Published 21 months ago by Sam Woodward

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor
When getting it out of box was quite impressed with look and build of this little step counter.
Looked at basic instructions, looked okay. Was purturbed to see the list of exclusions as to why the step meter may not count your steps or may count them all wrong! going upstairs - no good, walking too slow, no good, pacing around house instead of proper walk at proper...
Published 23 months ago by Thinker


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Basic model, probably more accurate than most, 9 Aug. 2013
By 
Sam Woodward (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Omron Walking Style One 2.0 Stepcounter With 3 Dimensional Sensor - White/Grey (Sports)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This entry-level step counter is ideal if you want it to count steps & nothing more. It won't do anything fancy, like convert it into an estimate of calories or fat burned, nor does it even have a memory longer than a day. It literally just counts steps & converts them into distance by multiplying the number of steps by your average stride length.

Before you start using it, you have to work out your average stride length. This is my first step counter but several friends at the dance classes I go to have them (we're all semi-addicted to comparing our numbers of steps!) & most commented that they didn't need to do this with the ones they have. Working it out was a bit of hassle - particularly for me because I'm the sort of person who worries far too much about getting exactly the right measurement when it comes to things like this. But you only have to do that once, so overall I see it as in incentive. Because presumably it's more accurate than one which works on the average national stride length or whatever, which doesn't know whether you're 5 foot in heels or 6 foot, 8 inches. It's 3D sensor apparently adds to its accuracy too.

So there's no bells & whistles, just a step counter which counts steps without trying to upload them onto Facebook, etc, or otherwise organise your life. Which is quite refreshing these days. And I'd question the accuracy of any models which estimate calories/fat burned anyway. If you want more features, check out others in the range but its lack of features means that once it's set up, it's incredibly easy to use. And probably more accurate than most, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor, 29 Jun. 2013
By 
Thinker - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Omron Walking Style One 2.0 Stepcounter With 3 Dimensional Sensor - White/Grey (Sports)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
When getting it out of box was quite impressed with look and build of this little step counter.
Looked at basic instructions, looked okay. Was purturbed to see the list of exclusions as to why the step meter may not count your steps or may count them all wrong! going upstairs - no good, walking too slow, no good, pacing around house instead of proper walk at proper pace no good, not a good start.
Tried to actually set and operate the step meter and it is where it let its down in a fast way! It was so difficult to set!-only 2 buttons but you press them and they are not very responsive and they dont seem to do what you want even when instructions are followed. Didnt feel it was set right, tried it out anyway, not pacing enough so nothing anyway. Poor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very basic, 17 July 2013
By 
n7misc (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Omron Walking Style One 2.0 Stepcounter With 3 Dimensional Sensor - White/Grey (Sports)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Hmmm. Sorry Omron but this product just doesn't measure up to my existing pedometer. It's a heck of a palaver to set up, not especially sensitive when you are using it and offer really limited functionality. There really is better out there - keep looking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Faulty, 23 April 2013
By 
This review is from: Omron Walking Style One 2.0 Stepcounter With 3 Dimensional Sensor - White/Grey (Sports)
I had a previous Omron pedometer which lasted a good few years before finally giving up the ghost, so I purchased this one. It's nicely designed but very very basic. Only records steps and distance.

Unfortunately, although it has a clock, it didn't recognise when a new day began, it just continued counting. Bit useless unless you want to do mental arithmetic every day. I presume this was a fault so I sent it back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More accurate and reliable than most on the market., 18 July 2013
By 
A. I. McCulloch "Andrea" (Co Durham) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Omron Walking Style One 2.0 Stepcounter With 3 Dimensional Sensor - White/Grey (Sports)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
One of the cons of simple pedometers is that whilst they measure the number of steps taken, they also make no allowance for stride length.
Someone tottering round to the local shops in wedges and a hobble skirt may well record the same number of strides as someone who runs with long raking strides and covers four times the distance.

It's possible to programme this with your stride length and it also makes allowances for not being clipped to a belt but being placed in a pocket.
This is the "3 dimensional sensor" which, admittedly, is something different.

When used during athletics training by my grand-daughter it seemed to give accurate and reliable results. If you are frustrated by the limitations of standard pedometers, this is a better and relatively cheap purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Basic Item Which Does The Job, 18 July 2013
By 
Brett H "pentangle" (Brighton) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Omron Walking Style One 2.0 Stepcounter With 3 Dimensional Sensor - White/Grey (Sports)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I did not find the instructions included with this unit particularly helpful, but when I accessed the online instruction manual I found it quite easy to set up. Seems to work just fine in counting the number of steps you make, and in computing distance travelled assuming you have worked out your average stride correctly. As compared with other stepcounters I have used I did not find this a particularly sophisticated unit and its functionality is limited. It does not, for example, remember previous days' steps so you have no way of accessing your steps per week or average steps per day.

There is a very lengthy web address in the instructions in rather small print that is quite challenging to enter in your computer. However, if you go to omron-healthcare.com, it is easy to find the product and hence the instructions. As a concept I do find this sort of unit a great motivator in keeping track of your walking. I have used Omron products in the past, and currently have a blood pressure monitor which is an excellent piece of equipment. However, I do not think there is much special about this particular item and I would certainly be inclined to look around at what is on offer before committing to a purchase. It does the job, but there is really nothing to make it stand out from the crowd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but basic, 18 July 2013
By 
Amazoniac (Norwich) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Omron Walking Style One 2.0 Stepcounter With 3 Dimensional Sensor - White/Grey (Sports)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
If you want a simple pedometer, that just does the basics, then this one is probably as good as many others.
It is easy enough to set up, and I just record it to measure my daily steps out of interest. I'm not using it to make complex calculations of work out calorie consumption and stuff. If you do want to do that, you will have to spend a bit more money than this simple gadget costs.
I clip mine to my trouser belt, and do get a very accurate step count with it in that position. It's a good idea to walk a known distance and then use this to set up your average stride length (if you want this level of accuracy) so that you can also read off how many miles you have walked.
I think it is pretty good value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Omron walking Style One Stepcounter, 18 July 2013
By 
M. E. Wood "robbiejay" (scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Omron Walking Style One 2.0 Stepcounter With 3 Dimensional Sensor - White/Grey (Sports)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a good enter level step counter, is easy to set up and is a good size to fit in your pocket or clipped to your waist band. The step counter does not keep track of your weeks steps, therefore if you wanted to do this you would have to write your steps per day down. I have owned Omron pedometers for the last three and a half years, I own an Omron HJ-112 at the moment, it has a seven day memory function and is very accurate. I have used this one every day for the last two years and its still going strong, getting back to the step counter, if you only want a basic step counter that will help you walk the 10,000 steps recommended to walk per day then this will do the job well. I was amazed just how long 10,000 steps was when I started, now I walk 15,000 to 20,000 per day, I wouldn't have been able to guess what distance it takes to cover 10,000 steps, so the step counter/pedometer has been great at allowing me to this. The Omron step counter isn't expensive and if it helps you get fit then go on splash the cash. Happy walking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A compact and accurate pedometer to motivate you, 17 July 2013
By 
roses (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Omron Walking Style One 2.0 Stepcounter With 3 Dimensional Sensor - White/Grey (Sports)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a compact pedometer that is no bigger than a large keyring. You can choose to attach it to a supplied clip or slip it into your pocket thanks to the inbuilt 3D sensor. The 3D sensor is designed to calculate and track pattern and frequency of steps taken regardless of where it is attached. However it is unable to measure accurately when placed in a bag due to the irregular movement, or when hanging off the waist. It will also be inaccurate if you are a slow walker or you are walking with an inconsistent gait for example in crowded areas. Also excessive vertical movements such as sports and walking on stairs will also cause inaccuracies. So you can see that the pedometer can only be accurate depending on the type of movement you want to measure. However to maximise accuracy you can set your stride length and time. I even tried shaking the pedometer in my hand, and it seemed to recognise that the movement should not be counted. It also has an inbuilt clock to time your walks.

The pedometer has a battery saving feature where it will turn off the display when no buttons are pressed for 5 minutes, but will continually monitor your movements. Once I got over the initial confusion over the setup steps, the pedometer was pretty easy to use. It is recommended to read the manual as it may lead you think the unit has broken. For the sake of accuracy the pedometer will not display the count for the first 4 seconds, but if it finds that you continue to walk longer than this then the count will be shown. Unit measurements include feet/inch to cm, km to mile and am/pm to 24 hours for the clock.

The advantage of using a pedometer such as this means you are able to make sense of the exercise you have done in a tangible manner that is meaningful. And this becomes a great motivator. Seeing the distance you have travelled on foot within x number of hours is really rewarding, and this pedometer collects all the data you need. I have found the pedometer to be fairly accurate on long and steady walks, and with it being light and compact you can forget that it's there most of the time. The simple buttons and large display makes it easy for me to frequently give into temptation to check my progress.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stay In Step., 6 July 2013
By 
Brian - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Omron Walking Style One 2.0 Stepcounter With 3 Dimensional Sensor - White/Grey (Sports)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a nice little step counter, which has a simple yet ergonomic design. I'm quite taken with it actually. I hate things that have to be set up, and so I was pleasantly surprised to find that this device was easy to set up, and use. Bad news for me though, because I fall way short of the recommended ten thousand daily steps! That's about three or four miles, of which I'm only doing one, so this step counter could motivate me to do more daily walking. I hope so anyway, and if you think you'd benefit from knowing your daily step count, then why not treat yourself to one of these? Happy hiking :).
I've just knocked a star off because you'll need to be in a well lit room, to be able to read the tiny text on the right had side of the screen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews