Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quick, Easy, Portable, Does the Job! Could be 5 STAR if....
This is an excellent product for what it's designed for...Do not expect 'perfect' flat bed quality scans from this, because the bit that's doing the scanning is being controlled by something that is not perfect i.e the smoothness of the motion from your own arm! Anyone who thinks this product is rubbish has purchased the wrong item for them. It's great at what it's...
Published 21 months ago by MR C M BAKER

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It does the job fine
Works just fine, but beware of the following:

Calibrate the device often, otherwise you run the risk of producing BLANK (Black) images!

Buy at least a 16 GB micro SD memory card - as when you get used to the device you will be scanning every where you go and will need and appreciate the extra the storage space.

Use re-chargeable batteries,...
Published on 19 May 2013 by Miss H Tull


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quick, Easy, Portable, Does the Job! Could be 5 STAR if...., 23 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HooToo® High Resolution 900DPI Portable Scanner, Mini SKYPIX Handy Handheld, A4 Color Photo, Easy to instantly scan and digitize anything (Personal Computers)
This is an excellent product for what it's designed for...Do not expect 'perfect' flat bed quality scans from this, because the bit that's doing the scanning is being controlled by something that is not perfect i.e the smoothness of the motion from your own arm! Anyone who thinks this product is rubbish has purchased the wrong item for them. It's great at what it's designed for. quickness and ease!

This is ideal for:
Referencing books e.g library, friends work, newspapers etc...
Backup copies of receipts
Portability and practicality

This is NOT ideal for:
Wanting perfect copies of photographs to be printed and framed
Wanting high quality scans that show every finite detail like the original source.
Copying legal documents or any other that requires to be 'exactly' as the original

PLEASE REFER TO MY IMAGES UPLOADED ABOVE

This scanner comes with clear ENGLISH instructions, carry case and cleaning cloth. The batteries last a long time, I've done over 250 scans and I've got two thirds battery remaining! BRILLIANT! If you use rechargeables even better and cheaper! Scanning takes around 2 seconds on 300dpi, yes really 2 seconds, up to about 6 seconds on 900 dpi per page. You can start and stop scanning to suit your needs on the page, i.e you don't have to scan the whole thing. USB connection all connected fine, I had trouble with OCR software but I don't need it and there are plenty of free software downloads that offer OCR capability anyway. Auto 3 minute turn off. Memory cards are dirt cheap, get yourself a class 10 8GB and you can use it in other things like your smartphone or camera. Compared to photographing documents with your smartphone this device is far better in my opinion. Take a look at my images to compare and see why!

If you need a portable scanner that wont take up much room and can easily scan what you need quickly without you having to have perfect results get it!

TOP TIPS!!!
1) Take your time, BUT... The error led light comes on if you go too quick so it's hard to do a cr*p scan.
2) Scan down the page. Hold the scanner with the logo the right way up and scan the LEFT page. Then turn the scanner 180 so the logo is upside down and scan top to bottom the RIGHT page.
The reason for this is that you can get close into the join of the book (as the scan light is slightly off-centre underneath)

Hope this review was helpful. Thumbs up if you like it! Ta

P.S the only reason for not being 5 star is that you can't delete the scan you've just done, therefore if you cock-up the scan it just sits on the memory card until you upload to PC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fast and simple but..., 12 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HooToo® High Resolution 900DPI Portable Scanner, Mini SKYPIX Handy Handheld, A4 Color Photo, Easy to instantly scan and digitize anything (Personal Computers)
The rubber should have more friction to avoid any other movement than the direction you are scanning in. I've had other portable scanner before with no problem with the movements. Only when I checked the images on my computer, I've seen a lot of curvy lines when they're actually straight. This is a huge problem when you are scanning a thick book when you have to curve the scanner. But information with flat surfaces aren't a problem.

Otherwise it's fast, simple and also awesome to have 900dpi!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It does the job fine, 19 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HooToo® High Resolution 900DPI Portable Scanner, Mini SKYPIX Handy Handheld, A4 Color Photo, Easy to instantly scan and digitize anything (Personal Computers)
Works just fine, but beware of the following:

Calibrate the device often, otherwise you run the risk of producing BLANK (Black) images!

Buy at least a 16 GB micro SD memory card - as when you get used to the device you will be scanning every where you go and will need and appreciate the extra the storage space.

Use re-chargeable batteries, as of course it makes life easier when you are travelling.

If you are on a budget...try it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good quality/price, 15 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HooToo® High Resolution 900DPI Portable Scanner, Mini SKYPIX Handy Handheld, A4 Color Photo, Easy to instantly scan and digitize anything (Personal Computers)
very good purchase.
easy to use, fast and I was really surprised by the great quality of the images
the card is not included
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good scanner (beware returns process), 13 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HooToo® High Resolution 900DPI Portable Scanner, Mini SKYPIX Handy Handheld, A4 Color Photo, Easy to instantly scan and digitize anything (Personal Computers)
Good scanner, easy to use, ordering quick & customer service courteous.
But I bought it specifically to digitise old photos (which was included in the product description as a use) and even on the highest resolution setting the quality isn't good enough to create good photo images.
Coming from China the delivery charges are quite high and the returns process needed serious chasing; probably need to be pretty sure this is the right item for you before ordering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Happily surprised, 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HooToo® High Resolution 900DPI Portable Scanner, Mini SKYPIX Handy Handheld, A4 Color Photo, Easy to instantly scan and digitize anything (Personal Computers)
Bought this as 'stocking filler' at Christmas for 12 year old grandson. Adults amazed at the quality and functionality of this little item. Have ordered more by request!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Junk, 19 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HooToo® High Resolution 900DPI Portable Scanner, Mini SKYPIX Handy Handheld, A4 Color Photo, Easy to instantly scan and digitize anything (Personal Computers)
Used the item a few times on day of arrival. Scanned OK in jpg mode but the pdf mode (the mode I mainly want to use) didn't work at all. The following day I tried to turn it on, and it wouldn't turn on. Inserted brand new batteries but still won't turn on. Tried numerous times with other brand new batteries but it simply won't work at all. I am returning this item to Amazon and I expect a full refund as this product is poor quality and is not fit for purpose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful piece of kit, 6 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HooToo® High Resolution 900DPI Portable Scanner, Mini SKYPIX Handy Handheld, A4 Color Photo, Easy to instantly scan and digitize anything (Personal Computers)
Wonderful piece of kit. Just right for wedding albums where you wont like to remove the pictures to use a conventional scanner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 19 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HooToo® High Resolution 900DPI Portable Scanner, Mini SKYPIX Handy Handheld, A4 Color Photo, Easy to instantly scan and digitize anything (Personal Computers)
Works well on GNU/Linux. Great for scanning really large things like maps and architect drawings that are to big for "normal" scanners . Easy to carry takes standard batteries. Easy to use, does jpg and pdf. Can be awkward if you don't have a flat clean surface to use it on. So we got a more expensive powered scanner for on site work where it eliminated that problem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It worked well for approx. 5 copies, then ..., 12 April 2015
By 
WT Mitchell (LIVERPOOL) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: HooToo® High Resolution 900DPI Portable Scanner, Mini SKYPIX Handy Handheld, A4 Color Photo, Easy to instantly scan and digitize anything (Personal Computers)
It worked well for approx. 5 copies,then only half the screen /page...no problem returning ,haven't checked if the money has gone into my account yet
I will purchase again ,but first I'll wait a while in the hope that a different manufacturing batch will produce a faultless purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews