Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Just brilliant.
I am not qualified to make a technical review, but I know when I hear a superb pianist, and Valentina makes the hairs on my back stand up and salute her. Just brilliant.
Published 8 days ago by B

versus
27 of 34 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Beware, NOT the whole thing!
I have no issues with Lisita's playing (if I had, I would not have bought the CD), but I am most unhappy with the way this CD is marketed and produced.

When the title says "Live at XXX", you'd expect it to be a CD of the entire concert. This is not the case. Not only are the pieces arranged in some sort of random order, they are actually incomplete. Nowhere...
Published on 15 July 2012 by M. Yung


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 34 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Beware, NOT the whole thing!, 15 July 2012
By 
M. Yung (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have no issues with Lisita's playing (if I had, I would not have bought the CD), but I am most unhappy with the way this CD is marketed and produced.

When the title says "Live at XXX", you'd expect it to be a CD of the entire concert. This is not the case. Not only are the pieces arranged in some sort of random order, they are actually incomplete. Nowhere in the CD's case or the booklet does it alert people to this fact.

Here are the pieces in the concert that are not contained in the CD:

Liszt's Hungarian Rhpasody No 12, Mozart's Fantasy in C Minor, various transcriptions by Liszt of Schubert's songs, Liszt's Totentanz.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just brilliant., 14 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am not qualified to make a technical review, but I know when I hear a superb pianist, and Valentina makes the hairs on my back stand up and salute her. Just brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most talented classical pianist this century? - Possibly., 15 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Like many others, I first came across Valentina on YouTube. I was looking for Beethoven's Sonata Op57 "Appassionata", as featured on a film I'd been watching. I didn't find reference to the film, but I found Valentina.

Her playing is outstanding, both in its range and feeling. Her ability to see the manuscript in her mind (photographic memory) is translated through her hands as if two people are playing two pianos. It's almost as if she has four right hands - performing with incredible and equal dexterity through both left and right.

Although unable to attend in person, I watched her perfomance at the Royal Albert Hall online and afterwards bought both the DVD and this CD which I highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My favourite pianist. Music is beyond compare!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Now we can enjoy her dynamics and poets in ture image., 10 July 2012
By 
Jun Hirakawa (Chiyoda-Ku, TOKYO, JAPAN Japan) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This CD is not only Valentina Lisitsa's commemoration of LIVE in one of the world most prestigious concert venue, but also commemoration of 45 million YouTube audiences who have long been desiring earnestly to be released. Listening to this high quality CD reveals that pianism of Valentina is utterly beyond our expectation in its dynamics and poets. She is the Muse and the pianist to be compared with pianist in the golden age such as Hoffmann, Horowitz or Rachmaninoff. I can say that other pianists of the same age are fading out of my mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Valentina Lisitsa, 15 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This recording is absolutely superb. I find that I'm playing it at every opportunity and every time sounds as good as the first time. I've been waiting a long time (or it certainly feels like a long time) for this fabulous artist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing, 11 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Valentina Lisitsa Live At The Royal Albert Hall (MP3 Download)
beautifully fluid, with exceptional timing and mind freezing emotions. thank god I can finally listen to her on high quality, like she's sitting right next to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 5 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Enjoyed the cd greatly.I enjoyed listening to the artist playing but my knowledge of the technicalities of playing the piano is insufficient to enable me to provide a meaningful criticism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Live at the Royal Albert Hall--Valentina Lisitsa, 11 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this CD after hearing Ave Maria arrangement by Liszt on another CD. This CD has beautiful piano sound, superb playing
and a great recording.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Lovely, Inspiring, Energetic, & Relaxing CD!, 15 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This Audio CD is a fantastic collection of inspiring and beautifully-played pieces, which are both highly energetic and very relaxing. It is brilliant for quiet times and also as background music. Valentina Lisitsa's performance of Fur Elise is absolutely exquisite. The Rachmaninov is energetic and powerful, the Beethoven is beautiful, the Chopin is dreamy, and Liebestraume is lovely too. I recommend this CD to classical music lovers. I hope she releases more Audio CDs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews