Customer Reviews


79 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Perfect
Listening to the exquisite harmonies at the beginning of opening
track 'Don't Wake Me Up' we immediately find ourselves in the presence
of a very significant new talent. With 'Is Your Love Big Enough?'
Lianne La Havas has delivered an extraordinarily rich debut album.

What a truly beautiful voice she has! Distinctive, confident and full
of...
Published on 10 July 2012 by The Wolf

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit boring
The album is fine as background music but overall, it's a bit dull...
If that's what you're after, it's good quality stuff.
Published 14 months ago by Emma


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars disappointing after recommendations, 30 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A friend saw Lianne La Haves at Rock en Seine and was very impressed by her.
When I bought Michael Kiwanuka's 'Home Again', Amazon said I would also like Lianne La Havas, so I bought her album.
Well, there is absolutely no comparison. Michael K is talented and original. Lianne LH is mediocre and sounds similar to many other female vocalists. The only characteristics they seem to have in common are being black, young and living in the UK.
Still, she was better than Laura Mvula (same two recommendations as above). I bought her album at the same time, based on the same two pieces of advice. It was so poor that I gave it to the friend who had recommended her.
At least I kept the Lianne La Havas album, as I could actually bear to listen to it again.
So, I won't in future be following the musical advice of either my friend or Amazon.
I will, however, be following the advice of my brother-in-law, who recommended Michael Kiwanuka.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars loved it, 3 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
just listened to it for the first time, loved it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good to try it, 5 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good background music to get out now and then
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 12 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great voice but some songs not great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars One album, two styles, 3 Aug. 2012
By 
G. ADAIR - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Is Your Love Big Enough? (MP3 Download)
Been looking forward to this for a while, but I'm afraid it's been a let down. The problem is that she has two distinct styles, and to my ears they aren't really compatible. I saw her first on Jools Holland where she performed a couple of tracks stripped down to basics with just vocal and guitar - and I was hooked. There are several tracks on the album in that style, which are superb, but every other song crosses over into a more soulful territory, with full band and lavish production, which leaves me utterly cold.

I'd much prefer she stuck to the basic guitar-driven songs, maybe alternative with something a bit bluesy or jazzy, but not the soaring soul ballads. Maybe album two will be better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
haven't stopped playing it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lianne La Havas, 21 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was ordered for my daughter's birthday. She loves the artist. The case was a bit damaged though when we opened the box.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lianne La Havas, 6 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Is Your Love Big Enough? (MP3 Download)
This album soothes my tube commute in the mornings & is essential listening on my play list. I definitely wasn't disappointed with this purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good (apparently), 21 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought for Christmas for No 1 Son - and apparently I got it right! A good album, a good present, a happy lad !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lianne La Havas, 14 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this CD as a gift and the recipient said she loved it.The service was great and it arrived in time for Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Is Your Love Big Enough?
Is Your Love Big Enough? by Lianne La Havas
Buy MP3 Album£5.29
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews