Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Frighteningly compelling
At first I thought that the book was going to be too graphically violent in its descriptions of sadistic rapes. Things toned down a bit after the initial chapter, though the detection of a serial rapist is the central theme. Not a book to be read at night if you're a woman sleeping alone! Three rape victims form a club, the Survivors Club of the title, and we follow...
Published on 18 Oct 2010 by Bluebell

versus
14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but lacking plot.
This is the second Gardner book I have read and although I am impressed overall, this was one story that didn't grip me. The mystery was, in my opinion, drawn out and lacked momentum. Not her best.
Published on 27 Nov 2004 by Ms D. Clinton


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Frighteningly compelling, 18 Oct 2010
By 
Bluebell (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Survivors Club (Paperback)
At first I thought that the book was going to be too graphically violent in its descriptions of sadistic rapes. Things toned down a bit after the initial chapter, though the detection of a serial rapist is the central theme. Not a book to be read at night if you're a woman sleeping alone! Three rape victims form a club, the Survivors Club of the title, and we follow them as the accused comes to trial, but is assassinated as he enters the Court. The bulk of the book is a fascinating and compelling piece of detective work following the trail of the perpetrator or instigator of the assassination. It takes a few chapters to get going but after that it gathers pace as clues and false leads come thick and fast. The main characters are well drawn and the final resolution of the crimes is not only surprising, but also clever and convincing: the latter is not always the case with detective novels where I'm often left with the feeling that the ends have been tied up in an perfunctory and unsatisfactory manner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but lacking plot., 27 Nov 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Survivors Club (Paperback)
This is the second Gardner book I have read and although I am impressed overall, this was one story that didn't grip me. The mystery was, in my opinion, drawn out and lacked momentum. Not her best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can you survive this great plot?, 23 Feb 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Survivors Club (Paperback)
You cannot see around the corners in this book however much you try! Unpredictable from the first, the story opens with action, and the ride just gets rougher from there. The survivors of the title are drawn into a complex and emotional case that has a direct link to what has happened to them, leaving all concerned to question 'who?' and 'how?'. With twists and turns and tugs on your emotions, this is one fast paced book that still takes the time to explore each character to a satisfactory depth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 29 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Survivors Club (Kindle Edition)
I love all Lisa Gardner's novels and she never fails to produce the goods. This book was as good as I anticipated and I couldn't put it down so it only took me a few days to finish. Plenty more like that please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Survivors Club and the Candyman, 7 May 2009
This review is from: The Survivors Club (Paperback)
Good early novel from Gardner, albeit a little predictable after the mid-way point. An alleged rapist's sperm is continuing to be found in subsequent rapes, after his murder. This leave's the Survivor's club to contemplate the prospect that they had chased the wrong suspect and that their rapist is still at large. The investigation is led by Detective Griffin who has just returned to duty after a long break from catching the Candyman; a pedophile and murderer. The three Survivors' from different backgrounds have strong characters and blend well with Det. Griffin to make a good read. The story in many areas had undertones of `Silence of the Lambs' which is a classic. Overall this is recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average, 2 July 2007
By 
molko (Surrey) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Survivors Club (Paperback)
This was my first Gardner book. This story was good and I really enjoyed reading about The survivors club and how they were all coping after the rapes.

However the story occasionally lost momentum and I lost interest. It took me over a week to read (I normally read a book within 4 days) as I was losing interest. Although in parts Gardner really keeps you on the edge of your seat.

I will try another of Gardners books and I can only hope that it's more of her writing and keeping the pages turing rather than me loosing interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Survivors club, 23 April 2003
By 
S. Allen (Aberdeenshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Survivors Club (Hardcover)
An excellent read which was well written. A different emphasis is adopted throughout the chapters, making the actual story telling,slightly more interesting. The story is complex and holds your interest through the entire book.It also makes one think about the vulnurability of humans, and how we are all affected differently by certain issues in life.
I found myself suspecting one or two people as the plot unfolds but not the true suspect,the book had me beaten!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compulsive read, 7 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Survivors Club (Kindle Edition)
Once started the book could not put it down.
Needed to keep reading to see what happened next.
lots of twists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really interesting story, 20 Jan 2010
By 
Jenny (N.Yorks, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Survivors Club (Paperback)
Great story that grabbed my attention straight away. I for one didn't know the 'who-dunnit' till it was explained within the story. Basically, the survivors club is three women who survived attacks by serial rapist and murderer Eddie Como. At the beginning of the story he has already been caught and is about to appear in court on really strong DNA evidence. However, he is shot dead as he is entering court. The three women should be completely relieved. However a few days later another woman is raped and Eddie Como's DNA is found on her. So you're left wondering if Eddie Como is really dead, or is the DNA wrong, or is something else going on. You cannot tell from one minute to the next who is telling the truth and who is lying.
Some really strong characters, all with good individual stories of their own.
I would recommend this if you like Karin Slaughter and authors like her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Takes hold and doesn't let go!!!!, 15 Sep 2003
By A Customer
Where do i start on the most gripping book i have read in ages. This book has been passed round the office with the ending being whispered!!!!
This is the first i have read of Lisa Gardner and i am now trying frantically to get her previous books. From the prolog to the very end LG keeps the suspense on a knife edge. You try very hard to guess who done it, but the twists and turns keep you guessing right to the very end.
If you like authors such as Kathy Reichs, Patricia Cornwell you will love this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Survivors Club
The Survivors Club by Lisa Gardner
£4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews