Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you liked Flanders and Swann...
...Then you'll love these two musical geniuses. I had the privilege of seeing them perform together in one of their hilarious shows, and, sadly, 'Who Plays Wins' was their first recording and 'A Quiet Night Out' (also on offer here) seems to have been their only other - 'after which, we stop'.

As a child I used to listen to Flanders and Swann, and I think...
Published on 1 Oct 2006 by Hilary

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A first attempt?
I bought this CD having previously purchased 'A Quiet Night Out' by the same artists. The recording quality is not good, due to it being performed in the 70's when audio gear wasn't nearly as good as now. It does also demonstrate what a difference 30 years of experience can make. A bit of a disappointment.
Published 10 months ago by Grewel


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you liked Flanders and Swann..., 1 Oct 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Who Plays Wins (Audio CD)
...Then you'll love these two musical geniuses. I had the privilege of seeing them perform together in one of their hilarious shows, and, sadly, 'Who Plays Wins' was their first recording and 'A Quiet Night Out' (also on offer here) seems to have been their only other - 'after which, we stop'.

As a child I used to listen to Flanders and Swann, and I think Stilgoe and Skellern are more up-to-date, pacier experts in the same genre of musical wit and humour. Would that they had carried on performing and recording together. Social comment from the closure of the Welsh mines to the antics of the C of E are all grist to the mill; some pathos, a lot of humour, and a remarkable talent displayed by Richard Stilgoe of creating lyrics from shouted out suggestions from the audience are all displayed, along with the extreme musical capability both of them have.

Some of their stage humour is visual and you have to use your imagination on the odd occasion, but the songs stand up for themselves very well and will appeal to fans of all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Stuff!, 17 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Who Plays Wins (Audio CD)
It is rare to come across such an intensity of wit & painistic skill. Even without seeing their expressions, the voices of Skellern & Stilgoe convey all anyone would need to bring a full rounded smile to their faces.
There are 18 very well constructed songs with intelligent & original jokes, most of them written by Richard Stilgoe who sings with them all with verve & pace. Peter Skellern provides a perfect comic partner with a repspectable voice. My favorites were the sending up of the C5 & the black & white rag. Even the finale is original, taking five witty encores to round off a collection you'd hope would go on for another hour. I'd buy this as a gift - it brought a smile to my face!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stilgoe & Skellern, 26 Feb 2010
By 
This review is from: Who Plays Wins (Audio CD)
An excellent compilation of a variety of chat and songs. Some of these maybe verging on perhaps non u subjects ,for example the song about The setting up of a steel band by Mr. James the woodwork teacher which ended up as a Rastefarian string quartet. I would recommend most strongly this disc for anyone with a good sense of humour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Memory Lane, 23 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Who Plays Wins (Audio CD)
I saw this couple perform back in the 80's, & was bowled over then. On receiving the CD, I was taken right back, & enjoyed it just as much, if not more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Clever stuff!, 20 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Who Plays Wins (Audio CD)
A bit dated now, with references to things current in the 80s, but still great fun.
Clever musically and verbally.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A first attempt?, 22 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Who Plays Wins (Audio CD)
I bought this CD having previously purchased 'A Quiet Night Out' by the same artists. The recording quality is not good, due to it being performed in the 70's when audio gear wasn't nearly as good as now. It does also demonstrate what a difference 30 years of experience can make. A bit of a disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Silgoe and Skellern, 21 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Who Plays Wins (Audio CD)
Not brilliant content but it was difficult to choose as I didn't know the songs too well. never mind!! Too much comedy content for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The natural heirs to Flanders and Swann, 13 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Who Plays Wins (Audio CD)
The only pity is that these two masters of entertainment involving clever tunes and witty lyrics have ceased to perform. So grab this CD and the other one "A Quiet Night Out"and be grateful recording was ever invented. Britain's got talent? It certainly had.
From the minute that they start "Two pals in harmony" until the end brilliant entertainment. As one of the songs says "By God, we're good". They are. Very.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Richard Stilgoe and Peter Skellern: "Who plays wins", 8 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Who Plays Wins (Audio CD)
An updated version of Flanders and Swann. Excellent entertainment from two superb musicians and writers. A must-buy for every Swannderphile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stilgoe and Skellern at their very best, 7 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Who Plays Wins (Audio CD)
Typical Stilgoe and Skellern, full of wit and sublety. Chosen because I have seen them twice in the past on stage and loved every minute of the concerts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Who Plays Wins
Who Plays Wins by Richard Stilgoe and Peter Skellern
Buy MP3 Album7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews