Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awe-inspiring
This is the ultimate blood brothers soundtrack. I have seen the musical twice and love it. It is funny and sad. Its realistic and british musical theatre at its best and shows real people and their emotions. Definatly the best recording i hope i can persuade you to get this and i hope you enjoy as much as i do.
Published on 6 Nov. 2004 by sharlot_21

versus
16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing Sound Quality
I strongly urge anyone who hasn't seen or heard Blood brothers to do so; even if you don't usually like musicals you can't fail to be entertained and moved by this one. It has to be one of the best. A great story, well observed, fabulous songs, good character development and a really moving experience. Although this was a great production and cast, unfortunately I found...
Published on 26 May 2008 by A. James


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awe-inspiring, 6 Nov. 2004
This is the ultimate blood brothers soundtrack. I have seen the musical twice and love it. It is funny and sad. Its realistic and british musical theatre at its best and shows real people and their emotions. Definatly the best recording i hope i can persuade you to get this and i hope you enjoy as much as i do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing Sound Quality, 26 May 2008
By 
A. James (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I strongly urge anyone who hasn't seen or heard Blood brothers to do so; even if you don't usually like musicals you can't fail to be entertained and moved by this one. It has to be one of the best. A great story, well observed, fabulous songs, good character development and a really moving experience. Although this was a great production and cast, unfortunately I found the sound quality really let the recording down. It is echoey and hollow as if it had been recorded in a bathroom and 'Tell me it's not true' the most moving song lacks the roundness and big build up of the original soundtrack. Stick to the original recording.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A really good musical, 4 July 2005
By A Customer
I recently went to the Pheonix Theatre in London and watched this musical and thought that it was very good. In the break between scenes, I went and bought the CD from the vendor and listened to it as soon as I got home. It is great. You can relive every moment in the theatre when listening to this and it all comes to life again. If you haven't seen this musical, I would recommend it and if you have seen it, then I'm suprised you haven't already got it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Musical Ever Written!!!, 29 Sept. 2004
This is by far the best recording of Blood Brothers, the best musical ever written! Actually this is the only recording of the show that I have but I have listened to samples from the others and you can't beat Stephanie Lawrence as Mrs J!! (apart from Linda Nolan of course if anyone has seen the current UK touring production.....if there was a recording of the UK touring cast it would be the icing on the cake!!!) The other recordings are OK but I find Petula Clark can often sound more Irish than Liverpuddlian! The other recordings are perhaps a little out-dated.
If you haven't seen the show live yet then you have missed out on a lot!! No recording could ever do Blood Brothers justice. The sheer emotion of the storyline supported by the incredibly simple yet captivating score will leave you thinking about it for weeks after!
Anyway.....back to the recording.....every cast member on this particular recording has a strong voice and there are no major sections that I would pick fault with. All of the music is included on this CD with the exception of a few, short reprisals/previews of individual numbers (e.g. the preview of "Oh Bright New Day" in Act I). The songs that stand out in particular are the upbeat "Oh Bright New Day", the lush ballad "I'm Not Saying a Word" and of course the heart-rendering ("Easy Terms" later reprised as "Light Romance") and "Tell Me It's Not True" with Stephanie Lawrence never holding back her fantastically powerful voice.
If you only want to buy one recording of the show then this would have to be it!!! The cast brilliantly portray the comical, romantic and heart-breaking aspects of the story, but still leave new things to be discovered at the live performances. Similarly if you have to only see one musical in your life then Blood Brothers would be the perfect choice!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blood Brothers, 6 Jan. 2008
By 
L. C. Maunton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Having seen this show five times now over the years this recording of the show is a superb recording, the late Stephanie Lawrence was a fantastic Mrs J, personally only bettered by Lyn Paul (only wish they would re-record it with her), the whole cast in this production did it great justice, if you have never seen the show then all i can say is you must if you have not then buy this CD and enjoy one of the best shows ever written and I will bet you will then go and see it.........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blow Your Mind Away., 24 Nov. 2000
By A Customer
This is the best version of the one of the best musicals around.
If you want a musical with a difference you can't go wrong with this one. If you want a happy, jolly musical go and see Wizard of Oz but if you want something different you're at the right place. It's a story that will move you. You'll be laughing one minute and crying the next.
I should get back to the cd... I've listened to all versions of this show and think that this is the best one. The cast that they've used is brilliant, there are certain people I would have liked to see or hear like Stephen Palfreman who played Mickey in London but nevertheless..excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brillant Memories of Blood Brothers, 30 Oct. 2008
By 
D. S. D. Hunter (North Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Close your eyes and play this CD and you are back in the theatre listening to this wonderful musical. Hours later you still have the music and the words buzzing around your head as it is so memorable. Stephanie Lawerence is very good playing Mrs Johnstone, and was an exceptional singer but the Liverpool accent was perhaps best produced by Linda Nolan although she did not have the quality of Stephanie's voice. I have see the musical four times with the same Narrator,and he is is superior to Warwick Evans. Also, Eddie is today played with gusto and at all four performances he has been fantastic and what an accent. At all performances the audience has given a standing ovation to the musical and its cast. The CD relates the story with its wonderful music and words exceptionally well, backed up with the important sections from the Narrator. Buy this CD and relive the magic of Blood Brothers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars BB the CD, 23 Mar. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very good reminder of the show with lots of great tracks. The only disappointment for me was the gunshot scene - I used to have 2 copies of the recording on cassette, one of which had a really powerful ending, the other was slightly underwhelming. Unfortunately this CD falls into the second camp when it comes to the gunshot itself but the rest of the CD is brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still beautiful today, 31 Mar. 2008
By 
Blood Brothers was one of the first musicals I saw many years ago now and I did have a cassette of the soundtrack which during many house moves has gotten lost. I downloaded this version of the soundtrack from itunes recently and have fallen in love with it all over again - the music moves from gritty to humorous to moving and never fails to help relive the joy of this wonderful show.
I used to own the Barbara Dickson version of this soundtrack but prefer this version with Stephanie Lawrence she sings so beautifully - an absolute must for musical fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bring Blood Brothers home today, 6 July 2005
By 
KAT "tatethegr8" (Kettering Northants) - See all my reviews
In my own opinion no other actress will ever beat the beautiful simplicity of Linda Nolan in the role of Mrs. Jonstone. I have had the pleasure of seeing Blood Brothers live on 2 occasions and no words can ever discribe the buzz you get from seeing it live. However, if you want take a piece of Blood Brothers home with you then is the soundtrack to pick. Stephanie Lawrence has a great voice and really does the songs justice, especially the final heartwrenching tear jerkin, get-your-tissues-at-the-ready version of "Tell me its not true". This album is simply divine and is the best Blood Brothers album around -(apart from Linda Nolan but unfortunatly there isn't a recording of her). If you've never seen Blood Brothers live on stage then you can't properly appreciate the emotion or comedy of the songs, but if you have seen Blood Brothers then hearing this album will automatically take you back again to that theatre. My suggestion is if you've seen the play buy this album, and if you haven't seen the play then definatly go - and then buy this album! Either way, definatly buy this - you won't get a better recording!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blood Brothers - 1995 London Cast Recording
Blood Brothers - 1995 London Cast Recording by Blood Brothers - 1995 London Cast
Buy MP3 Album£7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews