Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the wait
I'm very new to Threshold but have been building my back catalogue in that time. Dead Reckoning is a fantastic album and was always going to be a hard act to follow. However, Threshold have done it with style and aplomb in this latest studio offering. Damian Wilson's singing style is refreshingly different to the raw style of Mac and he sings with operatic clarity...
Published on 27 Aug. 2012 by Amazon Customer

versus
2 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars PROGRESSIVE METAL
5 YEARS SINCE THE AMAZING "DEAD RECKONING" AND THE DEPARTURE (R.I.P) OF MAC, THRESHOLD ARE BACK WITH THEIR MUCH ANTICIPATED 9TH RECORD.MAC WAS IN MY OPINION THE BEST FRONTMAN FOR THRESHOLD WITH POWERFUL AND HIGH VOCAL RANGE,ENERGETIC SCENE APPEARANCES.DAMIAN WILSON'S VOICE IT'S MUCH MORE PROG ROCK ORIENTED IN BANDS LIKE LANDMARQ,AYREON AND HEADSPACE. MARCH OF PROGRESS"...
Published on 27 Aug. 2012 by Banca Comerciala Romana


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the wait, 27 Aug. 2012
This review is from: March Of Progress [Digipack] (Audio CD)
I'm very new to Threshold but have been building my back catalogue in that time. Dead Reckoning is a fantastic album and was always going to be a hard act to follow. However, Threshold have done it with style and aplomb in this latest studio offering. Damian Wilson's singing style is refreshingly different to the raw style of Mac and he sings with operatic clarity.

There is not one bad track on this album, opening with the epic Ashes, March of Progress really is a progressive journey of prog rock. It's also nice to see that this album has been a truly collaborative undertaking with every member save Johanne James contributing to the song writing. Notably, Pete Morten for whom this is his first studio offering with the band, Morten definitely makes his mark with the amazing Coda (which also has a tribute to Mac towards the end) and the bonus track Divinity which is a very personal song.

Lyrically poetic, punchy and full of social commentary there is something in this for everyone. Expect some amazing guitar solos from Groom and Morten, Anderson's beautiful base playing, James' bombastic drumming and soaring keyboards from West.

I love this album and it's a real testament to the band of how far they've come in the last 5 years. My only complaint is that they are simply not big enough and deserve to be. It's also time for people to let go of Mac and accept that sadly he will no longer be a part of Threshold's future but his legacy will live on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A perfect successor to Dead Reckoning..,, 30 Aug. 2014
This review is from: March Of Progress [Digipack] (Audio CD)
This was a refreshing listen after Mac left the band:- and, very sadly passed away between this CD and the previous one:- Dead Reckoning. Understandably, this resulted in a five year standoff in any new material surfacing. The return of original vocalist Damien Wilson to the fold, seems the right and appropriate format for the bands continuation. In any case, he sang on the debut "Wounded land" and "Extinct instinct"; both of which were relatively solid albums. The latter, a slightly longer excursion into the wilderness.

This album sits well with me on a variety of fronts. The core Threshold sound is thoroughly intact and the songwriting is typically as accomplished as I would expect. Progressing forward with the riffs and melodies so unique in they're music, it is no wonder that this is another five star trump to add to they're ever increasing musical assamblages. A perfect successor to Dead Reckoning and perhaps slightly more similar in sound to a tapestric mix of "Extinct Instinct, Clone, & Subsurface".

A simply marvelous album.
A favourite track must surely be "Liberty, complacency, dependancy".

*Make sure you track down the digipack version with the extra bonus track of "Divinity"!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't be put off by the 'prog' tag as this unfairly pigeon holes a great collection of music that is by turn intellectually stim, 30 July 2014
By 
Mr. Gp Harris - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: March Of Progress [Digipack] (Audio CD)
Haven't received item yet, but listened to this album endlessly on Youtube.

What can I say? Unique? An unappreciated classic? Definitely.

Such an incredible album that can be appreciated on so many levels. Don't be put off by the 'prog' tag as this unfairly pigeon holes a great collection of music that is by turn intellectually stimulating if you want it to be, and yet also rollickingly tuneful, catchy and beautifully melodic if you just want something to mindlessly rock out to. So little you hear nowadays sounds genuinely fresh and gives you that rare little flutter you get when you discover something really exciting, new and original.

I would also like to add that I'm by no means a fanboy or diehard of Threshold. Having listened to much of the back-catalogue I'm not particularly tempted to buy it, but looking forward, and believe me I am, there is a new album due out in September 2014. If they can match or (im)possibly top this they've got my money in the bank.

Fantastic!! Thank you so much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars prog metal album of 2012, 27 Aug. 2012
By 
Sebastian Masso (petersfield, hants United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: March Of Progress [Digipack] (Audio CD)
Banca Comerciala, can you resubmit your review in lower case please, because right now you are shouting into a massive hurricane of euphoria that is heading your way to contradict your review. This is Threshold's finest moment. This cd sounds fresh whilst maintaining that Threshold sound. There are references to all of their previous albums and work, with and without Damian. Whilst Mac is very sadly no longer with us and his legacy remains, Damian Wilson puts in one of the most stunning vocal performances I have heard. Whether it was his experience in singing on the brilliant Headspace album, or the fact that Threshold are now writing better vocal melodies, or a combination of both; the vocals are a standout. There isn't a a track that falls below a five. This is progressive, melodic, metal, at it's best. The whole band are at the top of their game. The guitar and keyboard solos are better than ever, Morton having added a different slant to procedings. Johanne, as ever, provides a master class on the sticks, the rythm section laying down a technically complex anchor to the soaring melodies and solos. This is the most complete Threshold album to date. Worth the five year wait.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Time After Time, 31 Oct. 2012
By 
B. Turnbull (Newcastle, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: March Of Progress [Digipack] (Audio CD)
Threshold are one of the most underrated bands in the world, which is a crying shame, as they have never released a bad album (or indeed a bad song). They are the best Prog Metal act to come out of the UK, one of the best to come out of the entire genre, and despite a five year absence after longtime vocalist Mac passed away, the band are back with 'March Of Progress', an album that blows away everything they have done before.

Recruiting former vocalist Damien Wilson (known these days for his work in Star One), Threshold kick things off with the awesome "Ashes", a song that recalls the simpler, more direct structure of the 'Dead Reckoning' material while also providing a lighter, more serene approach that hasn't been heard since 'Hypothetical'. In places, 'March Of Progress' sounds like their older, more obscure albums, such as 'Extinct Instinct', but mostly this release finds the band exploring new ground, which separates it from their previous endeavors. Through a production that offers warm yet crushing guitar work, keys that are both astral and earthly, drums that are tasteful yet groovy, and vocals that fight for solitude among theatrical backing choirs, these songs have the perfect playing field to let the listener take in all they have to offer. There is a lot of music on here, but it goes by in the flick of a switch.

This record is saturated in intelligent, socially-conscious lyrics, mesmerizing instrumentation, and powerfully effective vocal lines, all of which show how talented both guitarist Karl Groom and synth-wizard Richard West are as song writers. "Return Of The Thought Police" is a chilling mid-paced cracker, "Staring At The Sun" is a positive look at trifling circumstances, and "Don't Look Down" feeds its uplifting message through post-Thrash riffs and Neo Prog melodies. "The Hours" is the biggest throwback to their previous album, while the devastating "Coda" is everything Threshold have been and more. There is not a moment wasted on this thing; it collects a magnificent set of songs that once heard will never be forgotten. Threshold have not only created the album of their career with 'March Of Progress'; they have also served up the best 2012 has to offer. Miss it at your peril.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW!!!, 8 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: March Of Progress [Digipack] (Audio CD)
I took a chance as I have a few albums, hearing that Wilson was back, I just had to have it. WOW was I blown away! The songs are incredible. Everything from song structure, leads (Keys and Guitars), and the voice! The sticker on the cover said "Album of the Month" ..... I have to agree. Brilliant stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Threshold delivers again :), 22 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: March Of Progress [Digipack] (Audio CD)
Threshold have delivered another fantastic album. I've been listening to these guys since their 'extinct instinct' album back in '97. They consistantly deliver the good stuff.A cerebral mixture of genres, going from balls to the wall heavy riffs to silky smooth solo's and harmonies. If you havent heard these guys, please buy this cd,its amazing. Their back catalogue is worth picking up too :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning!, 31 Aug. 2012
By 
Thomas Maaetoft (Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: March Of Progress [Digipack] (Audio CD)
This is a great, great album. It's very good on the first listen, but it REALLY grows and becomes a masterpiece. Other than pointing out Damian Wilson's one-of-a-kind vocals for obvious reasons, I want to mention Johanne James' drumming. It's been a long time since I heard such tasteful drumming work. It's like he's playing a lot but never too much. Highly recommendable!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good but not their greatest, 28 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: March Of Progress [Digipack] (Audio CD)
In all previous Threshold records there was something that caught me immediately, like Slipstream on Dead Reckoning or Mission Profile on Subsurface with new nuances revealed with consequent listenings.
After the first 70 minutes after I inserted March of Progress into my CD player there was nothing to remember - it did not catch me at all. Things changed after I listened to the album a couple more times - I started to like it. It's definitely Threshold with freshness added by Damian's, Steves's and Pete's contribution to song writing. Despite my first impression was spoiled (perhaps simply because I expected too much from this release) it is still very enjoyable music to listen.
I also recommend buying digipack version with "Divinity" bonus track - I don't understand why this impressive piece is not included in CD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for all prog rock fans., 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: March Of Progress [Digipack] (Audio CD)
I,ve this album for 2 years now and it really does take some beating. Its been played more than any other cd i,ve ever owned. If your a prog rock fan and not heard any Threshold wait no longer and get on board. This is pure gold.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

March Of Progress [Digipack]
March Of Progress [Digipack] by Threshold (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews