Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning: beginning to end.
I got this album 3 years ago now in the U.S. and damn me if it isn't stonking! I don't know of another album that shows such variety and yet maintains such seemless continuity. Please note that the U.S. version is a touch different with a track from the Jungle Brothers (in my opinion easily the best on the entire CD - feel that tempo) and 360 Oh Yeah with De La Soul...
Published on 13 May 2001 by bronzemonkey@supanet.com

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfully forgettable
Maybe I will revisit it one day and think it's the best thing since sliced bread, but for now... I'd rather listen to the archers (but then I am biased, the archers is brill!!)
Published 12 months ago by KP


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning: beginning to end., 13 May 2001
By 
I got this album 3 years ago now in the U.S. and damn me if it isn't stonking! I don't know of another album that shows such variety and yet maintains such seemless continuity. Please note that the U.S. version is a touch different with a track from the Jungle Brothers (in my opinion easily the best on the entire CD - feel that tempo) and 360 Oh Yeah with De La Soul rapping on it (again: fantastic).
Buy this and be proud - for you have done a very good thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An epic dance/big-beat album: highly recommend!, 1 Jan 2005
This was my first big-beat album, after a college tutor told me that the stuff I write sounded like them (just not as good!)These guys really know their stuff.
Most of the tracks are quite "musical" in that you can listen to them, not just "have it on in the background". The beats are absolutely first class, the bass lines equally cool. There is nothing limp-wristed about this album, but it has a good blend of up-beat and laid back grooves. Best tracks are "take california" (listen to that cymbal effect and the cool turntable work),"on her majesty's secret service" (a bond remix that finally augments the original: epic) "spybreak" (from "the Matrix" lobby shootout scene. Incidentally, if you can get the special Matrix DVD with the option to listen to only the music -without the explosions/dialogue etc- this scene will totally blow you away!)
Great CD to drive to: 'intelligent' and 'primal' in perfect harmony. Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect album for any props aficionado, 14 Mar 2001
This review is from: Decks&Drums&Rock&Roll (Audio CD)
This limited edition box set feature the best of the Props' music. The first CD feature amazing A sides such as History Repeating and Bang On! Each track capturing different moods in their thumping beats and drums weaving an impossible rhythm between the guitar flicks and Hammond rhymes.
Disc Two On the other hand has Hip Hop artists De La Soul and The Jungle Brothers rapping to two individual songs. Excellent. From the pivotal OHMSS to the Peter-Gunn hybrid Spybreak! You will be left amazed...and begging for more!
Never underestimate disc two's instrumentals; Dive!, Go Faster and Ron's Theory...excellent stuff...Seriously consider this over the regular version! I did and was not sorry!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Where are they now... we need them!, 10 Mar 2006
By 
Mr. Robert Murphy "themurphia" (Wiltshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I think it's quite sad that the last review of this fine album was over a year ago. It's packed full of classics. From Take California to Velvet Pants to History Repeating to On Her Majesty's Secret Service - and my favourite - Spybreak.
This album is much more crafted, intelligent and well, fun than its competitors. But it's difficult to place where you'd listen to it. It's not party music, it's not love music, it's not music you'd really dance to. It's great for the car or background at home.
I love this album, and I hope The Propellorheads get together and do something again soon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Matrix Music - Very, very cool!, 4 April 2003
At the time of writing, I have listened to this album twice and am already able to say that it is absoloutely fantastic!
The Propellerheads ability to skillfully weave together light scratching, mixing, big beats and electronic samples is masterful.
I suppose this album would be categorised as 'dance electronica', but it is so much more than that, every single track has been carefully crafted to create an audio experience that truly invokes excitement in the listener. Put simply, this is a very cool album.
Standout tracks for me would have to be 'on her majesty's secret service' and 'Spybreak!' which fans of the Matrix will recognise as the music track from 'The lobby scene'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A dance classic from the band of the 90's, 17 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This is an infectious and thouroughly brilliant album form the props. History repeating is one of the catchiest tunes of the last few years, and the rest of the album doesn't let it down: Spybreak, On her majesty's secret service and bang on are just some of the other stunning tracks on this wonderful album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Biggest beats, 29 Oct 2008
From the great 90s 'dance' scene that saw the likes of Underworld, Orbital, The Chems, Fatboy Slim and Prodigy along came this one-off effort which IMO stands alongside the best albums these bigger name acts produced. I hadn't played it for a couple of years until last week and now it's on permamnent rotation..almost. Unlike most 'dance' albums this hasn't dated and sounds fresher than pretty much anything currently doing the rounds. It's also a rare album you can play straight though without skipping any tracks and this sure is one of those unusual beasts. The highlight though is the reworking of the James Bond OHMSS theme, IMO the best version of any Bond tune..ever. This is 9 mins of funky breakbeat fury overlaid with David Arnold's lush orchestral arrangements. It's 'kin well the dog's. Seeing as the prices here are so good I think I'll need to get meself a spare copy the number of times I'm caning my own to death. A bl**dy terrific album. What a shame they never made a follow-up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I should have purchased this album years ago. Love it all. Takes me to places and back again. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Had this on tape so wanted CD version of it, ok, they are not The Chemical Brothers, but wow, what an album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfully forgettable, 25 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Maybe I will revisit it one day and think it's the best thing since sliced bread, but for now... I'd rather listen to the archers (but then I am biased, the archers is brill!!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Decksandrumsandrockandroll
Decksandrumsandrockand
roll
by Propellerheads
Buy MP3 Album6.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews