Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I wish ......
..... I'd read this 40 years ago. It's a painful read and exposes much of the poor motivation under which many of us operate at heart level. But it's an astonishing book for its personal honesty and Biblical faithfulness. I'm recommending this to all an sundry.
Published 20 months ago by J. Tindall

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Helpful read.
A generally helpful book with occasional flashes of real insight. At times quite repetitive and maybe could have been produced just as we'll in a condensed version. Well worth the effort to read it through though.
Published 13 months ago by Jim


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I wish ......, 24 Jan 2013
By 
J. Tindall (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dangerous Calling: Confronting the Unique Challenges of Pastoral Ministry (Kindle Edition)
..... I'd read this 40 years ago. It's a painful read and exposes much of the poor motivation under which many of us operate at heart level. But it's an astonishing book for its personal honesty and Biblical faithfulness. I'm recommending this to all an sundry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading for all in Pastoral Ministry, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent book obviously written by someone who knows what he is talking about. Should be read by all those in Pastoral Ministry or going into Pastoral Ministry. If the advice is followed, that Pastors themselves need Pastoral care, then many collisions between Pastor and people would be avoided and wounds healed. Also the pastor's home life, the relationship between him and his wife and children could be protected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Powerful but flawed, 28 Mar 2014
By 
This review is from: Dangerous Calling (Paperback)
This is an excerpt from my full review, found via my amazon profile...

In summary, Dangerous Calling is an important book. Any and every pastor should read it for the sake of their own souls (1 Tim 4:16) and the protection of their ministry and congregations. Anyone in pastoral type ministry would easily benefit from the many insights in this book also. Even if you are not a pastor or in ministry, then I am sure you have a pastor, and you need to know how to pray and care for them. Despite my frustrations with the writing style, I can't think of a Christian who couldn't benefit from reading this book.

[[Many thanks to Crossway for providing a copy (via Beyond the Page) in exchange for an unbiased review.]]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I think we are already talking about a classic, 2 Mar 2014
This review is from: Dangerous Calling (Kindle Edition)
The most important aspect when I read a book about ministry is to understand if the author is actually involved in ministry (of course…), to understand his heart and taste his honesty.

Dangerous Calling is soaked with confessions. Paul Tripp’s confessions, and so many tragedies from the ministry field. Inspired title, Dangerous. Paul knows the problem. If you are preparing for ministry or you are involved in ministry, you can certainly understand that he was and he still is in your shoes. He’s sharing humbling and embarrassing things that most of us tend to hide.

I know I am not alone. There are many pastors who have inserted themselves into a spiritual category that doesn’t exist. Like me, they think they are someone they’re not. So they respond in ways that they shouldn’t, and they develop habits that are spiritually dangerous. They are content with a devotional life that either doesn’t exist or is constantly kidnapped by preparation

He examines his heart and motivations in ministry and invites you to walk in his steps, constantly asking himself, how is the Gospel of Jesus Christ forming the heart of the pastor and his ministry local culture. Undoubtedly, if you do not understand the ministry as it was designed by God, you are in a dangerous place. If the work of God and not God Himself is the main motivation, you are in a dangerous place.

The pastor must be enthralled by, in awe of—can I say it: in love with—his Redeemer so that everything he thinks, desires, chooses, decides, says, and does is propelled by love for Christ and the security of rest in the love of Christ. He must be regularly exposed, humbled, assured, and given rest by the grace of his Redeemer. His heart needs to be tenderized day after day by his communion with Christ so that he becomes a tender, loving, patient, forgiving, encouraging, and giving servant leader. His meditation on Christ—his presence, his promises, and his provisions—must not be overwhelmed by his meditation on how to make his ministry work.

You can feel the love for those who are involved in God’s work and also his pain for the unhealthy pastoral culture that anyone can identify today. The only remedy is Christ.

You see, it is only love for Christ that can defend the heart of the pastor against all the other loves that have the potential to kidnap his ministry. It is only worship of Christ that has the power to protect him from all the seductive idols of ministry that will whisper in his ear. It is only the glory of the risen Christ that will guard him against the self-glory that is a temptation to all who are in ministry and that destroys the ministry of so many. Only Christ can turn an arrogant, “bring on the world” seminary graduate into a patient, humble giver of grace. Only deep gratitude for a suffering Savior can make a man willing to suffer in ministry. It is only a heart that is satisfied in Christ that can be spiritually content in the hardships of ministry. It is only in your brokenness in the face of your sin that you can give grace to the fellow rebels to whom God has called you to minister. It’s only when your identity is firmly rooted in Christ that you are free from seeking to get your identity out of your ministry.

The author is also a preacher and you can feel sometimes that he’s preaching and sometimes he’s a bit repetitive in his ideas but I strongly recommend this book. It’s a must read book and I believe that it would be awesome, transforming and redemptive if it will be in the hands of every seminarian, pastor or teacher of the Word of God.

It definitely challenged me and I think we are already talking about a classic in this field of pastoral ministry.

[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love this book., 31 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dangerous Calling (Paperback)
I first read a chapter of these book in a friend's house when i was on a retreat in Nigeria but i couldn't find it in Nigeria. the book has blessed my life in so many ways. If you are someone is in ministry or is thinking of joining the ministry, this is the right book for you to read and God will bless you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A superb book, 23 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dangerous Calling (Paperback)
This book was recommended to me. Having started to read it, I can see why. Should be compulsory for all vclergy & lay ministers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Helpful read., 6 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dangerous Calling (Kindle Edition)
A generally helpful book with occasional flashes of real insight. At times quite repetitive and maybe could have been produced just as we'll in a condensed version. Well worth the effort to read it through though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just what the doctor ordered!, 26 Mar 2013
By 
BAH Wilson (Newtownhamilton) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dangerous Calling (Paperback)
While Paul Tripp writes from his American experience, this book contains wisdom in relation to pastoral ministry everywhere. In many senses, I cannot commend it highly enough - as, in some senses, it was exactly what I needed.

It begins at the training level and shows the false expectations many have at that stage - students' thinking is too theoretical and unprepared for the hard realities of loving people. Throughout their ministry, there are so many temptations - that of simply becoming caught in the routine of preparing the next address for the next deadline without taking time to digest God's Word properly or realise the seriousness of what one is doing, that of craving for people's estimate of one's ministry rather than God's, etc. It concludes on the note that whatever the state of one's ministry, one will always be left saying 'We are unprofitable servants'. The minister is not to find their identity in their ministry - successful or otherwise. Rather, they are to find their identity in the wonder of His grace and realise their absolute dependence on that mercy.

The comments on the book are absolutely right. It should cause congregations to have a deeper appreciations of the joys and pitfalls of pastoral ministry - and cause them to pray for and love their minister more intelligently. And for the minister, it searches their motives, exposes their sins and failure and helps them in their thinking about their work. Very highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Worth buying and reading, 18 Nov 2012
This review is from: Dangerous Calling: Confronting the Unique Challenges of Pastoral Ministry (Kindle Edition)
Tripp writes with the insight of one who has pastored for many years, one who is aware of the pitfalls of sin to which pastors are particularly susceptible and who longs to warn others who also walk this path. His style is generally quite flowing and it is clear from this writing style that he preaches regularly: somehow the cadences and repetitions of preaching come through in his text in a way which is quite powerful to read. The content is also wise and biblical, formed over years of experience in, and reflection upon, the pastoral calling. If you have had enough of books on ministry, then don't write this one off before giving it a go: I think you will think it worth your time reading.

That said, this book did feel like a long read and I did struggle to wade my way through some sections of it; I also seriously started to lose the will with all the numbered lists therein. However, those are my only negatives. In fact, I appreciated this book so much that I am seriously contemplating buying my own paper copy and rereading it every two to three years as a tool for self-examination in my path of church leadership.

I received a free Kindle version of this galley copy from NetGalley in return for a fair review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Take a bite and chew slowly, 15 Mar 2013
This review is from: Dangerous Calling (Paperback)
This book feels and reads very American. The references to US seminaries may find little resonance in the UK reader. Apart from that however, this is a compelling and challenging read, as you would expect from someone of David Tripp's pedigree and experience. Thought-provoking and sobering, this book forces you to look again at your life and deep within your own heart in terms of what matters in ministry, what makes you tick and what your real motives are. Chew slowly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews