Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sharp thriller
Great attention grabbing plot and tension .
Thoroughly enjoyed this
Great suspense difficult to put down causing loss of sleep due to late night reading
Published 17 months ago by AJA Sheehan

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars More fantasy than fiction ...
Was looking for a new author in the thriller, warfare genre but was thoroughly disappointed! Same old plot and story from a dozen films and books but one of the worst I have read. Apart from a couple of people the characters come and go in a few paragraphs, the plot is predictable (and unbelievable) and even James Bond would have trouble making the 'spy' plot plausible...
Published 7 months ago by JB


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sharp thriller, 16 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DEFCON One (Kindle Edition)
Great attention grabbing plot and tension .
Thoroughly enjoyed this
Great suspense difficult to put down causing loss of sleep due to late night reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional - Hard to put down, 19 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DEFCON One (Kindle Edition)
One of the very best cold war thrillers I have read. Full of intricate detail, and written by a master of suspence, who in real life has been there and done most of it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 18 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DEFCON One (Kindle Edition)
I've absolutely nothing but praise about this book. I really enjoyed it and enthusiastically turned page after page and was sorry it all ended.

A great plot with a lot of action and tension to keep you going. The action threads itself around the globe and as the super powers go head to head, it appears the world is heading towards its apocalyptic nightmare.

The tension rises up and up and then you get ..... sorry folks but you won't be disappointed. A thumping good read that pushed the blood pressure up a notch or two because of its finely crafted writing style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars More fantasy than fiction ..., 21 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DEFCON One (Kindle Edition)
Was looking for a new author in the thriller, warfare genre but was thoroughly disappointed! Same old plot and story from a dozen films and books but one of the worst I have read. Apart from a couple of people the characters come and go in a few paragraphs, the plot is predictable (and unbelievable) and even James Bond would have trouble making the 'spy' plot plausible. Even the combat scenes are lightweight (one of the main reasons for buying the book). Not a patch on Clancy, Coonts or Brown. To see some reviewers mention Weber in the same genre is an insult to them. I never give up on a book no matter how bad ... after 100 pages this came extremely close and I only carried on to see just how much of the plot I had already guessed (almost all apart from the ridiculous bits). Seems the author had the same problem as the ending was also rushed. Certainly my first and last foray into Joe Weber's library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome..!, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DEFCON One (Kindle Edition)
This one really had me hooked.! Just had to keep turning the pages..!
Fantastically well written, full of tech's, and quite simply an amazing story.! You owe it to yourself to read this book..!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A thrilling read., 20 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DEFCON One (Kindle Edition)
From the first page to the last I was almost breathless with tension. A thrilling read and difficult to put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DEFCON One (Kindle Edition)
Liked the story line but much to much goody Americans. Russians are not that stupid and are never lead by maniacs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars frighteningly close to reality, 23 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DEFCON One (Kindle Edition)
Good read, I wonder how close we have ever got in real life.
Well worth a read, I will look for more from this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars DEFCON ONE, 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DEFCON One (Kindle Edition)
This is a first rate cold war style thriller. The technical portrayal of both sides was excellent and the story line quite believable. I would strongly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good pace leading to exciting ending, 18 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DEFCON One (Kindle Edition)
OK, a bit dated now, but for those who lived through the 80's as an adult it was a good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

DEFCON One
DEFCON One by Joe Weber
£2.79
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews