Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A human amongst monsters
Tsukune Aono is an ordinary human boy who enrols at the mysterious Yokai Academy after he fails to get into any other school. Once he reaches his new school however Tsukune discovers that it is a school for monsters to learn how to live in the human world. While there Tsukune meets the beautiful vampire Moka and makes some friends but he is always at risk of being...
Published 22 months ago by T. R. Alexander

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I would have rated higher but it is embarrassingly sexual...
Not suitable for anyone under 16 let alone 15 it has swearing, sex references, a woman rubbing her enormous presents against Tsukune, he pulls her knickers down and looks up her skirt, there's a constant flash of underwear, bum, boob, boobs get bigger in front of the screen and I mean this is all super close up.

The manga is a little dirty but nothing to the...
Published 12 months ago by Avada Kedavra


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A human amongst monsters, 18 Sep 2012
By 
T. R. Alexander (East Anglia, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rosario & Vampire Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Tsukune Aono is an ordinary human boy who enrols at the mysterious Yokai Academy after he fails to get into any other school. Once he reaches his new school however Tsukune discovers that it is a school for monsters to learn how to live in the human world. While there Tsukune meets the beautiful vampire Moka and makes some friends but he is always at risk of being killed should someone discover that he is human.

The 'Rosario+Vampire' manga is one of my favourite series but unfortunately, while this anime adaption is entertaining it isn't a patch on the original. The series spends a lot of time focussing on the harem comedy and fanservice aspects of the storyline at the expense of some of the darker aspects of the series. While it may be the case that these elements where prevalent in the beginning of the manga, the anime takes things much further.

Many of the episodes in this first season follow the storyline of the manga reasonably well although many episodes are bulked out with more comedy and fanservice and there is the addition of a bat narrator who tends to alternate between funny and annoying. There are also some changes in the order of the story (for instance the manga Mizore wasn't introduced until after the Summer Break) and episode four is unique to the anime. Although there are some minor changes made to the storyline, mostly to make the tone a little less dark in some of the early episodes (most noticeable once again in the episode that introduces Mizore) it isn't until episode nine and the Summer Break arc that there are major changes. This two episode arc has some major changes and a simplification of the storyline, as well as the addition of some beach scenes. These changes continue into the final three episodes of the season and changes to the Security Council arc are quite major.

The animation for the series is good and despite the focus on fanservice the fight scenes are animated particularly nicely, although admittedly Moka's transformation sequence is a little annoying. The English dub of the anime is also good with most of the voice actors giving nice performances, especially Monica Riel as Yukari and Todd Haberkorn as Tsukune. The choice to give the inner and outer versions of Moka different voice actors was interesting but it was done quite nicely and the excellent Colleen Clinkenbeard is perfect for Inner Moka. The original Japanese version is included as well of course.

Overall I wish that Amazon allowed the awarding of half stars as I feel that this series is worth around three and a half stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I would have rated higher but it is embarrassingly sexual..., 9 July 2013
This review is from: Rosario & Vampire Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Not suitable for anyone under 16 let alone 15 it has swearing, sex references, a woman rubbing her enormous presents against Tsukune, he pulls her knickers down and looks up her skirt, there's a constant flash of underwear, bum, boob, boobs get bigger in front of the screen and I mean this is all super close up.

The manga is a little dirty but nothing to the extent of this, the manga is better paced as the other reviewer said and and the manga makes much more sense.

As for the narrator the little bat? You don't see him all that much.... why complain?

It's all in all very good but I recommend reading the manga first so you know what it's about and be a bit selective and careful over the near-under age sex stuff in this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cheeky Adaptation, 10 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rosario & Vampire Collection [DVD] (DVD)
It is ok to watch but I found the manga better paced than the anime adaptation. Manga fans might resent that the vibe of the show is different. I would therefore recommend to watch this before reading the manga.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A present for my bf, 29 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rosario & Vampire Collection [DVD] (DVD)
He already had the second season so I bought him this to complete the set. He was over the moon! This is such a great anime! Charming, funny, the rivalry for the main characters affections is great :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fab, 1 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rosario & Vampire Collection [DVD] (DVD)
great anime and manga, bought this for the bf who absolutely loves it, great quality and worth the price! recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Really cool, 27 July 2013
By 
Hodge (Dorset, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rosario & Vampire Collection [DVD] (DVD)
This was a great set and I can't wait to get the rest of them the only real problem was the amount of panties we kept seeing, but otherwise it was really funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Silly but brilliant fun, 17 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rosario & Vampire Collection [DVD] (DVD)
I like to dip in and out of Anime, and didn't know about this one until I came across it in my sisters collection. The blur sounded cheesy which can mean either one of two things: either fantastic or lame.

Luckily I found it fantastic, as it is cheesy, funny (cringe worthy at times which is all the better), and I couldn't help help but love it. The sheer awkwardness of the character interaction just kept me laughing from episode to episode, and by the time I'd watched the first four episodes I had already decided to order myself a copy, as well as the manga copies, and already planning to get the next series as well.

I found it was quite easy to slip in phrases like "Know your place" into everyday conversation.

The musical score and songs is actually very good, and helps to add to the fun and style of the series, which is all about Tsukune whom unable to get into high school, ends up going to an academy which unbeknownst to him and everyone else in the human world is an academy for monsters by monsters (all of which can assume human form). He ends up meeting a girl Moka and the silliness and fun begins from there.

Yes there is fan service, but it is not a distraction, but it is more of another visual joke, and there is some sexual innuendo so not really suitable for younglings.
If you want some silly romantic fun then this series is for you =]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Lighted Fun With The Occasional Tear, 13 May 2013
This review is from: Rosario & Vampire Collection [DVD] (DVD)
This may not be one of the great animes but it is a worthwhile romp with a decent story and some amusing characters. It does have a few poignant moments.

Fan service is very frequent but mild - and doesn't distract from the story.

Definitely worth watching as something that, if not actually memorable, is seldom less than entertaining.

A good "B movie" anime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rosario & Vampire, 17 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rosario & Vampire Collection [DVD] (DVD)
I loved this anime! Thought it was very, very funny, but also had some good fight scenes and its fair share of poignant moments. As I haven't read the Manga I cant comment on how it compares but judging it on its own I found it to be very enjoyable. The animation is well done and the voice cast does a good job too. Its chocked full of fanservice and has a panty montage on the dvd extras for those of us who like that sort of thing. Arrived before the estimated delivery date. All in all 5/5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rosario Vampire! ^___^, 22 Sep 2012
By 
J. Jackson (Devon, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rosario & Vampire Collection [DVD] (DVD)
I've watched this anime a lot over the internet and have been impatiently waiting for it to be released on DVD! So as soon as I saw that it was available, I snapped it up A.S.A.P, Big fan of the anime. Typical cute / kawaii anime with a lot of humor! ^__^ 10/10. <3
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rosario & Vampire Collection [DVD]
24.84
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews