Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute magic, as usual
I waited a while for a Blu-ray release of this, but it just wasn't forthcoming so I gave up and plumped for the DVDs. Glad I did - they look beautiful upscaled, and the series itself is another masterpiece. Stunning photography, informative enthusing from Dave, and the same inescapable sense of wonder and delight at the beauteous diversity of nature as is present in all...
Published on 1 May 2009 by Music Time

versus
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Don't rattle the snake, please monitor the lizard
I know it's considered rank blasphemy to give an Attenbourogh-related product less than five stars, but I just couldn't help myself. Frogs, newts, geckos and turtles just aren't *that* interesting. But sure, even this series offer some moments of the truly bizarre, including the flowerpot snake (the WHAT?!), a population of blinded (sic) taipans stalking a small island...
Published 11 months ago by Ashtar Command


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute magic, as usual, 1 May 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I waited a while for a Blu-ray release of this, but it just wasn't forthcoming so I gave up and plumped for the DVDs. Glad I did - they look beautiful upscaled, and the series itself is another masterpiece. Stunning photography, informative enthusing from Dave, and the same inescapable sense of wonder and delight at the beauteous diversity of nature as is present in all of Attenborough's programs.

My only real disappointment was the complete absence of komodo dragons. As the largest lizards, and the closest real life representation of their namesake mythical creatures, I felt sure they would make an appearance at some point, but they were nowhere to be seen. The iguanas got short shrift as well, making little more than a cameo, but the komodo dragons' absence stands out more.

Still, this is another gem from the BBC and Attenborough, and a must-watch for anyone interested in reptiles, amphibians, and nature in general.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reptiles come alive on another excellent BBC DVD, 5 Feb 2008
By 
Rowena Hoseason "Hooligween" (Kernow, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Life in Cold Blood is another sterling wildlife series from the BBC, presented with warmth and authority by veteran naturalist David Attenborough. This DVD set contains all the core episodes plus a variety of additional, behind-the-scenes material, to run to over five hours. The photography is beautiful and the reptilian subject matter is intricately examined and explained for al to understand. It's an excellent teaching tool while at the same time providing colourful entertainment for anyone with a vague interest in natural history.

Using new filming techniques help to keep what can be a bit of a staid subject more interesting. Tricky animation shows how cold-blooded reptiles move heat around their bodies to stay warm, or demonstrates what goes on inside a giant python when it's just eaten an entire deer. (In fact, the footage of the snake swallowing the deer is some of the most extraordinary natural history filming I've ever seen).
LICB also uses ground-breaking filming to illustrate what's going on underneath the skin - and the heat cameras brilliantly demonstrate how a sea iguana changes temperature throughout its daily routine. The occasional animation of the odd dinosaur is a welcome bit of fluff, too (after all, T-Rex is much more camera-friendly than a snake which spends three days out of four being dormant!)

The Cold-Blooded Truth explains how reptiles function differently to warm-blooded mammals; how they use the warmth of the sun to function and how bigger reptiles can store heat and so be active even at night. The Amphibians episode looks at the creatures which first made the transition from the oceans to dry land, and how their descendents (mainly frogs) need now to balance their needs to stay moist with their need to be warm. The Lizards programme looks in depth at reptiles which live in dry, desert conditions while the Snakes episode uses CCTV to show how clever rattlesnakes are when hunting, and Attenborough `enjoys' the experience of being spattered with venom from a spitting cobra. The final programme mixes the most interesting of the reptiles - the ferocious saltwater crocodiles - and some of the most mundane (turtles and tortoises just don't do it for me!)

Of course, LICB does has its flaws although they are fairly minor compared to the accomplishment of the overall series. Some times it's a little bit too pleased with how clever it all is, and like many of these series it does tend to repeat stand-out shots and general information from one episode to the next. So if you watch them all in close succession you will notice some repetition.
It also suffers from the usual natural history problem: while there is a fair bit of startling new footage here, there's also new film of the same-old same-old. I watch quite a few documentaries and probably never need to see the leatherback turtles laying their eggs again. Really. There are some aspects of a subject which get repeated every time the programme-makers go near the subject - and surely David A must be fed up with the turtles, too?

Apart from my (personal) over-exposure to some of the themes, this is an excellent series and a good value DVD set. It tackles what can be a very `worthy but dull' subject and manages to translate more than 90% of it into colourful and interesting TV. It falls somewhere between four and five stars: 9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars masterpiece, 29 May 2009
By 
M. Roper - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
if you are a fan of david attenborough and also love repitles then this is for you... it truelly is amazing. combines facts with gobsmacking footage.

trust me you wont regret buying this item!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beauty of the Beasts., 26 Feb 2008
By 
@GeekZilla9000 "I am completely operational a... (Doncaster, Yorkshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
When I was little, I was mesmerised by David Attenborough's wildlife documentaries. And now twenty years on I still absolutely love them.

The passion of the man and the team he works with is more than apparent, especially when in the additional features you see what lengths they go to, to bring you maybe a just a few seconds of stunning footage.

Whether you're a reptile fan, or whether you can't stand them - this series will highlight the variety and complexity of these creatures. There's so much beauty amongst those scales - it's not often that a series captures so many jaw-dropping moments, but here, every few minutes you find yourself amazed by what the natural world has to offer.

It seems that with every Attenborough series you hear those words "...never before captured on camera", and this is no different. Animal behaviour never witnessed before is documented on film, I felt privileged to watch this - even the experts the BBC worked alongside were gawping at the videos with childish glee. It's like watching the moon-landings, but in this case you're seeing things which have happened every day for thousands of years (if not more) but it is only now that we are beginning to understand. This doesn't just further your understanding of the reptiles filmed, it furthers scientific understanding among the biologists who study these animals.

Each episode concerns itself with a specific area, for example; Snakes, or Frogs - and then we are treated to ultra close up footage with a fantastic musical score. Each episode contains genuinely spectacular moments, the sheer diversity is emphasised. This gives you an appreciation of what fantastic wonders this world contains. You can't help but wonder how they managed to film half of what they managed to get - but thankfully, the extras start to answer those questions.

In a nutshell: Some of the most spectacular moments committed to film, an educational documentary which will further your respect for this massive range of unique creatures. Eye opening stuff with camerawork by the best in the business. Attenborough on top form again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life in Cold Blood (Repackaged) [DVD] (DVD)
I thought it was real quiet good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life in Cold Blood (Repackaged) [DVD] (DVD)
Great series by BBC
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great cinematography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars DVD, 27 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life in Cold Blood (Repackaged) [DVD] (DVD)
Arrived on time, always a joy to watch David Attenborough and as we live in the Med an excellent way of aquiring DVDs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars life in cold blood, 14 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life in Cold Blood (Repackaged) [DVD] (DVD)
My husband was very pleased with it and has watched it several times he now has most of the 'life in' series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars LOVELY, 19 Sep 2013
By 
Ms. C. Matyasova "Cookiecat" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life in Cold Blood (Repackaged) [DVD] (DVD)
One of the best documentaries i have ever seen, lovely images .. can't beat david attenborough and his documentaries defo recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Life in Cold Blood (Repackaged) [DVD]
Life in Cold Blood (Repackaged) [DVD] by David Attenborough (DVD - 2012)
£7.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews