Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (52)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute magic, as usual
I waited a while for a Blu-ray release of this, but it just wasn't forthcoming so I gave up and plumped for the DVDs. Glad I did - they look beautiful upscaled, and the series itself is another masterpiece. Stunning photography, informative enthusing from Dave, and the same inescapable sense of wonder and delight at the beauteous diversity of nature as is present in all...
Published on 1 May 2009 by Music Time

› See more 5 star, 4 star reviews
versus
0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Don't rattle the snake, please monitor the lizard
I know it's considered rank blasphemy to give an Attenbourogh-related product less than five stars, but I just couldn't help myself. Frogs, newts, geckos and turtles just aren't *that* interesting. But sure, even this series offer some moments of the truly bizarre, including the flowerpot snake (the WHAT?!), a population of blinded (sic) taipans stalking a small island...
Published 19 months ago by Ashtar Command

› See more 3 star, 2 star, 1 star reviews

‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute magic, as usual, 1 May 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I waited a while for a Blu-ray release of this, but it just wasn't forthcoming so I gave up and plumped for the DVDs. Glad I did - they look beautiful upscaled, and the series itself is another masterpiece. Stunning photography, informative enthusing from Dave, and the same inescapable sense of wonder and delight at the beauteous diversity of nature as is present in all of Attenborough's programs.

My only real disappointment was the complete absence of komodo dragons. As the largest lizards, and the closest real life representation of their namesake mythical creatures, I felt sure they would make an appearance at some point, but they were nowhere to be seen. The iguanas got short shrift as well, making little more than a cameo, but the komodo dragons' absence stands out more.

Still, this is another gem from the BBC and Attenborough, and a must-watch for anyone interested in reptiles, amphibians, and nature in general.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reptiles come alive on another excellent BBC DVD, 5 Feb. 2008
By 
Rowena Hoseason "Hooligween" (Kernow, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Life in Cold Blood is another sterling wildlife series from the BBC, presented with warmth and authority by veteran naturalist David Attenborough. This DVD set contains all the core episodes plus a variety of additional, behind-the-scenes material, to run to over five hours. The photography is beautiful and the reptilian subject matter is intricately examined and explained for al to understand. It's an excellent teaching tool while at the same time providing colourful entertainment for anyone with a vague interest in natural history.

Using new filming techniques help to keep what can be a bit of a staid subject more interesting. Tricky animation shows how cold-blooded reptiles move heat around their bodies to stay warm, or demonstrates what goes on inside a giant python when it's just eaten an entire deer. (In fact, the footage of the snake swallowing the deer is some of the most extraordinary natural history filming I've ever seen).
LICB also uses ground-breaking filming to illustrate what's going on underneath the skin - and the heat cameras brilliantly demonstrate how a sea iguana changes temperature throughout its daily routine. The occasional animation of the odd dinosaur is a welcome bit of fluff, too (after all, T-Rex is much more camera-friendly than a snake which spends three days out of four being dormant!)

The Cold-Blooded Truth explains how reptiles function differently to warm-blooded mammals; how they use the warmth of the sun to function and how bigger reptiles can store heat and so be active even at night. The Amphibians episode looks at the creatures which first made the transition from the oceans to dry land, and how their descendents (mainly frogs) need now to balance their needs to stay moist with their need to be warm. The Lizards programme looks in depth at reptiles which live in dry, desert conditions while the Snakes episode uses CCTV to show how clever rattlesnakes are when hunting, and Attenborough `enjoys' the experience of being spattered with venom from a spitting cobra. The final programme mixes the most interesting of the reptiles - the ferocious saltwater crocodiles - and some of the most mundane (turtles and tortoises just don't do it for me!)

Of course, LICB does has its flaws although they are fairly minor compared to the accomplishment of the overall series. Some times it's a little bit too pleased with how clever it all is, and like many of these series it does tend to repeat stand-out shots and general information from one episode to the next. So if you watch them all in close succession you will notice some repetition.
It also suffers from the usual natural history problem: while there is a fair bit of startling new footage here, there's also new film of the same-old same-old. I watch quite a few documentaries and probably never need to see the leatherback turtles laying their eggs again. Really. There are some aspects of a subject which get repeated every time the programme-makers go near the subject - and surely David A must be fed up with the turtles, too?

Apart from my (personal) over-exposure to some of the themes, this is an excellent series and a good value DVD set. It tackles what can be a very `worthy but dull' subject and manages to translate more than 90% of it into colourful and interesting TV. It falls somewhere between four and five stars: 9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Legend....nuff said, 13 Jun. 2012
By 
C. Horswill - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
David Attenborough. Legend.

As with all his documentaries they never fail to impress. This lovely box set about cold blooded creatures is no exception either.

All of his box sets are epic in all honesty. We have almost all all of the 'Life' series now as well as Blue Planet etc.

It is interesting to see how the cameras, lighting, macro etc have all improved over the years, but David has always been and still is consistently excellent as a narrator and wildlife expert through the series.

Amazing to watch, amazing to listen to, amazing to learn from, amazing to own.

If you have looked this far you will not be disappointed in this as a purchase.
Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely brilliant as all of David Attenborough's films, 6 Dec. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I suppose I will not be illuminating anyone, but I feel that David Attenborough is one of those very, very rare people who transcend their subject, the thing that they do, to become it. He IS nature film making, he does not just MAKE the films. And he represents in it's greatest form what a scientist should be - persuasive, welcoming, clear, and sparking off in you a deep interest in what is his great passion - the natural world. A great man whose films are the very pinnacle of their genre. The Life in Cold Blood is as endlessly fascinating and remarkable as all of the other series he has made - backed up with the absolute best of filming techniques and innovations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars absolutley brilliant!!!!, 30 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As always david attenborough narrates a perfect documentary and this time its about reptiles! Being a lover my self i just had to get this dvd and i was absolutley thrilled with it.It starts off with sea iguanas and how they control ther body heat and swim in the ocean to get food etc,followed by desert and other types of lizards including monitors, through to the veiled chameleon to the smallest in the world!also through the dvd ther are frogs which are becoming extinct and snakes to watch how they hunt and survive in the wild,this dvd is the best reptile one i have found so far and well worth watching i hope he brings another one out soon :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars masterpiece, 29 May 2009
By 
M. Roper - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
if you are a fan of david attenborough and also love repitles then this is for you... it truelly is amazing. combines facts with gobsmacking footage.

trust me you wont regret buying this item!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ... and this is the DVD that inspired me its fantastic and he presents it so well this series was ..., 6 Nov. 2014
By 
S. MCDERMOTT - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm at uni now studying zoology and herpetology and this is the DVD that inspired me its fantastic and he presents it so well this series was brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great DVD to have it bring joy to my life, 26 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life in Cold Blood (Repackaged) [DVD] (DVD)
This is DVD bring joy to my life, I love these little colourful intelligent being, I learn how their life in the juggle. because I live with one of this little being we call him Harry together we play and I learn about their way of life, with the DVD allow me to learn more of their behaviour, when in the cold winter morning he sleep with me on my warm chest. I also love David Attenborough what a wonderful work he have done to bring this to the TV for us to enjoy in the comfort of our own home. with much appreciation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Life in Cold Blood, 5 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Life in Cold Blood (Repackaged) [DVD] (DVD)
This should be the last of the life series but i hope not because fish are still missing but shourley for now it is the best the camera is much improved from the 70's life on earth if only they had it for life of birds,anyway nice layout loved the episode on snakes much information I never knew. The lizard episode is great as well with the flat lizard scene being one of my favorites showing them in slow motion jumping to catch flies in mid air next to a river.Great documentary
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Why do you not already own this?, 14 Feb. 2015
By 
S. J. Kelly (Highlands, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life in Cold Blood (Repackaged) [DVD] (DVD)
Have all these series now (having bought the life box set) and been enthralled with the life series since the original 'life on earth' in the seventies. Natural history at its best and most fascinating. Some of the filming is astounding and easily amongst the best ever. I now sit and watch them with my eight year old and have the joy of sharing with her and watching her marvel at the amazing diversity and wonder of our planet
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Life in Cold Blood (Repackaged) [DVD]
Life in Cold Blood (Repackaged) [DVD] by David Attenborough (DVD - 2012)
£7.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Attenborough - The Life Collection Box Set (repack) [DVD]
Attenborough - The Life Collection Box Set (repack) [DVD] by Sir David Attenborough (DVD - 2014)
4.9 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (156)   
Buy new£45.00
In stock

Life in the Undergrowth (Repackaged) [DVD]
Life in the Undergrowth (Repackaged) [DVD] by Sir David Attenborough (DVD - 2012)
4.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (15)   
Buy new£6.30
In stock

The Life of Mammals (Repackaged) [DVD]
The Life of Mammals (Repackaged) [DVD] by Sir David Attenborough (DVD - 2012)
4.9 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (55)   
Buy new£8.60
In stock