Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great read but..
A good absorbing story as are the rest of her books,characters are bought to life really well, the only thing you have to excuse is the American names and way of life which do not sit well with the time this is set in England. This is an annoying feature throughout her books. All in all a good read though.
Published 16 months ago by Pat

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Badly written and researched!
Originally downloaded this book for free and thought it might be a reasonably good but found it to be really badly written. If this author is going to write about life in England in previous centuries then she really needs to do her research. For a start make sure that the names of the characters are ones that are English not American. Secondly, if referring to...
Published 14 months ago by cag


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Badly written and researched!, 8 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Maiden of Mayfair (Tales of London Book #1) (Kindle Edition)
Originally downloaded this book for free and thought it might be a reasonably good but found it to be really badly written. If this author is going to write about life in England in previous centuries then she really needs to do her research. For a start make sure that the names of the characters are ones that are English not American. Secondly, if referring to books/plays then make sure that they were actually around during the period of time being written about. IN this story reference is made to a play being shown at the Adelphi theatre entitled 'The Enchanted Wood'. First of all, Enid Blyton who wrote that story wasn't around in the 1800's, she is a 20th century children's author and it wasn't a play!!!!! Gave up reading after that as was finding it really annoying dealing with poor research and use of language written how the author thinks English people speak!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great read but.., 23 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Maiden of Mayfair (Tales of London Book #1) (Kindle Edition)
A good absorbing story as are the rest of her books,characters are bought to life really well, the only thing you have to excuse is the American names and way of life which do not sit well with the time this is set in England. This is an annoying feature throughout her books. All in all a good read though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 1 star as so disappointed, 1 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Maiden of Mayfair (Tales of London Book #1) (Kindle Edition)
I have read 11% so far and am so annoyed with the American dialogue, England does not measure distance between areas by blocks e.g. the park was 5 blocks away, we do not have attorneys either we have solicitors and only recently also started calling them lawyers and most definitely not in the late 19th century I should know as I've been in the legal profession more than 30 years. Not sure I am going to be able to finish the story, it would have made more sense if the story had been set in America.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The whole kit and caboodle, explained for you..., 29 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Maiden of Mayfair (Tales of London Book #1) (Kindle Edition)
This was possibly the most badly written/researchd book I have ever read...however the storyline was so weak as to be transparent and the vision of London at that time, was so far from acurate, that it was ammusing..including the heroine listening to crickets whilst sitting in the garden, in the evening, in Berkely square!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good book, 20 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Maiden of Mayfair (Tales of London Book #1) (Kindle Edition)
Another nice story, not as good as the Gresham chronicles in my opinion,but moving and interesting never the less
G
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Alabama blackwell, 11 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Maiden of Mayfair (Tales of London Book #1) (Kindle Edition)
I'm so glad I discovered this writer her stories although very much about how God can see you through life, weaves lovely story's. I have read three books she ha written and enjoyed every one. Very much
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great reading, 19 Feb 2014
By 
A. Mejia - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
All of Lawana Blackwell's books are extremely enjoyable and this one is not an exception. If you want to "escape" from your daily routine, this is the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another great book by this author, 31 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Maiden of Mayfair (Tales of London Book #1) (Kindle Edition)
I thoroughly enjoyed the Gresham Chronicles by this author so actively looked for more novels written by her. This is easily as good, it really held my attention as I became more in involved with the characters. Definitely recommended if you like this type of gentle stories with a Christian ethos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars easy read, 16 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Maiden of Mayfair (Tales of London Book #1) (Kindle Edition)
easy read interesting story might read more of her books good holiday read nice and easy if u miss a few days
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Different Type of Hero, 4 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Maiden of Mayfair (Tales of London Book #1) (Kindle Edition)
The story illustrates that they are many types of heroes regardless of sex or century or circumstances. It is a little bit on the lite-side but a very enjoyable read. One positive aspect of the story was that it identified the mannerisms of persons at that time. Maybe a little stereotyped however fairly accurate. I would like a second book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews