Customer Reviews
Toy


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Fuzz
These days, it is all but impossible to make an original statement. An artist may think that what they have created is new and exciting, only to find later that it has been done before, often more than once. Fortunately, a lack of originality needn't be a hurdle as long as the final product is good, and Toy are a band that knows that there is still plenty of mileage in...
Published 19 months ago by Crawton Leek

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Toy
This comes across as a very well produced and made. It just did not grab me. There is a very good track, Dead and Gone and a couple more less memorable. The rest of the LP, well it sounds like a homage to My Bloody Valentine/Loop/Spacemen 3. Certainly not new or original.
Published 5 months ago by Christof


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Fuzz, 19 Sep 2012
By 
This review is from: Toy (Audio CD)
These days, it is all but impossible to make an original statement. An artist may think that what they have created is new and exciting, only to find later that it has been done before, often more than once. Fortunately, a lack of originality needn't be a hurdle as long as the final product is good, and Toy are a band that knows that there is still plenty of mileage in the jangly guitar/swirling synth/laconic vocal combo.

Right from the first chords they recall the fuzz-drenched psychedelicacies of such acts as My Bloody Valentine, Ride, Primary Colours era Horrors or a leaner, indier Secret Machines. They create soundscapes that swoon with guitar and synthesised strings, layered over a vocal that, whilst limited in range, knows exactly its business and how to go about it.

They do have their own twists on the accepted recipe to keep things interesting, though. Second track 'Reasons Why' is a prime example - opening with a mutant variant of 'Theme From A Summer Place', the song morphs into early Verve as played by people who have only recently picked up an instrument, creating beautiful music more by accident than by design. One suspects that a great deal of effort has been expended to sound so effortless.

It takes a feat of musical gymnastics to simultaneously gaze at one's shoes and beyond the horizon, but Toy achieve it with aplomb, the songs merging into one mighty flow but popping up with moments of unexpected invention to keep the listener on their toes. This is a captivating album from start to finish - especially the final moments of album closer 'Kopter', which rattles along with a sudden burst of energy and pulsing rhythm, leaving the listener excited by the prospect of starting the album afresh.

Toy's self-titled offering is as impressive a debut as you are likely to find. To the right person and in the right circumstances, it has the potential to blow minds, even if its moves are somewhat familiar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome first album..., 18 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Toy (Audio CD)
I bought this album a few months ago now,and i still love virtually every track on it. It sounds like Jesus Mary chain/Black rebel motorcycle club,but each track is different,no weak ones on here-Love this,Buy it...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Album Of 2012, 13 Sep 2012
This review is from: Toy (Audio CD)
Oh it seems so simple.take all the best british indie music ever made.mix in a little krautrock.loads of swagger.make it all seem effortless and look cool while doing it.release a debut album that backs up any hype,that not only is the best album of 2012 but also one of the best debut albums ever.
Like all great albums the opening track 'COLOUR'S RUNNING OUT' instantly sets the mood with its shimmering guitars and hypnotic efforts.very psychedelic.
(Now in these days of homemade cd's i've personally added toy's fantastic,epic debut single LEFT MYSELF BEHIND as track 2.it fits just perfect.its staggering how confident the band are to leave this song off the lp.)
THE REASONS WHY is a poppy my bloody valentineish little beauty
DEAD AND GONE is possibly the best song on the lp.an epic track that speeds hypnotically along til it drops into a dreamy hush before redoubling its efforts to blaze a lysergic full tilt trip home.
LOSE MY WAY was the third single and is more poppish bliss.
DRIFTING DEEPER is a synth drenched driving instrumental.very droney and full of spacey effects.
MOTORING was the second single.awesome vocals over a krautrock groove and ringing guitars.
MY HEART SKIPS A BEAT is the most bittersweet romantic song on the lp.and an obvious sounding single.
STRANGE is the lps most horrors like song(the band are often liken to the horrors).
MAKE IT MINE more dreamy pop.
OMNI is a short soundscape.
WALK UP TO ME is a slow brooding ballad
KOPTER is another long hypnotic epic and a perfect closer.
Also a band whose single b sides are worth hunting down.especially BRIGHT WHITE SHIMMERING SUN which was the flip of the LOSE MY WAY single.
Epic,Fuzzy,Droney,Spacey Pyschedelic Brilliance.....YOU NEED THIS ALBUM.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Toy, 25 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Toy (Audio CD)
This comes across as a very well produced and made. It just did not grab me. There is a very good track, Dead and Gone and a couple more less memorable. The rest of the LP, well it sounds like a homage to My Bloody Valentine/Loop/Spacemen 3. Certainly not new or original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Trancendent, 8 July 2013
By 
Jason Ahmed (Los Angeles, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Toy (Audio CD)
Combines subtle shoegazery rock - multiple layers of fast-but-careful guitar strums and keyboards - with hard-driving rhythms + absolutely beautiful melodies. For such a new band, this is a surprisingly sophisticated first album.

Tunes are atmospheric, pschedelic, dark but paradoxically joyous. Brings to mind the best of older bands like My Bloody Valentine, Spiritualized, but catchier, like Lush or maybe Ride. Still sounds newer, more futuristic. If pushed to find a complaint, I would say that lyrically they are a bit (maybe) simplistic, but that could be put down to the band's youth.

The sad thing about these guys is, it is specifically because they have surfaced with such lovely, catchy songs in this current sea of sound-alike "indie-rock-pop" bands, that they will no doubt be overlooked, if not ignored, by the band-wagon obsessed music press.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding!, 7 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Toy (Audio CD)
Saw this band alongside British Sea Power in London, and they were amazing! I'd never heard of them before, but on the strength of their live performance I bought this album and I was not disappointed. Listen at volume, there is so much to hear and you don't want to miss a note!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars every track a winner, 19 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Toy (Audio CD)
I bought this after hearing them on 6 Music and then seeing them at the SWN festival in Cardiff last year, I really love every single track on this album, probably one of the best released in 2012, fav track is Dead and Gone with the build up the the heartstopping keychange
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Play it; play with it; play to it..., 29 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Toy (Audio CD)
I must agree with the previously published reviews - a storming debut. A maelstrom of swirling sonic attack overlain with trippy guitars. I took a chance on this album having read a very positive review. From the description in the review, it did not sound too far removed from the music of Wooden Shjips & Moon Duo in the 'psych' influences incorporated. Those of you who enjoy these (related) bands will very much enjoy this, as well as any older rock fans who liked their 60s / 70s psych or the sort of 'out there' later stuff issued on the late 'Delerium' records label and excellently compiled on "Last Daze of the Underground" box set The Last Daze Of The Underground - Delerium Records. As well as the 'krautrock' and 'Hawkwind-ish' elements, I can also detect some hints of 'Echo & the Bunnymen's" psych elements and the "Jesus & Mary Chain".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Toy, 5 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Toy (Audio CD)
A group with a new and exiciting sound. Hope this CD is just the start of a strong career. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars toy, 8 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Toy (Audio CD)
My daughter likes the tracks on this cd. It was a christmas present. arrived promptly and good value. Good cd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x9db051b0)

This product

Toy
Toy by Toy (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews