Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hey, John! The Pain's come home!
Chicago has always been a special place to the WWE, what with it's electric crowd and the wonderful wrestling atmosphere it generates. Some of the greatest shows in history have taken place in Chicago i.e. WrestleManias 13 & 22, No Mercy 2007 and of course, last year's Money in the Bank.

So naturally, you can expect that same fantastic buzz to be generated by...
Published on 12 Sept. 2012 by R. Wood

versus
3 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Another WWE PPV that was ok but nothing special
WWE Extreme Rules 2012 PPV

Falls Count Anywhere Match- Kane vs Randy Orton
*** Good start to the ppv

Brodus Clay vs Jack Swagger
* Standard Squash

Intercontinental Championship Tables Match- Big Show vs Cody Rhodes

** It was ok but didnt like the ending to the match

World Heavyweight Championship 2 out of 3...
Published on 30 July 2012 by Mr. J. Hewitt


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hey, John! The Pain's come home!, 12 Sept. 2012
By 
R. Wood "ryecroftwood2" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: WWE - Extreme Rules 2012 [DVD] (DVD)
Chicago has always been a special place to the WWE, what with it's electric crowd and the wonderful wrestling atmosphere it generates. Some of the greatest shows in history have taken place in Chicago i.e. WrestleManias 13 & 22, No Mercy 2007 and of course, last year's Money in the Bank.

So naturally, you can expect that same fantastic buzz to be generated by the wonderful Chicago audience and history to be made once again in Extreme Rules 2012, which is another absolutely essential pay-per-view offering from WWE that we've been blessed with in recent times.

Like Money in the Bank 2011, there was an unmissable angle going into the show. And what could be more unmissable than BROCK LESNAR? Returning to the very company that made him a huge star and a truckload of cash after EIGHT YEARS AWAY, Lesnar once again took the wrestling world by storm the night after WrestleMania. His target this time? JOHN CENA, his old Doctor of Thuganomics rival from the glory days of SmackDown, who was defeated by Lesnar way back at Backlash 2003.

Of course, much had changed since then, with Cena having become the face of WWE while Lesnar wrestled elsewhere before ultimately conquering UFC as an MMA fighter. So the match-up this time was bound to be off-the-charts, right? ALL THAT AND MORE! As for the rest of the show...well, there's plenty of excellent stuff to sink your teeth into!

Falls Count Anywhere Match
Randy Orton vs. Kane
This feud could've been absolutely terrible (like Kane's rivalries with Cena & Edge), and instead it turned out rather decent. It's been the same with the matches, with this falls-count-anywhere bout in particular being a great brawl. Orton and Kane battle out all over the arena in this splendid entertainment. Nearly as special as an Attitude Era bout and a very strong opener. (8/10)

Brodus Clay (w/Cameron, Naomi & Hornswoggle) vs. Dolph Ziggler (w/Vickie Guerrero & Jack Swagger)
The more I see Ziggler work, the more of a fan I become. The man is one of the best wrestlers in the business today, getting better and better, and he just throws himself into every bout he's in. Even in throwaway matches like this, Ziggler gives it his all and makes Brodus Clay look like a million bucks. This is a highly forgettable bout, but one that although passable, manages to be entertaining. (5/10)

Tables Match for the Intercontinental Championship
Big Show (Champion) vs. Cody Rhodes.
Mixed feelings about this one. On one hand, it's decent with both champion and challenger managing to work well in a challenging environment. On the other hand, it's impeded by it's short length, and a finish that's simultaneously plausible and frustrating. Could've been much worse, though. And the outcome and aftermath are smart booking. (6/10)

2-out-of-3 Falls World Heavyweight Championship Match
Sheamus (Champion) vs. Daniel Bryan
What can I say? The whole `YES!' phenomenon has cemented Daniel Bryan's WWE main-event status forever. And at long last - after being ridiculously shunned TWICE at WrestleMania! - Sheamus and Bryan are allowed to show that they can wrestle beautifully together. This is one of the purest title matches I've seen in a long, long time, and it's an absolute joy to behold. Ric Flair & Ricky Steamboat would be proud of this one! (9/10)

Handicap Match
Ryback vs. Aaron Relic & Jay Hatton
When the former Skip Sheffield (of Nexus) was reinvented as a Goldberg clone who dresses up as Rob Van Dam, I really didn't know what to think. Time will tell whether this will succeed or fail, although the gimmick is slowly starting to grow on me. Squashing this pair of jobbers, though...you're not missing much. Just a chance for a breather, really. (2/10)

WWE Championship Chicago Street Fight
CM Punk (Champion) vs. Chris Jericho
A highly personal storyline concludes as the WWE Kingpin comes home in triumphant fashion. All the emotion and fury is here for this story and Jericho (as usual) plays the despicable antagonist to perfection. Annoyingly, the intensity does fall through mid-way, but some real hardcore moments, great involvement from Punk's sister, the crowd's electricity and the efforts of both wrestlers make this Street Fight a really chaotic one. (9/10)

Divas' Championship Match
Nikki Bella (Champion w/Brie Bella) vs. Layla
Chicago wanted Kharma. I wanted Kharma too! But Layla's return was still a pleasant surprise. She's clearly been improving her wrestling skills in the year she's been on the shelf, and she wastes no time in making an impression against the Bellas (who are less skilled and are now gone). Very brief (like most Divas' matches, sadly), but tells a story and is actually worth a watch. (5/10)

Extreme Rules Match
John Cena vs. Brock Lesnar
This is without doubt one of the sickest, most physical and intense fights I've ever seen in wrestling. I wasn't expecting Brock to come out in his UFC attire or to actually incorporate his MMA skills in this match, but it works without fault. The blending of wrestling and mixed-martial arts is seamless, and the terrific booking makes this main-event one of the best we've seen in 2012. Brock is even more of a beast here than he was before in WWE, and Cena's performance here maybe the best we've ever seen from him. Have to question the outcome, but the heartfelt promo afterwards is really welcome. TRULY match of the night, and worthy of being match of the year. (10/10)

With most of the special features going to Blu-Ray these days, there's a Home Exclusive Interview with CM Punk, courtesy of Matt Striker. And as opposed to most Punk interviews, this one is rather humbling and heartfelt. A welcome (and rather touching) extra.

Following on from the excellent WrestleMania 28, WWE Extreme Rules 2012 is another memorable Chicago event. Not as classic as Money in the Bank 2011, but still got a lot of essential action for wrestling fans. One to own!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My son loved this!, 4 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WWE - Extreme Rules 2012 [DVD] (DVD)
Perfect gift for an avid wrestling fan! The quality is very good and has given hours of entertainment to my son!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars CM Punk, CM Punk, CM Punk, 30 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WWE - Extreme Rules 2012 [DVD] (DVD)
Chicago in my opinion is the best place to be when it hosts a World Wrestling Entertainment pay-per-view.

Extreme Rules 2012 was one of the best pay-per-views of 2012 with Chicago's own CM Punk defending the WWE Championship in a Chicago Street Fight against Chris Jericho. CM Punk had the best run in WWE and the Chicago Street Fight was one of his best title defences along with the roar of the crowd and the extremity of weapons involved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extreme Rules 2012, 1 May 2013
This review is from: WWE - Extreme Rules 2012 [DVD] (DVD)
NO SPOILERS IN THIS REVIEW
Going into Extreme Rules we had a few good rivalries to invest in. Randy Orton seeking vengeance on Kane, Daniel Bryan looking for redemption after being beaten in eighteen seconds at Wrestlemania by Sheamus, CM Punk fighting on behalf of his family, friends and his pride, and Brock Lesnar set to destroy the poster boy of WWE, John Cena.
FALLS COUNT ANYWHERE
Randy Orton VS Kane
An all out ruckus which spills all all over the arena. Considering WWE maintains a PG rating, these two really pull out all the stops to make this match something to behold. A solid opening match with a nice ending 9/10
Brodus Clay VS Dolph Ziggler
WWE were really trying their hardest to spotlight "The Funkasaurus" Brodus Clay. Personally I think Brodus is slow and limited but Dolph Ziggler saved this one and made it viewable. Luckily for us it was short and sweet 4/10
TABLES MATCH
Big Show VS Cody Rhodes
I thought this match was really enjoyable. Cody Rhodes was looking to retain Intercontinental gold after being taken down by Big Show at Wrestlemania which was Big Shows only win at this event. A controversial ending to the match and Big Show really lost control of his temper. 7/10
2/3 FALLS MATCH
Sheamus VS Daniel Bryan
Daniel Bryan was looking to save face after an embarrassing 18 second loss to Sheamus at Wrestlemania and bring home the World Heavyweight title. Object of this match being best of three pitfalls, submissions etc. A pure wrestling match here which is pretty rare in WWE these days. I really enjoyed this and the Chicago crowd seemed to agree with my opinion. Lots of back and forth. Good showing from these two 9/10
Ryback VS Aaron Relic & Jay Hatton
Ryback was a relatively new face in WWE and was bring pushed as indestructible. He gives these two independant wrestlers the mauling of a lifetime. They didnt drag this one out here. 5/10
STREET FIGHT RULES
CM Punk VS Chris Jericho
This rivalry had me gripped. Not only are we seeing a showcase of two of the best wrestlers in the world, but we are treated to a street fight between the two. CM Punk was seeking vengeance after Jericho teasing Punk for his fathers issues with alcohol abuse, amongst other family slander. What made this interesting is that it was genuinely personal. This match is absolute mayhem from the ringing of the bell. End to end chaos with CM Punks home town cheering him on. 10/10
Nikki Bella VS Layla
This match was for the Divas Championship. It's nothing to write home about, as sadly most women's matches are these days. We were teased with Kharma earlier in the evening after Beth Phoenix was deemed unfit to compete, but instead we got Layla. Not very interesting 4/10
EXTREME RULES MATCH
Brock Lesnar VS John Cena
Brock Lesnar returned to WWE the night after Wrestlemania, eight years after leaving WWE. Within this time he had a successful wrestling career in Japan, then went on to compete in UFC where he won the Heavyweight title. mid sentence, Cena was interrupted by Lesnars entrance music on RAW and the crowd went bezerk. As Cena greeted Lesnar with a handshake, Brock laid him out with an F-5. He claimed he isn't a wrestler, but an "ass kicker" and was returning to legitimise the WWE. These two had a total gloves off, ugly brawl which was pretty gruesome in places. Lesnar looked to be in the best shape ever as he threw the WWEs icon around like a rag doll. A pretty surprising ending here. 10/10
DVD extras are pretty bare bones but there is a nice, personal interview with CM Punk following his match with Chris Jericho.
I didn't grudge paying just over £5 for one of 2012's top WWE events and neither should you. I highly doubt this DVD will disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A very good show, 30 Oct. 2013
This review is from: WWE - Extreme Rules 2012 [DVD] (DVD)
Extreme rules was one of the best ppvs I've ever seen cm punk vs Chris Jericho sheamus vs Daniel Bryan Kane vs randy Orton and Brock lesnar vs john cena are all 5 star matches the rest of the matches are good two but these four really entertained me
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another star follow on from a Wrestlemania., 30 Aug. 2013
By 
P. Anderson "Paul" (Grange SA Aust.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: WWE - Extreme Rules 2012 [DVD] (DVD)
Falls Count Anywhere Match
Randy Orton vs. Kane
A good mix of styles with both showing a determination for the match to succeed. A win for the fans.

Brodus Clay (w/Cameron, Naomi & Hornswoggle) vs. Dolph Ziggler (w/Vickie Guerrero & Jack Swagger)
The coffee break time. Brodus Clay makes the old Ralphus gimmick look good.

Tables Match for the Intercontinental Championship
Big Show (Champion) vs. Cody Rhodes.
A lot better than I expected. A swerve ending that gets the result but puts over both players.

2-out-of-3 Falls World Heavyweight Championship Match
Sheamus (Champion) vs. Daniel Bryan
What we could have had at WM. A major disappointment at Wrestlemania has been used to build one of the highlights of this event.

Handicap Match
Ryback vs. Aaron Relic & Jay Hatton
Skip this one, it doesn't last long though.

WWE Championship Chicago Street Fight
CM Punk (Champion) vs. Chris Jericho

Jericho plays his plays role of putting a star over, again, very well. It's a bit too predictable now but he always does the job down to near perfection. Not bad for a guy in his 40s.

Divas' Championship Match
Nikki Bella (Champion w/Brie Bella) vs. Layla

Maybe worth a watch.

Extreme Rules Match
John Cena vs. Brock Lesnar
They teamed well for the match of the night. The booking built Lesnar as the unstoppable monster again. Cena was his usual guy who never gives up.
An above average offering with a lot of tough matches. Even some wrestling on offer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Here comes the pain!, 19 April 2013
By 
Brock Lesnar (Weston Super Mud, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
This review is from: WWE - Extreme Rules 2012 [DVD] (DVD)
Probably best PPV since Money in the Bank 2011. All matches are good, with solid performances from all involved. Last match sees the return of Brock Lesnar against kiddies favourite Cena, this match is brutal and a must see, Cena and Brock put on a real feeling performance not seen for many a year. Brocks new MMA sytle is a great change from circus flying arm drags that we get too much these days. A must for any wrestling fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even better than the memory, 6 Mar. 2013
By 
R. Forse (Taunton, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
So I bought this for one match, Nikki Bella v Layla......ok, for Brock Lesnar v John Cena. In the PG era this s as hard hitting and brutal as you'll see (and as any match needs to be) and I've watched it multiple times since getting the DVD. I love the story told in the match, the dominance and eventual over confidence of Lesnar and the battling will to win of John Cena. The one thing I really disliked about the main event was John Cena's ill thought through and nonsense filled after match promo where he announced to the world he was "fine" after being absolutely battered for 20 minutes, though the inclusion of a fantastic Edge promo in the per match build up makes up for this.

It's not just a one match show though, which is something I'd forgotten about, as CM Punk and Chris Jericho serve up a storm as do Sheamus and Daniel Bryan. All in all, outside of a Royal Rumble or Wrestlemania, if you want a "big event" feel then Extreme Rules 2012 is the way to go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WWE goes Extreme, 27 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I gave this product 5 stars because the quality of the blu ray was excellent and the wwe extreme rules pay per view. Lived up to the hype. I would recommend to any wwe fans to purchase this product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXTREMELY GOOD!, 11 July 2012
Could they really follow up wrestlemania 28 with another fine event? yes they could,so they did.
I had a good feeling about this event and wasn't disappointed.
To start off we have RANDY ORTON taking on KANE in a FALLS COUNT ANYWHERE match. It's a great start to the show and continues their feud well,with a nice time given and some good action taking place all over the arena,i really got into this one.
BRODUS CLAY vs DOLPH ZIGGLER is about the best match BRODUS has had to this point and it's fun enough for what it is,which isn't much and it doesn't last long.
BIGSHOW vs CODY RHODES in a TABLES match for the i.c. title. This is disappointing short and is very much a match asking if CODY can overcome the odds and put BIGSHOW through a table. It has an interesting end,so it's not so bad.
SHEAMUS vs DANIEL BRYAN in A 2 OUT OF 3 FALLS match for the world heavyweight title. It's a good one,nice solid wrestling,they work together well and it makes up for their wrestlemania flop.
RYBACK vs 2 nobodies,it's a filler,just showing RYBACK's strength.
C.M. PUNK vs CHRIS JERICHO (STREET FIGHT) for the wwe title. Wow,this is another fine showing with these 2 talents,great brutal action for what is usually quite a safe family friendly company now. I loved this match,top stuff!
MYSTERY DIVA vs NIKKI BELLA for the diva's title. BETH PHOENIX couldn't wrestle,by doctor's orders,so the match went to a comeback diva,not many people cared.
JOHN CENA vs BROCK LESNAR in an EXTREME RULES match. LESNAR stated he was out to destroy CENA,boy did he try! Blood from the opening seconds and brutal action made this event well worth watching,just to see proof the wwe can still do this when they put their mind to it. What an encounter,CENA gets punished like never before and keeps fighting,good bloody and brutal action.loved it!
It's certainly an event to see,this one. Go for it and see wwe prove it can still give top action,if not quite so brutal as the attitude era,it's still good. I was hoping for something special and they delivered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

WWE - Extreme Rules 2012 [DVD]
WWE - Extreme Rules 2012 [DVD] by Brock Lesnar (DVD - 2012)
Used & New from: £3.72
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews