Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not essential but can be useful
This contains an Official nintendo power adaptor and a charging cradle for the Nintendo 3DS XL.

If you have bought a 3DS XL please be aware you will need a charger (unless you are upgrading from an original 3DS or DSi DSi XL), which is available from Amazon on its own for approximately 1/3rd of the cost of this pack.

What you gain with this pack is...
Published on 9 Jan. 2013 by Mr. A. J. Evans-crane

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great product, terrible price.
This docking station works absolutely perfectly. I cannot find fault with the device itself.

I guess the main advantage is that it will save wear and tear on the 3DS's power socket at the rear as you are not constantly plugging it in and pulling it out. Also if someone trips on the cable or something (these things happen) it won't break the socket on your 3DS...
Published 22 months ago by G. WOODRUFF


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great product, terrible price., 5 May 2013
By 
G. WOODRUFF - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nintendo 3DS XL Power Adapter and Cradle (Nintendo 3DS) (Accessory)
This docking station works absolutely perfectly. I cannot find fault with the device itself.

I guess the main advantage is that it will save wear and tear on the 3DS's power socket at the rear as you are not constantly plugging it in and pulling it out. Also if someone trips on the cable or something (these things happen) it won't break the socket on your 3DS XL as this merely has a couple of metal contacts that touch corresponding contacts on the back of your 3DS.

It would also be convenient if you leave it plugged in too as you can just plonk your 3DS XL down on top of it instead of fumbling to get the cable in the socket. However I'd only do that if the mains adapter was plugged into a socket with a switch as I personally don't feel comfortable leaving these adapters plugged into a live socket 24/7.

That's the good stuff, now the problem...

As other reviewers have said, the price over and above the standalone AC adapter is ridiculous given that you are paying for a piece of plastic with a couple of metal contacts that probably cost a few pence to produce. Nintendo have a tasty mark-up on this unit. They could make a decent profit at half the price.

So I give it a "fun" rating of 5 stars as I consider that the score for how well it does the job. At the end of the day it is far better than having the mains adapter alone.

I give it an overall score of 3 stars because it is very poor value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not essential but can be useful, 9 Jan. 2013
By 
Mr. A. J. Evans-crane (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nintendo 3DS XL Power Adapter and Cradle (Nintendo 3DS) (Accessory)
This contains an Official nintendo power adaptor and a charging cradle for the Nintendo 3DS XL.

If you have bought a 3DS XL please be aware you will need a charger (unless you are upgrading from an original 3DS or DSi DSi XL), which is available from Amazon on its own for approximately 1/3rd of the cost of this pack.

What you gain with this pack is the charging cradle, a black plastic frame that the included adaptor plugs into. To charge your 3DS XL you simply place it in the cradle and it starts charging - I bought it because I have to plug in the charging cable to my mobile phone and tablet when I'm back from work - simply being able to drop my 3DS XL straight into this saves me a little hassle and time - something that for me is worth the extra price.

The cradle has a cut out so you can keep headphones plugged into your 3DS XL while it is charging, is set at a slight angle and you are able to change games in the 3DS XL all while it is charging, although you wont be able to access the stylus without lifting the unit slightly - which is not a problem.

It dies what it says on the tin - charges without having to plug a wire into your hand held each time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Does the job, but pricey., 3 Oct. 2013
By 
J. Mitchell "Jase" (Brighton, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nintendo 3DS XL Power Adapter and Cradle (Nintendo 3DS) (Accessory)
It does the job well, and saves wear and tear on the DS power slot i.e. no plugging a cable directly into the handheld every night, just easily place the DS into the cradle. No pressing it in or fiddling around. But this device is way too expensive for a lump of plastic. There's no weighty, premium feel here. Having said that, it's well made - as all Nintendo stuff tends to be - and will likely last ages. Worth getting if you get over the ouch factor of that price and want to avoid wearing out the power socket of your 3DS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Overpriced but pretty much essential, 18 Jun. 2013
By 
Mr. D. Upchurch "Sleepless_Dave" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nintendo 3DS XL Power Adapter and Cradle (Nintendo 3DS) (Accessory)
£20 for a plug and a bit of plastic is a sting, but you really do need one of these if you have a 3DS XL - it makes recharging a breeze. At least I got the XL itself for cheap - thank you, online price battles!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I'd have preferred to get this free., 19 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nintendo 3DS XL Power Adapter and Cradle (Nintendo 3DS) (Accessory)
Nintendo, with the 3DS XL, released the cradle, which allows easier charging, separately to save costs. However, it's the consumer who still has to pay, and this is £20 poorly spent.

Half that would be fine, but, for a piece of plastic that, while robust, almost seems unfit for purpose, and a power adapter you can get, seriously, for £7 off this site, it's a rip-off.

Avoid unless you know you'll use it for what it's designed for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Adapter and cradle, 11 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nintendo 3DS XL Power Adapter and Cradle (Nintendo 3DS) (Accessory)
Had to order this one since they don't ship adapters with 3DS XLs anymore. Standard adapter, the cradle is not the best though - light, does not feel premium at all - more like something cheap you buy from a 3rd party.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great charging dock for the 3DS XL, if a little bit overpriced., 20 Nov. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nintendo 3DS XL Power Adapter and Cradle (Nintendo 3DS) (Accessory)
Great charging dock for the 3DS XL, if a little bit overpriced.

Exactly what I needed. Just pop in the cradle and leave it there to charge. No more hassle to need to plug in the charging cable!

Points to note is that
- It doesn't hold it in place, literally held in by gravity. This is something I prefer as it is easy to dock / remove.
- The entire dock is made of plastic. It is relatively light and this may mean that it will be prone to movement.
- Supplied power adapter is good quality with a good cable length.
- Dock also works via USB powered cable (at least with mine).

If you need a reliable bedside 3DS XL charger/dock, this is it. Bear in mind you may still use the charging cable if you are needing to charge it while playing, however it is light enough to hold together with the 3DS XL whilst playing, but I didn't find this very comfortable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Power Adapter and 3DS XL Cradle, 20 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nintendo 3DS XL Power Adapter and Cradle (Nintendo 3DS) (Accessory)
Well - its the power adapter and accompanying 3DS XL cradle to go with our two 3DS XL's. Simple to assemble and very easy to use. Could have Nintendo supplied one or even both these items with each 3DS XL they sell? Possibly. Just pass the difference in cost onto the customer I suppose - we have two systems and charge up both using this. Very pleased. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good buy., 6 Jan. 2013
By 
Lorraine "Coco's" (COALVILLE, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nintendo 3DS XL Power Adapter and Cradle (Nintendo 3DS) (Accessory)
Just leave it set up for easy charging of DS. No need to keep plugging the cable in the back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, but should of been included with the 3DS, 21 Feb. 2013
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nintendo 3DS XL Power Adapter and Cradle (Nintendo 3DS) (Accessory)
Its very nice to have a place to dock my 3DS XL, however £20 is expensive for literally a piece of plastic. Sure you get a charger, but i have one already that i had to buy day one with my XL. If you are buying a XL for the first time this is a good purchase, but for me owning a charger already it is basically £13 for a bit of plastic. It works well though, probably the best dock I've ever used

PROS
- Access to all buttons on the 3DS including the headphone port
- It's really easy to set up and use
- The 3DS is playable while in the dock
- Looks fantastic a works perfectly

CONS
- Pricey for what it is
- Not necessary
- Should of been included with the XL in the first place

OVERALL
4/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nintendo 3DS XL Power Adapter and Cradle (Nintendo 3DS)
£19.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews