Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars114
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 11 June 2011
The Jungle by Clive Cussler (Background Blurb from the publisher and review)

Juan Cabrillo and the crew of the Oregon have undergone many hair-raising adventures before - but never one quite like this.

Jungles come in many forms: there are the steamy rainforests of the Burmese highland. There are the lies, and betrayals of the world of covert operations. And there are the dark and twisted thoughts of a man bent on near-global domination.To pull off their latest mission, Cabrillo and his remarkable men and women must survive them all.

A devastating new weapon unleashed in thirteenth-century China . . . a daring rescue mission in the snowbound mountains along the Afghanistan/Pakistan border . . . a woman gone missing in the jungles of Northern Thailand and Myanmar . . . For Cabrillo, all of these events will come together -leading to the greatest threat against US security that the country has ever known.

In recent books Cussler has become a little off his game, but except with the character Juan Cabrillo, this seems to be where he has retained his mastery of this genre, Dirk Pitt and Dirk Pitt Jnr have had their day and need to be retired in favour of these characters, they have more scope and are more in tune with the modern stories he is weaving.

this is a solid Cussler tale and i totally enjoyed it, it is the usual turn your brian off sit back and enjoy the rollercoaster ride thrill ride so dont expect to have the grey matter taxed and dont buy the book expecting that sort of story line, but for balls out thriller...this is worth the money. (Parm)
11 comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2012
I can now say I completely understand why Cussler's books are listed under Action and Adventure on Amazon. It took me all of three days to fly through this one. Action-packed fits this book well.

This is the first book I've read by Clive Cussler. After this first taste, I know when I want a heart-pounding action and adventure I can go back to him and expect more of the same.

Even as filled with action as it was, the part I enjoyed the most was the characterization. Each of his characters was unique and easy to distinguish from one another. An easy example of this is the main character, Juan Cabrillo. He has a physical handicap, but I don't want to say more because it comes as a bit of a surprise in the book. It doesn't make him extraordinary, but definitely unique.

Many of the characters come from different cultures as well. Cussler's knowledge of these cultures and their idiosyncrasies is amazing.

Speaking of Cussler's knowledge, this guy does his research. The depth of detail, particularly pertaining to weaponry and other military items, was great. If I had one complaint it would be that, on occasion, he spent too much time on these militaristic details. While interesting to some, I found it bogged down the action a little. Not a lot, but with the fast pacing in the rest of the book, it felt almost out of place.

The plot? Awesome! I had a few ideas as to what was going on, but Cussler throws in enough twists and turns to keep the reader flipping through the pages. Though the mystery was there, the action sequences the characters live through to get to the answer were great.

There are a few parts not as realistic as others. Again, I won't give any details, but it may be something some readers will not enjoy. Though this is fiction, much of the technology was ahead of its time. It wasn't too far out for me, but it was enough that I should mention it in this review. While these technological advances were probably too advanced for modern day, they weren't so much so that a rich government couldn't have one or two of these projects secretly studied.

While not my favorite book, I have no complaints about this action-packed thriller. It certainly lived up to its genre.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2015
There is a place left in this world that men can be men and that place is in the pages of a Clive Cussler novel. ‘The Jungle’ is so soaked in testosterone that you could rub it on your face for an instant beard. The crew of the Oregon return in another hi-octane and quite frankly daft adventure that pits them against an ancient weapon used for modern destruction. When the book opens it feels like it may either be a ‘Di Vinci Code’ style thriller or Higgins style action fest. In truth somewhere in the middle is right and neither of them works exceptionally.

There are individual action sequences in this novel that are tense and well written – the opening prisoner escape or the attack on a high rise, but there is too much action for one novel. There is no real effort to flesh out the characters or even delve into the true motivations of the baddies. Instead you get action layered on action with no rest for the wicked to develop. When we do have some down time with the heroes, they come across as a little chauvinistic; yes, there are female characters who are strong and intelligent, but they don’t seem to get the same amount to do as the men.

‘The Jungle’ delves deep into the bucket of dumb fun and grabs handfuls of the stuff. For someone looking for an extremely light action novel they can look no further. However, even on the sillier thriller stakes it lacks depth – the better work of Jack Higgins or Alistair MacLean shows how this type of book should be made. As it is, this is a passable read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2011
I'm very much in two minds about this book. Cut off by the US government following the events of 'The Silent Sea', the Corporation are reliant on work from private customers to pay their way, such as rescuing a kidnapped child and hunting for missing persons. It's difficult to say much more about the plot without giving anything away, so I won't.

It starts badly, with a number of blatant scientific and historical inaccuracies, but then as it gets going the action moves quickly and it feels much more like the early Oregon Files books. The middle section of this book is definitely the best writing that's been put out under Cussler's name for some time. But then the ending just seems to throw all that away and goes back to the realm of the ridiculous - Cussler's novels have dabbled in fantasy since 'Trojan Odessey' but this is probably one of the most extreme.

I've been reading Clive Cussler's novels for about ten years now and I'm afraid to say that the half of the canon that's been published in that time are nothing like the standard of those published before. It's really disappointing because there are glimmers of the old Cussler that shine through the gaps, only to be snatched away by the unbelievable twists that feel so unnecessary.

The Oregon Files are probably my favourites of the spin-off series and this one does introduce some good new characters and fresh storylines, but the plot continues to drag it down. I can only hope that improvements will come, but as long as people (like me) keep buying then the novels will probably continue in this vein.
11 comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 4 May 2011
The plot is outlined above. What can I add other than this is again a novel from the master with action, adventure and unforgetable characters. Clive Cussler (who always makes a personal appearance)is without doubt the master of the "Ripping Yarn" (sorry, love that phrase). I look foward to his very novel and have yet to be disappointed. Money well spent on this great book. Juan Cabrillo and the crew of the Oregon have undergone many hair-raising adventures before - but never one quite like this. This time Cabrillo and his team travel from Aghanistan/Pakistan/Northern Thailand (real jungle territory) to prevent global domination one more time! The novel is very up to date in it political asperations and apart from that a terrific fun read. The Jungle (Oregon Files 8)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2012
picked this for reading on holiday. Once again Clive Cussler did not disapoint. Felt as if I was along for the ride
with the main characters, enjoying the action as it unfolded. Excellent reading.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2012
I do enjoy a good cussler and this is a good cussler,

The plot has a good tempo, a new team member and lots of twists along the way, we learn a bit more background of the 'members' and the start of the corporation.

Some of the books I feel like i've read before and I thought he may be losing his edge, this one though feels like the story has a bit of depth and has been given time to develope in the writters mind before putting it to paper.

It has continious action and suprises, a good book for action readers.

In my opinion as a no-one...... its the best oregon file so far
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2011
I have read every Clive Cussler, and although the collaborations are not as good as his original works they are still generally good escapist action fiction.

I'm not desperately keen on the Isaac Bell series, and can't get too excited about the Fargo stories yet, but after a slow start I really have taken to the Oregon series and its characters, the last two have been excellent.

This time, however, it just doesn't work for me. Why? well for a start "The Jungle" is a bit misleading as that forms only a very small part of the book. And some of the reasons how the Corporation got involved seem very convoluted and a bit conflicting at times. Did the villain want them in, or out?

Secondly I didn't see how an ancient weapon's crystals suddenly became the vital part of a quantum computer - never really explained how the villain made that quantum (sorry for the pun) leap.

Lastly, although the science obviously needs a leap of faith, when Cabrillo confronted the computer in the showdown it felt a bit like something out of Red Dwarf, and as for the Epilogue revelation - well that completely flew in the face of the scientific explanations throughout the rest of the book.

So to me it was all OK - nothing more, nothing less. Could do better (and has, many times)
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2012
Another in the "Oregon Files" series by Messrs Cussler/Du Brul. Set chiefly in Myanmar it starts with the company rescuing an Indonesian child held by the Taliban for his distraught father then proceeds to a search for a Swiss millionaires missing daughter.Thrills,spills and kills are delivered in copious quantities. Later in the book the U.S President is given an opportunity to end all handouts to Israel and Pakistan; sadly he passes.
Overall an excellent read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2012
Well, this was the first CLive Cussler I have read.

I enjoyed the tale throughout although for me, there could have been a touch more action.

I enjoyed the central characters and the concept of their team and missions. Their ship and extraordinary arsenal at hand was great fun and showed excellent imagination.

Overall, a good book and I will certainly read some more Cussler books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.