Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Suberb and Fitting Tribute To Jimi
There has only been one Jimi Hendrix and one Gary Moore. Moore was a listener and learner who was clearly influenced by both Jimi and also Peter Green. He was an out and out blues man with incredible versatility. His 'Blues For Greenie' was as near Peter Green as possible. Here, in 2007, he takes on Hendrix numbers. From the opening riffs of 'Purple Haze' I had to blink...
Published 22 months ago by ACB (swansea)

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing.
This is not the best from GM - the vocals are not well delivered, the guitar work is good - better than most - but below his usual very high standard. For fans only.
Published 10 months ago by F. Holden


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Suberb and Fitting Tribute To Jimi, 25 Sep 2012
By 
ACB (swansea) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blues For Jimi [DVD] [2012] [NTSC] (DVD)
There has only been one Jimi Hendrix and one Gary Moore. Moore was a listener and learner who was clearly influenced by both Jimi and also Peter Green. He was an out and out blues man with incredible versatility. His 'Blues For Greenie' was as near Peter Green as possible. Here, in 2007, he takes on Hendrix numbers. From the opening riffs of 'Purple Haze' I had to blink to believe what was coming out of his guitar - so much like Jimi. Gary had clearly absorbed Jimi's technique and had his guitar tuned to mimic that of the legend. During this and the tracks that follow, Gary plays in the style of Jimi and produces a similar sound and tone. Sustained notes, controlled feedback, note-bending string use, strong tremolo vibrato, frugal use of the Wha-Wha pedal, crashing crescendo chords, they're all here. Allied to Gary's lightening fast fingers the package is near-on perfect.

The vocals are not Gary's strongest point on this recording but his phrasing is in keeping with Jimi's. 'Manic Depression', Foxey Lady', 'The Wind Cries Mary' and 'I Don't Live Today' display all of the Hendrix trademarks with emphasis on the tremolo, hands off feedback with masterly solos. 'Angel' slows the pace and is played as the beautiful number should be with a bit more of Gary's individuality coming through. 'Fire' is tackled at pace following the original's pattern.

Enter Billy Cox and Mitch Mitchell. The three of them only met and played the night before the concert. Despite lack of rehearsal time it was a pleasure to see and hear them perform. 'Red House' had Billy Cox sharing vocals with Gary and playing laid back bass with Mitch drumming sedately. This number is made for Gary. His guitar solo is long, bluesy, and a show case for his skills. He uses the wah-wah pedal for the first time with dramatic effect. It almost develops into a jamming session, controlled and impressive. Billy takes vocals on 'Stone Free' with an animated Mitch catching the ear with the cowbell. The first hit of 'The Experience', 'Hey Joe' is again played as Jimi would surely have liked, loosening up in the later stages and Gary's vocal sounding at times remarkably like Tim Rose.

The excellent Dave Bronze (bass) and Darrin Mooney (drums) return for the finale, 'Voodoo Child (Slight Return)'. Gary Moore bursts into the number with Hendrix-like stunning echo and masterfully effective use of the wah-wah pedal. His solo is another striking success. He even plays a few notes with his teeth!

A first-rate accolade to the great Jimi Hendrix played with the stamp of Gary Moore. I can't think of anyone who could have done this better. It has taken the Hendrix Foundation nearly 5 years to release this. We have lost Mitch Mitchell aged 61 (2008) and Gary Moore aged 58 (2011) since this concert. They will be long remembered too. Cannot recommend this highly enough. Sound and camera work are excellent (to me).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Masters tribute to THE Master, 26 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blues For Jimi [DVD] [2012] [NTSC] (DVD)
Having been a Hendrix and Moore fan for years, I would of loved to have attended this performance in person. So when it was announced the dvd/cd would be released I counted down the days. My dvd and cd arrived yesterday as promised at a great price so firstly a big thumbs up again to Amazon. After watching and listening to both formats I think it is clear that Gary was paying homage to one of his heroes. I have seen many guitarists perform Hendrix songs, some fail, some succeed but they usually put their spin on it. If you are a Hendrix fan or a guitar player you will understand just how good Gary's tribute is. His touch, tone, techniques are all out of Jimi's armoury. Then in places Gary adds some of his FIRE..you are left with perfection. I believe Gary wanted to pay tribute to Jimi.. not out do him. Afterall Gary was a fan.. If you are a Hendrix fan, a Moore fan or a player this dvd/cd will blow you away. I read recently the Rolling Stone mag printed a list of the best 100 guitarists.. Gary did not make the list. Show me 100 BETTER guitarists than Gary Moore ?????? I know if Jimi, SRV and Gary are jamming in heaven, I bet they've blown the pearly gates off the hinges.
3 more legends taken too early
Buy both formats and plug in your air guitar
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love wailing electric guitars? then get this., 24 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I received this Blu-Ray this morning, and have been lucky enough to watch it this afternoon. The picture quality is average, but given the length of time it has taken to get to disc it was probably not originally intended for release. The audio is excellent on my surround system (Onkyo and Kef) and as I am more interested in the sound than visuals for this type of disc, I have no complaints whatsoever. I have always been a Moore fan, and am very impressed with his take on the Hendrix classics on this disc. Loads of wah wah, wailing/screaming guitars and controlled feedback. Listen with the volume up and immerse yourself in nostalgia. If you are a Moore or Hendrix fan you need this disc. It was especially good value as I pre-ordered at 2.00 less than the current price!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gary Moore.....superb as ever., 28 Sep 2012
By 
BobM (South East England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blues For Jimi [DVD] [2012] [NTSC] (DVD)
I have some of Mr Moores material on CD and DVD and rate him as one of the very best guitarists ever...
His death was a loss as I feel sure he had many more years ahead of him.
This concert, although not long, is excellent.
His 2 backing musicians for the concert are top draw, and when Gary is joined by 2 of the members of Hendrix's original band, does it come alive! Wow.
This concert is exceptional and I recommend it very highly. Not just for Moore fans but for everyone who likes rock and blues music, particularly guitar playing that is exceptional.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fine tribute by one fine guitarist to another and granted an enjoyable recording to match, 2 Oct 2012
By 
I. Giles (Argyll, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This recording was made in what seem to be almost informal conditions at the London Hippodrome in 2007. The informality is underlined, not only by Gary's pleasantly laid-back approach to the audience and to his own performance, but also because of the frequent sights of the recording technicians behind the players but still 'in shot'. Rumour has it that this recording was made more as a private recording for Gary rather than as a full-blown commercial venture. If this really was a non-commercial venture initially then we can count ourselves very lucky indeed that it was made, that it is as good as it is technically and that it has been released for general consumption.

Gary was one of the finest guitarists of his generation and had a particularly high regard for the work of Jimi Hendrix. It is arguable that he was probably the only guitarist capable of such a tribute at the time and what we are able to share here is an absolutely authentic Hendrix sound but with the added advantage of a far superior recording quality than was possible in Jimi's own lifetime.

The concert starts with the iconic Purple Haze then works its way through a further 12 numbers before Gary concludes with the comment that he doesn't know any more to perform! We should not complain as this is a generous selection running for some 74 minutes and delivers high musical quality throughout. The style of performance is that of modest concentration demonstrating Gary Moore's obvious personal respect for the music of Hendrix. Two members of the Jimi Hendrix Experience, Mitch Mitchell on drums and Billy Cox on guitar, join Gary for a couple of numbers towards the end. No-one would guess that this was achieved with the minimum of rehearsal time.

In conclusion therefore, this is a fine tribute to one ground-breaking guitarist by another fine guitarist and which is presented simply and modestly and with obvious respect and enjoyment. The recording is visually fine enough to convey the atmosphere of the occasion and is presented in an enjoyable quality of both DTS surround and stereo sound. It should give followers of both Jimi Hendrix and Gary Moore great satisfaction and on that basis, this unique concert can safely be suggested as an attractive proposition for purchase.

............................................

Some dialogue from the comments section that may offer further help:

I thought that you might like to know that before I buy a recording I now look through all the reviews to see if you have posted one. Your assessments and opinions are invaluable. Thank you. (US review)

I particularly like your format of review. They give the prospective purchaser an idea of the style of the playing and relevant comparisons. They are succinct. Keep up the good work! (UK review)

I'm sure there are many other serious collectors, besides myself, who wait for your synopsis and opinion before spending their hard-earned money on new releases...
Thank you (UK review)

I'd also add to this. When you in particular review a particular CD, I pay pretty close attention. I would say the characteristics of your reviews I value the most are the detail and general sense of balance and fairness that comes across. That's a great help. Thanks for taking the time on your reviews. (US review)

............................................
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As near as you are gonna get, 18 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I approached this Blu Ray with some trepidation, as a big Jimi Hendrix fans from the 60s when I was lucky enough to see Jimi live on several occasions. I also admire Gary Moore for his techniques, but know that he does sometimes thrash to the max (beyond eleven!).
But fear not, this turns out to be a fitting display of near Hendrix as we are now likely to see. Performed before a crowd of Music Business hacks (some who unfortunately came with thier preconceptions and got short shfit from GM), to promote the release of the `JImi Hendrix Plays Monterey` Blu Ray. We are given a masterclass of all the sounds and skills of JH but without (too much) excess from Moore. Gary Moore manages to play almost note for note some quintessenetial sounds by Jimi H, in a live performance that may make some Gary M detractors think again. The sound is superb, the grimacing not too overwhelmming and what a performance! By the end of the show even the die hard hacks had come around to this selection of delights.
This Blu Ray serves to show what losses the passing of these two superb artists has brought us. Recommended for both sets of fans and music lovers everywhere. Fly on sweet angels . . .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Awesome Tribute To The The Greatest Guitarist Ever!!, 24 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a superb tribute to Jimi Hendrix from one of the U.K's greatest ever guitarists with the Jim Hendrix band!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for any GM fan, 7 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of the few guitarists around who could tackle Hendrix's stuff - and excel; this is as close as it gets. Every note played with feeling in Hendrix's style, and when it's called for tons of power - something iv'e come to expect of GM this past 35 years or so!
The most underated guitarist on the planet both from a technical and compositional viewpoint; there again he seemed to shun the limelight of the music industry, and never promoted himself(nor was promoted); instead he just concentrated on his playing and performance, always working hard to improve his technique. Unfortunately, we will never see the likes of him and his playing again in this generation; so we must enjoy the legacy of his music.
The DVD picture quality and sound was certainly acceptable on my basic system. I'm sure I will be playing this for many years to come.
So go on......get yourselves a copy of this masterpiece of playing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Concert...., 10 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blues For Jimi [DVD] [2012] [NTSC] (DVD)
It's 2007 and, to commemorate the release of the 'Jimi Hendrix At Monterey' DVD, in England they get the late, great Gary Moore to play a whole set of Hendrix covers, the majority with his own 3 piece, but with Billy Cox and Mitch Mitchell, from Jimi's own band, for a few on what would be a spectacular night.

Gary's tone is spectacular and his own; he tips his hat to the great master but also allows his own skills on the fretboard to shine through.

Pity it was only 75 mins long.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This guy ..... wow!, 24 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blues For Jimi [DVD] [2012] [NTSC] (DVD)
I'm a big fan of Mr Moore. I love his playing. I love his playing on this DVD. I love his passion and his integrity. This is a very good DVD indeed. There's a lot of debate about who the best blues guitarist of all time is and I don't know the answer. All I know is that I've seen a lot of lists with a lot of names on them that don't compare to this man. If you like him, buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blues For Jimi [DVD] [2012] [NTSC]
Blues For Jimi [DVD] [2012] [NTSC] by Gary Moore (DVD - 2012)
9.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews