Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Absolute Delight !, 23 Mar 2010
By 
Fergal Woods "Axe Victim" (Leitrim, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the debut disc by Hebridean singer Julie Fowlis and if, like me, you thought of these islands as being a bleak and harsh environment and you expected traditional music from there to reflect this, then be prepared for a shock ! This is a record of quite beguilingly beautiful music which will brighten up any day.

My first introduction to Ms. Fowlis came via the outstanding "Trans-Atlantic Sessions" where she frequently steals the show. She has a very lovely voice and she has the benefit here of wonderful production courtesy of Iain McDonald. Many of the songs are upbeat which was an unexpected bonus, and Julie varies things nicely with a few instrumental tunes where she plays whistles and small pipes. The arrangements are aided by the high quality of session players like John Doyle (guitar) and Iain McDonald (flute and pipes) in addition to John McCusker's fiddle and cittern playing.

Fowlis sings all her songs in Scots Gaelic but translations and info on each song is provided in the notes. The last track (which translates as "In Praise of Uist") was written by a neighbour (they must be all gifted up there!) is sung unaccompanied and is a beautiful song. There are a variety of moods but overall this is extremely optimistic music easily up to the standards of the above-mentioned TV series. I recommend this enthusiastically and the only reason it's not getting 5 stars is because her next two releases even surpass this one ! Fowlis is a major artist and is well worthy of a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great album from this marvellous Gaelic singer., 30 Jan 2014
By 
Michael Wadge (Bristol England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: MAR A THA MO CHRIDHE(AS MY HEART IS) (Audio CD)
I have already acquired all of her other albums and this is her first one. Perhaps, my favourite is still her one called "Uam" (from me), but this is very good and well illustrates both her marvellous singing quality and and also her instrumental skills. I have seen her perform live on a number of occasions and have also been able to have a chat with her. She came across as a very pleasant and unassuming girl and deserves all the considerable acclaim she has received, despite almost always singing in a language which is spoken by a comparatively small number of people and certainly not by me!

Well worth purchasing this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Joy and Soulful Melancholy Unbounded, 21 Jan 2011
By 
Julie Fowlis' mesmerising combination of a voice as pure and crystal as a mountain stream, boundless musical vitality and a band of equally talented and impassioned musicians will forcefully seduce you into love of Gaelic song. This Queen of the Western Isles conveys her passionate love of her traditional music, singing in her native tongue. This adds to the charm and intensity of the music - no need to know that (perhaps) in translation the lyrics may be less than gorgeous (or of course, they may be pure poetry - us non-Gael speakers will never know)

And............if you fall for this gorgeous music and want to hear Julie and the musicians live, well rest assured they are no studio bound geniuses, falling apart on the live stage - far from it, the experience of a live concert exceeds the recordings a hundred fold. She does seem to tour quite regularly, and if you run juliefowlis followed by a dot and a com you will find her website with tour dates. Me, I'm definitely booking her next live event. See you there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hebridean celtic/gaelic folk music, 27 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: MAR A THA MO CHRIDHE(AS MY HEART IS) (Audio CD)
Celtic/Gaelic folk.
Bought this as a treat to myself for Christmas
Hopefully people are starting to appreciate this kind of music and the talented and gifted Julie.
Lovely melodic sounds
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ace, 30 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: MAR A THA MO CHRIDHE(AS MY HEART IS) (Audio CD)
My cousin Julie what an artist she is really an outstnading musician and so talented, worth going to see if you can
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars angelic words, 2 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: MAR A THA MO CHRIDHE(AS MY HEART IS) (Audio CD)
It is perhaps something of a cliche to describe someone as possessing the voice of an angel, but Julie Fowlis s

urely.deserves the accolade. Her pure vocals compensate for those who can make little of the Gaelic language which is her native tongue. In any language, her songs are things of untainted beauty which create calmness and contentment for those listeners who are content to sit back, after perhaps a stressful day, and listen. I compare her voice to that of the young Joan Baez,and I hope you will too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pleasure in any language, 7 Mar 2012
Julie is a fantastic singer and is fully complemented by her studio guests.

This album is a must for who enjoy, folk at its best and in any language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Always sublime, 18 Sep 2011
By 
J. B. Egan "ridgeway" (somerset, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
So glad I caught up with this first album by Julie Fowlis. I think I've listened to all her albums in the reverese order of release. Anyway I've just been so impressed with them all. Her voice is sublime and the musicanship beautiful.I can only endorse what previous reviewers have said. Buy all her albums and be enchanted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mar A Tha Mo Chridhe (As My Heart Is) Julie Fowlis, 5 Feb 2013
By 
Mr. John Holt (Nottinghamshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am a great lover of Celtic music and I had never heard of Julie Fowlis until she was included in the soundtrack of the film "Brave". She sounds a great performer and no doubt I will be recording more of her in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

MAR A THA MO CHRIDHE(AS MY HEART IS)
MAR A THA MO CHRIDHE(AS MY HEART IS) by Julie Fowlis (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews