Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb
Tonus Peregrinus don't seem to have made that many recordings, but what they have done spans over 800 years of (mostly) sacred music from the late 12th century works of Leonin & Perotin through to the ultra modern compositions of Arvo Pärt.

There are several other recordings of Eton Choirbook material - but this beats the Christ Church Oxford and indeed...
Published on 18 Sep 2012 by E. L. Wisty

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tonus Peregrinus.
Any recording of the stunningly beautiful Eton Choirbook must be welcomed - particularly when the artists move away from those few pieces that have been recorded over and over again and into territory not previously recorded - as here. My only gripe is that there is some seriously weird and unattractive interpretation of musica ficta in the Browne Stabat Mater.
Published 20 months ago by Charles


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 18 Sep 2012
By 
E. L. Wisty "World Domination League" (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Eton Choirbook (Tonus Peregrinus) (Naxos: 8.572840) (Audio CD)
Tonus Peregrinus don't seem to have made that many recordings, but what they have done spans over 800 years of (mostly) sacred music from the late 12th century works of Leonin & Perotin through to the ultra modern compositions of Arvo Pärt.

There are several other recordings of Eton Choirbook material - but this beats the Christ Church Oxford and indeed even the Tallis Scholars recordings. (I haven't as yet heard any of the five discs by The Sixteen.)

The sound quality is truly superb, capturing and preserving the clarity of individual lines and timbre of voices. The booklet notes indicate that experimental microphones were employed in the recording - the experiment can certainly be regarded as a success.

The choice of material is to be applauded - two Magnificats, one Stabat Mater, the motet Nesciens Mater, a St Matthew Passion (the earliest such polyphonic composition from a named composer to have survived, albeit incompletely), and a grandiose 13-part canonical piece Jesus Autem Transiens/Credo In Deum.

The booklet provides notes on the Choirbook and the pieces here, on the recording technique, on each of the individual performers, plus full Latin sung texts with translations. Director Anthony Pitts in the notes remarks "This recording is perhaps the jewel in the crown of our Naxos series of 'milestones of Western music'" - a not unjustifiable boast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heavenly Choirs, 9 Sep 2012
By 
S. Ahmad (Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Eton Choirbook (Tonus Peregrinus) (Naxos: 8.572840) (Audio CD)
Apart from some rather dreary, sombre, plainchant? which is to be expected in this kind of devotional, church music, there is no question that most of the music is utterly beautiful. No matter whether you are religious or not, if you love and appreciate beautiful singing - of any kind - you will want this album. It deserves more than 5 stars - but I will be buying a few more copies for Christmas presents - in my book, effectively giving it 6 stars! £5.98? The price of a magazine which you throw away. This will give you lasting pleasure. I bought this particular version because I heard the last track played on Radio 3, and thought I had never heard such beautiful singing in my life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tonus Peregrinus., 30 Mar 2013
This review is from: The Eton Choirbook (Tonus Peregrinus) (Naxos: 8.572840) (Audio CD)
Any recording of the stunningly beautiful Eton Choirbook must be welcomed - particularly when the artists move away from those few pieces that have been recorded over and over again and into territory not previously recorded - as here. My only gripe is that there is some seriously weird and unattractive interpretation of musica ficta in the Browne Stabat Mater.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Competitive field, 20 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Eton Choirbook (Tonus Peregrinus) (Naxos: 8.572840) (Audio CD)
The book holds is own in the face of the plethora of publications on the subject. The author has researched his subject well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning!, 30 Nov 2012
By 
James A. Hicken (Northants England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Eton Choirbook (Tonus Peregrinus) (Naxos: 8.572840) (Audio CD)
This is a very special CD. I heard some of it on Radio 3 and wanted more. I will treasure this for ever
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review, 28 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Eton Choirbook (Tonus Peregrinus) (Naxos: 8.572840) (Audio CD)
This was bought as a present after reading about it in a magazine. Hopefully it was a good choice for my brother.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Eton Choirbook (Tonus Peregrinus) (Naxos: 8.572840)
The Eton Choirbook (Tonus Peregrinus) (Naxos: 8.572840) by Tonus Peregrinus (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews