Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars245
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 January 2014
Fabulous, gripping writing as all the Dan Shepherd series is. Stephen Leather pulls you in from the very first page as Dan starts out in another undercover role and he cleverly weaves in several storylines a which of course all come to a tense, fast finale.
11 comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2012
I like the Spider Shepherd character a lot James Bondish with attitude. The beginning of the Spider series was great - loved the way the characters developed - Mr. Leather spins a good yarn. However as the series continues the stories become increasingly similar and predictable - with some right wing themes that the readers of the Daily Mail will feel right at home with! Is all good boys own adventures with some light weight current news events woven into the plot for good measure - nothing too taxing - good escapism. Will I read another - more than likely, but it's getting to the point where Spider needs to hang up his running boots - perhaps Jimmy Sharpe could take more of a central role - now there's a gritty colourful character I would like to read more of with a good dose of non PC.
0Comment4 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2012
A disappointing effort almost totally lacking in pace the only real excitement is right at the end. I had hoped Shepherd, the main character, was shedding his touchy feely attitudes, sadly he seems to still be suffering from the delusion that the people trying to kill you have rights. Muslim terrorism, or any other sort of terrorism for that matter, is a cancer and even in fiction should be dealt with in a robust manner.
I rather think that in the race with Jack Reacher, Lee Child's creation, Dan Shepherd would be more comfortable in the kindergarten.
I re-read the Tunnel Rats and The Chinaman recently, both excellent stories, so what has gone wrong Mr Leather?
33 comments8 of 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2014
The plot, as with all Leather's books, trips along at a good pace. It's a well written, well researched thriller, with a situation that could be only too real. After a couple of less well written stories, Leather has returned to form
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2013
I've read all of Stephen Leather's Spider Shepherd books. This is one of the best! It does help that a lot of the action is based in London. I do like books that use landscapes I'm familiar with. A definite recommendation!
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2013
I've read many of Stephen Leather's books, they are always a good all action read
There is sufficient of a mixed story to keep you intrigued all the way through the book
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2014
Have read most of his books. And am not disappointed with this one.
Strictly speaking I should have read these in chronological order - but not a major problem anyway.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2014
Enjoyed it. As always it was a good read, it was current with its topic and raised issues that if you can look beyond the story line are important and worth thinking about.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2014
Always has me wanting to Finnish the book. So I can start the next one.
Each story has its own twists an turns but stays in the Same style as the first book.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2013
One of Stephen Leathers best Spider Shepherd stories. Right wing fanatics and religious fanatics. Great stories. Looking forward to what Spider gets up to next
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse