Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Inside information helps, possibly
I 'won' this book at the Orcrime 2012 festival (but had already put it on my wishlist) and I read it immediately. Perhaps hearing Denise Mina talk about the problems and development of this book enabled me to be sympathetic to the point of not noticing any disjointedness, and accepting the brief appearance of Paddy Meehan, but ultimately I was left with a considerable...
Published 21 months ago by Sandra Davies

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing and disjointed
I love Denise Mina's books, particularly the Paddy Meehan series. THey are succinct, form an interesting narrative and always make sense. THis one though, feels very much like a Part 1 and I don't appreciate paying this amount of money for a part 1 and waiting 18 months for the next chapter. Its shoddy editing, and alot if it makes no sense. It feels like a third of the...
Published 22 months ago by The Asp


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable thriller, 16 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gods and Beasts (Alex Morrow 3) (Kindle Edition)
I haven't read any other Alex Morrow books by Denise Mina. This was a credible thriller with some neat twists which I enjoyed and there are some nice touches of humour. I enjoyed some of her other novels more eg Sanctum and Garnethill which I why 4 stars not 5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping from the start, 3 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gods and Beasts (Alex Morrow 3) (Kindle Edition)
A very unexpected ending with lots of twists along way. Hard hitting and difficult to put down. Second Denise Mina I've read and will now read other titles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved this book - so much better than her earlier stuff, 31 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Denise Mina is a good crime writer - if you like twists and turns in a story then this is for you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Ok read, 25 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gods and Beasts (Alex Morrow 3) (Kindle Edition)
A little disappointed with this book. Have enjoyed most of her other books.
Found it a bit boring in parts.
The previous characters were in it from her other novels so I expected a real page turner especially for the price of this e book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 3.5 Stars. Absorbing Crime Fiction Read, 9 Aug 2012
By 
Susie B - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gods and Beasts (Alex Morrow 3) (Kindle Edition)
We are in a post office in Glasgow and among the people in the queue are Martin Pavel, a heavily tattooed young man, and a smartly dressed elderly man, with his small grandson. When an armed man suddenly enters the post office, the elderly man quickly hands his grandson to Martin. Surprised by this, Martin then notices that the elderly man and the armed robber appear to recognize each other. The gunman calmly tells the man to help him with the robbery and Martin is surprised by the elderly man's acquiescence. As the gunman goes to leave the building, he turns to the elderly man and shoots him several times at point blank range, causing absolute carnage all around them. Meanwhile, DC Tamsin Leonard and DC Wilder, both worried about losing their jobs if they do not improve their conviction rate, pull over a young guy driving a very expensive car. When they search the boot they find a large amount of cash in used notes and suddenly find themselves facing a dilemma. Tamsin's female partner has been undergoing very costly fertility treatment and Wilder is finding it difficult to pay his mortgage; the cash is untraceable and who, if they decide to keep it, could prove they took it? And running alongside the two previous stories, there is the story of Kenny Gallagher, a left-winged politician who, after reading allegations about himself and a young female colleague in a tabloid newspaper, decides to sue the newspaper - even though the allegations appear to be true. (No spoilers here - we learn all of this, and more, very early on in the novel).

Enter DS Alex Morrow, recently returned to work after the birth of her twins and keen to show that motherhood has not taken the edge off her determination and ambition, who is assigned the task of investigating the armed robbery and murder. Alex is perplexed by Martin Pavel's statement as there are things that do not quite make sense in his story and to complicate matters further, under her command are the two detective constables, Leonard and Wilder, whose ability to carry out their jobs is undermined by blackmail threats. And then there is her half-brother, Danny McGrath, who has links to the Glasgow underworld and also with Kenny Gallagher. So we have three interesting plotlines - but how are they connected and can the author bring them all together in an effective conclusion? I shall leave that for prospective readers to discover along with the rest of the story - and there is a lot more to this story than I have revealed in this review.

I do not read a lot of crime fiction but feeling like reading something with a little grit to it, I downloaded this novel onto my Kindle and it certainly fitted the bill. There were, naturally, some very unpleasant incidents which I found uncomfortable reading, but overall I found this a rather cleverly plotted story that made for a fairly absorbing read. Although there is quite a large cast of unlikeable individuals in this story, they are not all clichéd or stereotyped characters and Mina shows that some of her protagonists are seemingly ordinary people with mortgages to pay and children to rear - they just happen to be involved with some rather nasty incidents where the demarcation lines between good and evil can sometimes become blurred. I notice that Denise Mina won the prestigious Crime Novel of the Year Award for her last book:The End of the Wasp Season so when I feel the need for some gritty crime fiction, I might just take a look at that one too - but it won't be very soon because I want to read something more pleasant now!

3.5 Stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A difficult book., 13 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gods and Beasts (Alex Morrow 3) (Kindle Edition)
Unpleasant, disjointed and almost unreadable. In fact I gave it up half way through and will probably delete it from my Kindle
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pedestrian thriller, 14 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gods and Beasts (Alex Morrow 3) (Kindle Edition)
Poor plot and I didn't care for any of the characters. Ian Rankin writes a much more convincing tale. Read him first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fine Story, 22 Feb 2013
By 
This review is from: Gods and Beasts (Hardcover)
Since the publication of her first novel Garnethill in 1998, Denise Mina has been one of the leading lights in contemporary Scottish crime fiction, producing a string of consistently high-quality works featuring strong female characters and painting a vivid picture of the dark side of Glasgow.

In this, her tenth novel, Mina is at the top of her game, and weaves together the various threads of the story with contrapuntal skill that Bach would have been proud of. A grandfather - who turns to have been a life-long communist and stalwart of the trade union movement - gunned down in the course of a robbery in a post office in Glasgow's West End; police officers sailing close to the wind in their dealings with the local drugs lords; a misogynistic left-wing politician - Kenny Gallagher - pressured by his wife to sue a tabloid newspaper for printing stories about his sex-life that he knows to be true; and DI Alex Morrow, recently returned to work after giving birth to twins, whose brother Danny is himself a shady character from Glasgow's underworld. What's the connection between them?

Gods and Beasts is perhaps Mina's strongest novel so far.

ALEX MILLER
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Vaguely sinister", 30 Jun 2013
By 
Keris Nine - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
You can tell from the origin of the title alone that Denise Mina's has literary ambitions far beyond regular crime fiction set in Glasgow. The title is drawn from Aristotle - "Those who live outside the city walls, and are self-sufficient, are either Gods or Beasts" and the novel is indeed less concerned with crime investigation than the implications for everyone - criminals, police officers, the general public, innocent bystanders - who, like it or not, are caught up in this power struggle over who is going to come out on top. The implication of course is that it's not so easy to tell the Gods and the Beasts apart, but that's about the only thing you can take for granted in this remarkable book.

There's not a single cliche in Denise Mina's writing. It gets beyond the conventions of regular crime fiction and finds a way to get to the bigger truths that lie behind it. There are no stock characters here either - police officers, gangland criminals, single mums, sleazy politicians (well ok, an honest politician would be more of a novelty, but hardly realistic) - everyone has a complex inner lives and unexpected connections and relations with people from other walks of life. It's in how Mina draws those together through three interrelated events that Gods and Beasts goes way beyond the crime investigation to individual psychological make-up and the sociological questions it raises about the incidence and the nature of crime in modern society.

There's a phrase used right at the very end of the book, when one of the characters, believing he has survived an attempt to topple him from his position of power (or at least his deluded ideal of self-importance), suddenly recognises that there is something "vaguely sinister" about his position now. Mina's writing achieves this throughout 'Gods and Beasts', constantly confounding reader expectations by focussing on smaller indefinable details or throwing in a turn of phrase that nonetheless has unsettling implications. Opening up a can of worms, if you like, but you'd never catch Denise Mina using a phrase like that. This is terrific writing, starkly original, constantly surprising, ambitious and literate, but at the same time still strong, entertaining crime fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Managed to get through this in just a couple of days., 22 Jun 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (London, England.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gods and Beasts (Alex Morrow 3) (Kindle Edition)
This felt much faster paced than the previous book. It had me gripped. I loved the way that what felt like loose ends from the previous books just turned out to be ongoing story arcs - something these share with the Paddy Meehan series. The ending left me wondering what she was setting us up for in the next Alex Morrow tale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gods and Beasts (Alex Morrow 3)
5.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews