Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good debut, perhaps a bit OTT on the red herrings
Gatecrasher is a solid financial crime thriller, with murder, politics and the London gangland thrown into the mix.

The author works in financial services, which clearly provides a basis for the plot (those elements are far more simplistic than they would be in reality, but the idea is there) and some well developed, if a bit cliche, characters feature...
Published 8 months ago by Chris

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Competent thriller
This is one of those enjoyable books where the hero - - Campbell in this case - stumbles into a dangerous situation completely by accident. As you might guess from the title, here it's a chance gatecrasher to a party that starts the plot rolling. There is plenty of action and unexpected twists - I certainly didn't see the ending coming. If I only give it three stars it's...
Published 20 months ago by Reader by the sea


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good debut, perhaps a bit OTT on the red herrings, 1 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gatecrasher (Kindle Edition)
Gatecrasher is a solid financial crime thriller, with murder, politics and the London gangland thrown into the mix.

The author works in financial services, which clearly provides a basis for the plot (those elements are far more simplistic than they would be in reality, but the idea is there) and some well developed, if a bit cliche, characters feature.

Pacing is good with the action never letting up and twists right until the final pages. The one downside is that everything is written as a red herring, which in the end is counter productive as they are so clearly signposted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking read, 20 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gatecrasher (Kindle Edition)
A well written tale that draws you into its plot twists and turns, right from the start.
Low life gangsters, wide boy city traders, M15 and a government minister are all drawn in.
Great stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Will Robert Young eventually become the "King of red herrings?", 2 Oct 2012
This review is from: Gatecrasher (Kindle Edition)
Sir Walter Scott wrote, "Oh! What tangled web we weave when first we practice to deceive."

Robert Young's debut novel, Gatecrasher, kept me tangled in the complex web of betrayal, deceit, greed, theft, kidnapping and murder. Although there are many characters in Gatecrasher, Young's writing was such that helped me keep track of the many characters involved without ever asking, who is this character.

I have to wonder if Young will eventually become known as the "King of Red Herrings." The book has several "red herrings" and like Rowling's huge "red herring," Snape, in the Harry Potter series, Young has his own special "red herring."

The characters in Gatecrasher come to life through physical description, unique voice, actions and their thoughts. Working in financial service probably gave Young his eye for detail in financial analyses, especially as the main character, Daniel Campbell said, "...if you know where to look."

While the ending of many novels can be predictable, Young's ending will slap you hard across the face.

For a debut novel, I have to give Gatecrasher 5 stars. As an upcoming author, Robert Young is one to watch and I look forward to reading his next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Competent thriller, 4 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gatecrasher (Kindle Edition)
This is one of those enjoyable books where the hero - - Campbell in this case - stumbles into a dangerous situation completely by accident. As you might guess from the title, here it's a chance gatecrasher to a party that starts the plot rolling. There is plenty of action and unexpected twists - I certainly didn't see the ending coming. If I only give it three stars it's because I got confused between the various bad guys, and the writing was a bit hackneyed in places. However, I would definitely look out for this author in future and would be interested to see what he comes up with next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gatecrasher (Kindle Edition)
Good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars a new author with potential..., 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gatecrasher (Kindle Edition)
It was a good idea and I thought the scene was set perfectly. The book started well and although it is a very minor detail - I was never quite convinced that a young, modern, bloke that works in the City in financial services would have an actual address book (most guys would have all contact details of friends and family saved on their phone or computer) and this little anomaly kind of ruined the rest of the book for me. It was also hard to keep track of all the “baddies” as other reviewers have mentioned. But I do think the author has great potential
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Not for me, 29 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gatecrasher (Kindle Edition)
This book did not have any excitement and did not grip me at all. I struggled through it and am wondering why I bothered. This is not the type of book I would usually go for but I decided it looked interesting enough to try it, wrong!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Well written and competent thriller. Sorry but I just ..., 19 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gatecrasher (Kindle Edition)
Well written and competent thriller. Sorry but I just could not get into it the way it deserved. But dont let me put any one off giving it a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 5 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gatecrasher (Kindle Edition)
The story was interesting, and the plot moved along at a reasonable pace.
Like another reader I found the sheer number of bad guys difficult to keep track of at times, partly because they were not different enough. The main plot lines were clearer and I liked the twist at the end.
I would read another book by this author if the price was conducive, but wouldn't pay full price just yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bad, 12 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gatecrasher (Kindle Edition)
Didn't not enjoy this book at all, had to force myself to finish it. The story is hard to follow and drags on and on and on. The ending is awful and vague. Glad this book was free. Ok poo t of the story was really hard to follow and really confusing at times. Don't waste your time with this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gatecrasher
Gatecrasher by Robert Young
£1.18
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews