Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Debut, Excited For Sequel!
The story is very fast paced, the action barely slowing down even for a single chapter. Jeff clearly had a lot of ideas and a lot of plot to fit into this book to set a base for the series and to propel the action of this book forward. For the most part this worked, but there were times when it became a little hard to follow, some of it becoming a little convoluted...
Published on 4 Aug. 2012 by George Lester

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Metawars: Fight for the Future
Jeff Norton is a writer-director turned author who aimed to write a book for the current generation of teenagers obsessed with video games and living in a technology fuelled society. 'Metawars' is Norton's debut YA novel and is a roller coaster ride through a virtual world where people go to escape the humdrum existence of their real lives.

Elements of the...
Published on 22 Aug. 2012 by SJH @ A Dream of Books


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 19 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1: Fight for the Future (MetaWars) (Kindle Edition)
This is one of the best books that I have ever read. It has an amazing storyline and characters. This is one of my favourite series and they should be made in to films or tv series. It is a must buy!

I am just sad the the series has finished.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars perfect for thrill seeking YA, 16 April 2013
By 
K. D. Squire (Cheltenham, Gloucestershire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I love young adult science fiction, and meta wars is a journey all lovers of the genre should take. its packed full of action, designed in a creative way that leaves most of it to the imagination. Its perfect for those thrill seeking young adults and will be a great summer read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Un-put-downable!, 11 Aug. 2012
I took this on holiday for my son and we both loved it .. reading out loud to each other...very exciting and we changed loyalties between Guardians and Millenials at least 3 times as the plot twisted and turned! Looking forward to the next one...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book, 25 Aug. 2012
My 11 year old son loved this book. Once he started reading it he wouldn't stop! He liked that it was a new idea and had a strong storyline with two main characters from different backgrounds. He's already recommended it to friends at school.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 100 mile an hour thriller, 16 April 2013
By 
Cambridge Ian (Cambridge UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
My 13 year old read this inside a weekend and my 10 year old is now devouring it. More suitable for his age I think - set in the future but believable for my 2 boys.

Recommended. Bring on the sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, 26 July 2013
By 
Mrs. F. Huxley (Rugby, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Great pace and interesting characters. Its a page turner you don't want to put down once started and comes to fantastic climax. Hopefully the books that follow by this author keep this excellent writting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Action packed!, 12 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Metawars is non-stop, full-on excitement from beginning to end. An incredible debut for Jeff Norton, creating a compelling universe that will captivate readers young and old. Can't wait for part 2!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars NEW FRESH AUTHOR, 13 Aug. 2012
My 11 year old son has just read this book and I have to say that I'm happy to see that there is a new author out there who is prepared to write strong, challenging storylines for this age group.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fast-paced action thriller, 17 Feb. 2013
Non-stop from the start - couldn't put it down. A grim vision of the future for the planet. Great for young and not so young adults alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun, high tech action adventure - part 1, 3 Oct. 2012
By 
I Readalot (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
'Fight for the Future' is the first in Jeff Norton's 'Metawars' series with part 2 'The Dead are Rising' due to be published on 1st November. It is a fast paced action adventure, aimed primarily at the YA market but just like 'Twilight','Hunger Games' and numerous other YA books this one will be enjoyed by adults as well. It will appeal particularly to the video game generation, particularly those who play on-line games (MMORPG'S) - imagine that virtual reality has developed to such an extent that you plug yourself in and it feels like you are really there - that part reminds me of the 'Better Than Life' episode of Red Dwarf and as a big fan of the show that is high praise from me. Comparisons can also be made with the 'Matrix' and the action sequences are reminiscent of the 'Alex Rider' books from Anthony Horowitz, so if you, your son, daughter, whoever, have enjoyed those then 'Metawars' should be right up your street. The characters are well drawn and there is a vague hint of a romance between Jonah Delacroix and Sam, who provides the strong female lead.

The fight for the future is between the Millennials and the Guardians who have very different ideas as to who should have control of the Metasphere, a highly complex virtual world. The real world is falling apart, economies have either crashed or are crashing, hardly anyone drives a car any more as the fuel supply has all but run out, London buses have been converted to living accommodation and most people work in the Metasphere as there are very few jobs outside. It is a dystopian novel that actual does pose moral question which will be picked up by the reader. As to whose side I am on, I have to reserve judgement, there are many twists and changes of direction in this novel which are aimed to keep the reader guessing as to who is 'good' and who is 'bad', one minute you could be hoping for one side to prevail and the next you could be thinking 'hang on a minute, maybe he is right'. Throw Mr Chang into the mix and the lines become even more blurred and then taking into consideration that there are 3 more books to go, I honestly defy anyone to make a definitive decision by the end of this one.

I have to admit that I have met the author and he is a great guy, enthusiastic, approachable and with a very clear idea of what he hopes to achieve with this series. No pretensions to literary greatness but to use language to carry the story and the action forward to create a hard to put down novel that also makes the reader stop and think about the world we are creating (or destroying), I think he has succeeded. Would make a good film but I would prefer to see it as a TV series. If you enjoy action adventure stories, post-apocalyptic or dystopian fantasy then you should enjoy this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

1: Fight for the Future (MetaWars)
£3.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews