Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
its so bad and cheesy, its good. Can't take this film seriously, so much crap acting,i love it.
Published 1 month ago by p a j morris

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best Vampire Movie
This was a great shame, as I am a real fan of Rutger Hauer. There should have been more of him in the film. I am a big fan of vampires this one did not quite do it for me.
Published 17 months ago by Jane


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No climax., 14 April 2014
I'm a fan of Rutger Hauer, so imagine my disappointment when the man blazoned across the cover only appears for about a minute at the start. Another budget movie that hasn't exploited its potential.. the acting is questionable, the direction poor. Nothing really seems to happen.. there's no climax.. a bunch of bad people get bumped off and, once bitten by our vampire hero, burst into dodgy looking flames and vanish.. what? The opening credit sequence also tells the ENTIRE story. Watch the opening credits, bish bash bosh, save 90 minutes of your life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Solid two-star outing, 30 Dec 2013
This review is from: The Reverend [DVD] (DVD)
How anyone can award this movie 5-stars is bizarre. To me, 5-star films are few and far between and are reserved for cinematic excellence. The concept of excellence, can in no sane world, be attributed to this movie...the word adequate is nearer the mark.

If movies were cars, far from being a brand new, top of the range BMW 7 series, the Reverend would be an 8 yr old Fiat Panda with a dodgy clutch.....and like the Panda, the movie has trouble getting out of second gear. Watch once and then give it away. Pay no more than £1.50 for the movie (and that includes P&P).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best Vampire Movie, 10 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Reverend [DVD] (DVD)
This was a great shame, as I am a real fan of Rutger Hauer. There should have been more of him in the film. I am a big fan of vampires this one did not quite do it for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boring, 25 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Reverend [DVD] (DVD)
Proberly one of the worst vampire movies I've have ever seen. Really boring. It has no english text , and the sound on the dvd is also bad
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars low budget, daft and a bit rubbish, 26 Aug 2012
This review is from: The Reverend [DVD] (DVD)
Some low budget films manage to pull off unexpected success through a combination of charm and ingenuity- others, particularly for some reason 21st century British horror films- don't, and The Reverend is most certainly one of those.

How Rutger Hauer, Tamer Hassan and even Shane Ritchie got roped into this ridiculous cinematic outing is beyond me; I can only assume it was as a favour to the director or whatever, rather than for the money as the budget appears to be non-existent[don't be fooled by the billing either: Hauer and Ritchie only play short cameo roles].

So not even so bad it's good. The premise- a vicar is put through the trials of Job and [somehow] turns into a sort of vampire without the fangs- is daft but, one imagines, still with some potential in another film maker's hands... but not this one. In fact this film is almost as bad as The Wicker Tree, another recent low point in British horror. Thank God British horror-thrillers such as Eden Lake and The Reeds are keeping the flag flying.

So two stars instead of one, purely for the fact I watched it all the way through without reaching for the off buton, and for the only high point of the film, Shane Ritchie's five minute slot as a coke-fiend pimp, which actually is rather good :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 Oct 2014
its so bad and cheesy, its good. Can't take this film seriously, so much crap acting,i love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "..GOOD FUN HORROR..", 2 Sep 2012
By 
S. Drury "SDX-800" (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Reverend [DVD] (DVD)
This is a cheap straight to DVD British vampire horror movie based on a graphic novel, its actually pretty good fun I thought, the story is not that bad and plays out well, there is some good bloody gore effects nothing special just lots of blood splashing everywhere, the best thing I thought was the cast it kind of saves the film and makes you watch on, Stuart Brennan is good as the lead and his character is fun to watch progress as he turns into something evil, there is a good supporting cast of Tamer Hassan who plays his usual imposing hard man type, Doug Bradley as a reverend from another church, Shane Richie as a pimp who is pretty funny to watch and Emily Booth from the horror channel who looks very sexy as usual playing a whore. I think the movie will appeal to horror fans more than anything and if you like the collective cast you should have good fun with it. Rutger Hauer fans maybe a little disappointed as he appear in the first 5 minutes of the movie and thats it. There is a behind the scenes feature too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well done!, 6 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Reverend [DVD] (DVD)
I didnt really know what to expect with this film as I dont usually follow British indi films, but in the end, I got talked into watching it. To my surprise it was excellent! It has a very interesting story line, it is well shot, you never can go wrong with Rutger Hauer and the blond chick was hot! I loved it and recommend it. 5 Stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Low on budget but big on ideas and execution, 20 Aug 2012
By 
G. M. Dobbs "gmdobbs" (wales, uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Reverend [DVD] (DVD)
This is a great take on the vampire genre and by fusing the genre with a hard urban crime story we get a compelling movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good film, 12 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Reverend [DVD] (DVD)
First bit was very gory but excellent acting and I did enjoy the film on the whole. Not quite enough of Rutger Haur.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Reverend [DVD]
The Reverend [DVD] by Neil Jones (DVD - 2012)
£2.66
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews