Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Do you like Barenboims way of playing Beethoven or not? That is the question. His technic is superb. Sound quality is good.
It is very interesting to compare these early recordings with Barenboims later. This box is a bargain. CD sound quality is good but is a little light in the bass and a little shut in compared to the LPs.
Published 23 months ago by kkj

versus
26 of 39 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very good, but not perfect
Barenboim is a consummate artist and a complete pianist of the highest calibre. His understanding and knowledge of Beethoven is probably unsurpassed. Unfortunately in some of these interpretations of the sonatas he tends to overdo the contrasts between soft and loud.
Sadly a couple of the discs were faulty, particularly in the final sections of the discs.
I...
Published on 4 Nov. 2012 by Dr. John A. Fenney


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Do you like Barenboims way of playing Beethoven or not? That is the question. His technic is superb. Sound quality is good., 13 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beethoven: Complete Piano Sonatas (Audio CD)
It is very interesting to compare these early recordings with Barenboims later. This box is a bargain. CD sound quality is good but is a little light in the bass and a little shut in compared to the LPs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A surprise because DB often seems to fall short of great depth in therpretation and, 4 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beethoven: Complete Piano Sonatas (Audio CD)
Definite surprise here. I would say this is a must have if you are looking for a different take on the Beethoven Sonatas. A surprise because DB often seems to fall short of great depth in therpretation and, to be honest, this may still be the case here but he makes up for that with electric energy that is surely well suited to Beethoven.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent present for my husband - very early recording but ..., 23 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beethoven: Complete Piano Sonatas (Audio CD)
excellent present for my husband - very early recording but he is very pleased with this
good price and excellent present for a Beethoven fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Maestro presents another!, 6 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beethoven: Complete Piano Sonatas (Audio CD)
Beethoven has to be interpreted properly in order to be thoroughly understood and enjoyed.
Daniel Barenboim, in my opinion, understands and feels Beethoven. When one listens to and compares his interpretation of Beethoven with others', one realises the genius of his imagination!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Barenboim's earlier recordings, 22 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beethoven: Complete Piano Sonatas (Audio CD)
This is Daniel Barenboim's first recordings of the complete sonatas and is still as fresh and lively as it was when first recorded in the late 60's. For any lover of Betthoven these are a landmark set of recordings and a joy to listen to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very deep immersion into this encyclopaedia of Beethoven's music., 31 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beethoven: Complete Piano Sonatas (Audio CD)
Very deep immersion into this encyclopaedia of Beethoven's music. The interpretations to learn from. Unbelievable value for the money for the 10 CD set. However, I think the Barenboim's live DVD recording feels more natural and emotional.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 May 2015
By 
V. Fowler (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beethoven: Complete Piano Sonatas (Audio CD)
These recordings are quite beautiful - this would simply be my one desert island disc collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 39 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very good, but not perfect, 4 Nov. 2012
By 
Dr. John A. Fenney (Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beethoven: Complete Piano Sonatas (Audio CD)
Barenboim is a consummate artist and a complete pianist of the highest calibre. His understanding and knowledge of Beethoven is probably unsurpassed. Unfortunately in some of these interpretations of the sonatas he tends to overdo the contrasts between soft and loud.
Sadly a couple of the discs were faulty, particularly in the final sections of the discs.
I would normally have considered a five star rating, but owing to these faults, which are most irritating, I am obliged to award only three. Nevertheless, I would recommend the set as a very good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great music never grows old!, 12 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beethoven: Complete Piano Sonatas (Audio CD)
I already had good number of recordings of Beethoven's recordings, or rather his music on record! But until now I didn't have his piano sonatas. This is wonderful music and Daniel performs it perfectly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 July 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beethoven: Complete Piano Sonatas (Audio CD)
Excellent recordings of the most wonderful music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beethoven: Complete Piano Sonatas
Beethoven: Complete Piano Sonatas by Daniel Barenboim (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews