Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mine at last.
I borrowed a boxed set of LP,s of these recordings 25 years ago and have been on the lookout for asset ever since .I now have bode set of C D,s for next to nothing.Exciting recordings of a younger Barenboim,perhaps not as scholarly as his later recordings but very exciting.Buy and enjoy.
Published 5 months ago by Wheelytrev

versus
24 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very good, but not perfect
Barenboim is a consummate artist and a complete pianist of the highest calibre. His understanding and knowledge of Beethoven is probably unsurpassed. Unfortunately in some of these interpretations of the sonatas he tends to overdo the contrasts between soft and loud.
Sadly a couple of the discs were faulty, particularly in the final sections of the discs.
I...
Published 21 months ago by Dr. John A. Fenney


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mine at last., 23 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beethoven: Complete Piano Sonatas (Audio CD)
I borrowed a boxed set of LP,s of these recordings 25 years ago and have been on the lookout for asset ever since .I now have bode set of C D,s for next to nothing.Exciting recordings of a younger Barenboim,perhaps not as scholarly as his later recordings but very exciting.Buy and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius., 7 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beethoven: Complete Piano Sonatas (Audio CD)
Daniel Barenboim is Beethoven and here we have the most perfect marriage of genius the result is divine and as close to paradise as I shall ever get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Do you like Barenboims way of playing Beethoven or not? That is the question. His technic is superb. Sound quality is good., 13 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beethoven: Complete Piano Sonatas (Audio CD)
It is very interesting to compare these early recordings with Barenboims later. This box is a bargain. CD sound quality is good but is a little light in the bass and a little shut in compared to the LPs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very good, but not perfect, 4 Nov 2012
By 
Dr. John A. Fenney (Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beethoven: Complete Piano Sonatas (Audio CD)
Barenboim is a consummate artist and a complete pianist of the highest calibre. His understanding and knowledge of Beethoven is probably unsurpassed. Unfortunately in some of these interpretations of the sonatas he tends to overdo the contrasts between soft and loud.
Sadly a couple of the discs were faulty, particularly in the final sections of the discs.
I would normally have considered a five star rating, but owing to these faults, which are most irritating, I am obliged to award only three. Nevertheless, I would recommend the set as a very good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beethoven: Complete Piano Sonatas (Audio CD)
Superb playing, sublime music and an absolute bargain!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very deep immersion into this encyclopaedia of Beethoven's music., 31 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beethoven: Complete Piano Sonatas (Audio CD)
Very deep immersion into this encyclopaedia of Beethoven's music. The interpretations to learn from. Unbelievable value for the money for the 10 CD set. However, I think the Barenboim's live DVD recording feels more natural and emotional.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Maestro presents another!, 6 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beethoven: Complete Piano Sonatas (Audio CD)
Beethoven has to be interpreted properly in order to be thoroughly understood and enjoyed.
Daniel Barenboim, in my opinion, understands and feels Beethoven. When one listens to and compares his interpretation of Beethoven with others', one realises the genius of his imagination!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great music never grows old!, 12 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beethoven: Complete Piano Sonatas (Audio CD)
I already had good number of recordings of Beethoven's recordings, or rather his music on record! But until now I didn't have his piano sonatas. This is wonderful music and Daniel performs it perfectly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beethoven: Complete Piano Sonatas
Beethoven: Complete Piano Sonatas by Daniel Barenboim (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews