Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars169
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 February 2013
When driving one 3W LED, output was stable but unit had a high pitch buzz/squeal. Increasing the load to 2x3W caused the buzzing to stop, LED output is stable and flicker free. Since the internal wiring terminals are really only big enough for one cable, driving two LEDs had to be done with an external terminal block.

So best for a single load more than 3W.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2013
Just fitted this transformer and It works fine - one small niggle - one of the small terminal screws (the one that you put the cable into and clamp) was missing - so a bit of a pain hunting around for a replacement screw - hence the four stars rather than five.

UPDATE ordered second unit and that, like the first, works fine..... and no screw missing this time too.
FURTHER UPDATE - units are still working fine .....24/5/13
22 comments|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2014
Would definitely recommend! Great price and quality - purchased 3x. I used these to replace the original electronic transformers in the light fittings to ensure long life of the 6x 1.5W LED bulbs also purchased from Amazon (10xG4 24 Silicon LED EBuyled® 1.5W 12V DC Cool White - Also brilliant purchase!). Screw terminals very small but not a problem if you either use the existing wires from the old transformer or fit new ones with a screw terminal strip to the house wiring (wouldn't recommend attempting to fit the house grey 1mm T+E type cable directly to it). No problems with EMC interfering with radio reception few others have mentioned - I avoided the "active" LED bulbs (with inductor and switching regulator built in - identified by yellow capacitor on some other photos) to be on safe side, simple LED/Diode/Resistor passive ones are fine when you use a proper LED driver like this one anyway. On Prime too so next day delivery!
Well done Amazon and Safield Dist Ltd. first class product and service! :)
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2013
Easy to install as a replacement to use LED bulbs instead of halogens. The only observation is that it was difficult to fully close the cover again once the wires where attached. The standard two core cable+cover seems to be slightly too thick for the gaps, so you need to strip a little bit extra of the white outer sheathing away. Otherwise it is working well and was quickly delivered.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2014
These LED power supply units have functioned without a problem when powering 5.5W LED bulbs installed in kitchen downlighters. The switch on time is visually instantaneous, and there is no sign of flicker nor of hum. The switching frequency used does not affect any other apparatus I have in use at home. The only reason I have withheld a star is that I would have found it very useful to have mains in and out connections - I had to use an external connection block and an additional short length of cable to each transformer - it was straightforward, but it all takes time!
A single transformer could drive two 5.5 Watt bulbs, but the logistics of installing a new length of low voltage wire to the second lamp in the restricted ceiling space was too demanding. The unit cost is reasonable, so using six rather than three transformers was not too painful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2014
Purchased two of these to replace the old 12v transformers I had on my bathroom ceiling lights. The old ones were causing the occasional flicking on and off of my new LED bulbs as lots of old 12v transformers were for halogen bulbs and aren't designed for LED bulbs.

Running 1 x 6W Philips LED Master Bulb off each transformer as read online that whilst one of these units is rated for 12w it's not a good idea to run it right to the max with 2 x 6w bulbs. Plus there were already 2 of the older units in place, so made it replacing like for like and these are a great price too.

Easy job to swap over, even having to crawl into my half height loft to do it! Been in for a few weeks now and no more annoying problems with the LED bulbs flicking on and off. Problem solved.

Couldn't be happier. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2013
I bought this to work in conjunction with LED downlighters which were themselves a direct replacement for halogen bulbs.

The problem with swapping out low voltage halogen bulbs for LED equivalents is that the original driver transformers cause the LEDS to flicker.

The solution is to change the driver transformer to one of these low powered ones. I looked at others on the market and they were either too bulky or too expensive. This unit is an ideal compromise for both cost and size. In fact it is an excellent low profile unit, perfect for the lcoation in which it was mounted - a mirror with downlighters.

Just like the LED output, absolutely brilliant - pun intended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2014
I was bored replacing MR16 bulbs and I already knew the existing transformers wouldn't work so that left me with 7 transformers to replace. I wanted them to easily fit through the lighting hole, have no RF noise to damage things like wifi and not too expensive (but not ridiculously cheap).

Bought two of these to test and they're spot on. No noise I can detect and it drives my new 4W LED's without any problem. New LED's are as bright as the old 35W bulbs with 1/10th power consumption.

Wiring into the terminals is a bit tight - especially when you're on a ladder.

Been two weeks now without any issues so time to order the other 5 :-)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2015
Have been using this unit with four LED lights for about two weeks and it works fine.

For LED lights the transformer outputs need to be connected the correct way round, so look carefully for the + and - symbols. They are rather small but clear once you know they are there. Connect the red wire on the lights to the + terminal and the black wire to the - terminal.
The terminal block is quite small so it might be tricky connecting wires from several lights into it. If this is a problem consider using an external larger terminal block to join the lights together, with a single pair of wires going into the transformer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2014
When I replaced 15 halogen 20W MR11 bulbs with LED bulbs, the new bulbs flickered noticeably, even though the existing 12V (AC)transformers weren't very old. I used the Auraglow 12W LED driver to power 3 MR11 2W units, and they're now steady as a rock - not a hint of flicker.
So, it might be a nuisance to swap your old transformers (AC) for LED drivers (DC), but it'll be worth the modest cost. Also, depending on how your lights are wired, you may need many fewer drivers than you had transformers.
Remember that changing from 20W halogen to 2W MR11 bulbs will save 95% of running cost. Go ahead - buy with confidence!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 11 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)