Customer Reviews


117 Reviews
5 star:
 (94)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Of 2013's Highlights
Stumbled on episode 1, series 1 by accident (OK, I was channel hopping, I admit it) and immediately got hooked. It's like the Sopranos come to Norway. It's clever, witty and definitely, at times, non-PC, gently highlighting Norway's 'right on' PC culture. Steve Van Zandt is outstanding managing to convey menace whilst at the same time being laugh out loud funny. The...
Published 15 months ago by The Systemic Kid

versus
8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lilyhammer: good, but could have been better
The plot is quite predictable: underboss of New York Italian mafia, Frank Tagliano, is put in the witness protection program after testifying against his former boss; Frank chooses to hide in the small Norwegian town Lilyhammer because he followed the 1994 Winter Olympics on TV and liked the place. Obviously, his arrival will influence the town and change the life of its...
Published on 8 Feb. 2013 by Morgana


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Of 2013's Highlights, 28 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lilyhammer - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Stumbled on episode 1, series 1 by accident (OK, I was channel hopping, I admit it) and immediately got hooked. It's like the Sopranos come to Norway. It's clever, witty and definitely, at times, non-PC, gently highlighting Norway's 'right on' PC culture. Steve Van Zandt is outstanding managing to convey menace whilst at the same time being laugh out loud funny. The series is an absolute gem. I missed the last two episodes thanks to my wonderful Tivo box packing up so I bought the DVD. Series 2 is currently being screened but only on Netflix. If you want something different which is clever, funny and definitely original (when the Norwegians speak, they do so in Norwegian with subtitles in english), give Lilyhammer a go; you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars STOP! It's Lilyhammer time!, 23 Dec. 2013
By 
L. Tait (scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lilyhammer - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
So, once again, BBCFour have come up trumps with screening this latest foreign comedy export! Hot on the heels of the hapless Icelandic petrol pump attendants in Naeturvaktin, comes Lilyhammer, which follows the fortunes of a Brooklyn hardman wanted by the mafia, and relocates to Lillehammer, a picturesque, quiet area of Norway. Adapting to the new cultural norms and his unorthodox way of solving trivial disputes provides the laughs. Spoiler alert! In the first episode, he kills a wolf! How's that for an opening gambit? And gets involved in some shady stuff as the series progresses! With such a fun protagonist, and the added bonus of the series being set in such a beautiful location, what's not to like? The end of season one left the door open for a second series, which has already been made. He's like the character Twoflower in Pratchett's discworld books, in that he boldly goes into dangerous situations and doesn't seem to care about his own safety, which baffles his enemies. Definitely worth a look!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lilyhammer - a brilliant bilingual situation comedy, 27 July 2014
By 
Alan Jones (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lilyhammer - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Steven Van Zandt plays mafia wise guy Freddie `The Fixer' Tagliano out of New York (now known as Giovanni or Johnny Hendrickson) who arrives in Lillehammer, Norway and quickly gains the respect of the Norwegian people he meets. As with any wise guy `respect' is important and an incident on a train early in the first programme gives us an indication of Giovanni's moral compass. Initially he appears to be a fish out of water, but Johnny is a shark bent on thriving in this alien community and to this end buys a bar, which he renames `The Flamingo' after Bugsy Siegal's Las Vagas casino. Giovanni is capitalism personified and understands how to make friends through `quid pro quo' arrangements with local officials, criminals, businessmen and ordinary people.

There is much here to enjoy. A local police officer (a dead ringer for a young Steve Buscemi), an Elvis impersonator convinced that Giovanni is a Muslim terrorist. Giovanni's encounters with petty officialdom, in particular the social worker responsible for the integration of immigrants into the community. Giovanni's understanding of the Norwegian language.

Giovanni is a likeable character, and as with Tony Soprano, we are drawn into his criminal world and begin to empathise with his situation. It might be perceived that the Norwegians are portrayed as `idiots', but chief of police Laila Hovland is certainly no dullard, neither is the leader of the local biker gang, Giovanni's occasional business acquaintance. The same cannot be said for the Lien brothers, who are played strictly for laughs. After all, this is a situation comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enormous fun!, 26 Sept. 2012
This review is from: Lilyhammer - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
BE WARY - SLIGHT SPOILERS RE THE FIRST 3 EPISODES....

I never watched Sopranos. Perhaps I should have done......

Inevitably I would watch this, another splendid BBC4 Scandi offering, I'll watch anything BBC4 put on in a foreign language, knowing it should be good. It started for me with the brilliant French series Spiral and just look what we've had since, wonderful..... The Beeb have gone from tentative once a week foreign drama to now 2 a week plus foreign movies again after such a dearth for years of anything other than UK or USA. I'd be happy enough if the whole of BBC4 was foreign drama if all of it can be of such a high standard.

Watching Lilyhammer on BBC4 currently and 3 episodes already. Wonderful fun, every moment. The American actor playing the main part, a gangster taking refuge well away from the USA, is so engaging and it's particularly hilarious that the local (loopy) police think he's a terrorist hiding out - totally mistaken identity. Mind you, they don't know his real background which might also excite them.

The location is due we are told to Frank remembering that the Olympics had been held in Lillehammer. How nice for those of us who also follow the Winter Olympics to see the famous town in this fun series.

Much of the fun is due to "Giovanni" (Frank) using what are I assume his normal "Sopranos" US gangster type strong arm methods, also bribery etc. He never does anything really bad, it's just ensuring the undesirables are aware he's tougher than they are and it's a good idea to do what he wants. His new girlfriend is delightful.

Should you be a reader of the British Radio Times, ignore the totally inexplicable, sour reviews of the first 2 episodes of this series by a certain "AG". I virtually never agree with her reviews and this is no exception. We need someone with a sense of fun reviewing this series.

Lilyhammer reminds me somewhat of Naeturvaken or some such name, the even more hilarious Icelandic series of the lunatic manager and his 2 assistants who are in charge of a fuel station during the "Night Shift" - and there are 3 more series on the same lines, Day Shift, Prison Shift, and I forget the other one's name but they are all on sale via Amazon. If only they weren't so expensive, I'd buy the lot right now.

Back to Lilyhammer - just don't miss it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, 19 Dec. 2013
This review is from: Lilyhammer - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I think everything has been said that needs to be...

Thoroughly enjoyed this culture clash meets the Soprano's series.

Superb acting and very well produced along with a lot of laughs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lillihammer, 20 Dec. 2012
By 
Margaret Cameron "Book lover" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lilyhammer - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I wasn't sure on watching the first episode what to make of this. It is kind of weird! but I watched the whole series and it is wwell worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lilyhammer, 10 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lilyhammer - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Great little series about gangster form America in Norway. It was very funny. The culture clash is intriguing and amusing. Think I am on the side of Norway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gem of a series.., 18 Sept. 2012
This review is from: Lilyhammer - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Steven Van Zandt plays Frank a New York wise guy who after surviving an assasination attempt turns FBI informant and go into witness protection.. However he doesn't want to relocate to Florida,Arizona or Ohio he goes to Lilliehammer in Norway ( because on tv, he thought that the air was clear,the streets are clean and the broads were hot during the 1994 Winter Olympics).
Once there the show picks up with Frank opening a night club and trying to make Las Vegas in Norway a reality!!
Great acting from Van Zandt is expected but the supporting cast of Norwegian actors are suprisingly good.
I'm not going to give much away but swearing and violence are plenty with lots of dark comedy thrown in.
If like me you loved The Sopranos then I think you will enjoy this.
A 2nd season has been confirmed for 2013.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quirky brilliance, 8 Nov. 2012
This review is from: Lilyhammer - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
One of the funniest and most refreshing shows on TV for ages. Steve Van Zandt is excellent, the supporting cast perfect and the scenery beautiful. Looking forward to Series 2 already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We Norwegians loved it!, 23 Mar. 2013
By 
Ulla Bjørg Skaane "Clicka" (Tonsberg Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lilyhammer - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
This is a great story of this mobster trying to adapt to Norwegian society. It really highlights some of the things that have formed our society. It is very tongue in cheeck and great fun to watch, perhaps a little low-key. We loved this anti-hero .. the bad guy who is really quite good. I think it is one of the best Norwegian series ever made. His encounter with Norwegian prisons is spot-on .. believe it or not. :-) The only beef I have is that the stay-at-home dad is more -70ies than 2000-ish. I was married and a young mother in the -70ies, and this bring recollections.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lilyhammer - Season 1 [DVD]
Lilyhammer - Season 1 [DVD] by Steve Van Zandt (DVD - 2012)
£10.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews