Customer Reviews


233 Reviews
5 star:
 (161)
4 star:
 (34)
3 star:
 (23)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Lovely Story
This album is something new for Alfie as he himself states in the booklet that comes with the cd. It is different and needs to be listened to with care. Alfie has taken some well loved songs, good songs and has given an interpretation which takes care to express the meaning and sentiment of the story behind both words and music It is the sensitive approach, and his voice...
Published 17 months ago by Pauline h

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Promised a lot but did not deliver
Purchased CD after seeing Alfie perform Bridge over Troubled Water accompanied by acoustic guitar. I was disappointed, not only with the CD version of Bridge over Troubled Water, but the whole album seemed a bit Karaoke. This could have been a lot better. Still worth buying if you are an Alfie fan as it is 'decent', but did not live up to my expectations.
Published 16 months ago by Double_en


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Lovely Story, 12 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Storyteller (Audio CD)
This album is something new for Alfie as he himself states in the booklet that comes with the cd. It is different and needs to be listened to with care. Alfie has taken some well loved songs, good songs and has given an interpretation which takes care to express the meaning and sentiment of the story behind both words and music It is the sensitive approach, and his voice is wonderful, toneful and expressive.

Don't judge the cd after just one hearing, play it again and again and each time you will find something new, perhaps for the first time understand the story behind the tunes you have sung and heard for years, discover anew - beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 12 Nov 2012
This review is from: Storyteller (Audio CD)
I was a bit concerned knowing the song selection that it might be a bit "middle of the road", but having listened to this album a couple of times now, how wrong I was. Alfie brings his own unique take and wonderful voice to give his own interpretation to each song. I particularly loved The sun ain't gonna shine and Angel from Montgomery. Wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


59 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Amazing Evolution of Boe Continues, 12 Nov 2012
This review is from: Storyteller (Audio CD)
When you've spent your whole career refusing to have others dictate in which box you must reside, one could understand if a certain world-weariness sets in. Alfie Boe, to his everlasting credit, never allows that to happen. Instead, he keeps his eye on the destiny he KNOWS to be right, and pursues it with a passion and gusto that is something to behold. The result: beautiful albums such as "Storyteller, Alfie's latest step on his personal journey of discovery. The tenor delves into classic Elvis and Simon and Garfunkel brilliantly. Even more intriguing, he explores some down-home, uptown, Sunday-go-to-meeting rhythm-and-blues, and that part of the journey is beyond brilliant. "Rank Strangers"... "Angels from Montgomery." Oh, my!!! ... Then there is "Wayfaring Stranger." This incredibly sultry, sexy and soulful adaptation doesn't just take you to the roots of R&B; it drills down into its marrow. Believe me, if you don't feel New Orleans and Memphis stirring in your soul, check your pulse because there might be a problem!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 12 Nov 2012
This review is from: Storyteller (Audio CD)
Alfie can sing anything! I love the new choice of songs. I grew up listening to so many of these and love his take on them. His voice is undeniable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure magic, 12 Nov 2012
This review is from: Storyteller (Audio CD)
The combination of Alfie's unique and powerful voice with the incredible new arrangements of these songs make this CD so very special. Pure magic Alfie! You reinvented yourself again. Keep surprising us with beautiful music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Storyteller - Boe Beautiful, 12 Nov 2012
This review is from: Storyteller (Audio CD)
I looked forward to Alfie Boe's new album Storyteller with great anticipation and I wasn't disappointed. The selection of classic songs is beautifully chosen to suit Alfie's lovely melodic voice and the arrangements complement his voice very well. In particular, Can't Help Falling in Love With You sung as a lullaby sent tingles down my spine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Beauty of Boe, 12 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Storyteller (Audio CD)
Forget that the songs on this album have been covered before and listen to the magic as Alfie makes each and every one of them his own. Alfie Boe is a truly talented artist with a wonderful voice and this album proves that he can lend that voice to any genre of music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alfie Boe - Master Storyteller, 13 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The best advice I can give you on this is - buy it, listen to it, love it!

There isn't a bum track on the whole thing. In fact - each track is superb. Each one a personal and individual interpretation by an artist who isn't afraid to challenge perceptions and who won't be shoved into any one category when there is so much good music to enjoy and he just wants to sing it.

And boy can Alfie Boe sing it. Storyteller is top of the range with a mix of classic favourites and marvellous surprises presented by a master of his craft. Sample each one slowly, unwrap it thoughtfully, explore each layer carefully. It is every emotion - it's the soundtrack for your life - listen to the stories - about loss, longing, love and living. It's a voice that reaches the very depths of your soul. Sit back, shut your eyes - enjoy the journey. It's one you will never want to end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album from a great singer!, 12 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Storyteller (Audio CD)
What a great album this is! It's so good to hear classic songs that were part of the soundtrack to my younger days reinvented by Alfie. These are not just straightforward covers - each carefully chosen song is sung with great emotion and feeling, and lends itself to Alfie's unique voice and interpretation.

If you're expecting to hear a repeat of Alfie's previous albums then you will be disappointed [and quite honestly a quick look at the track listing for 'Storyteller' should give you a big clue that this is something completely different!] This is Alfie taking us in a completely new direction with his great voice - it is music that is personal to him and this shows in the way he performs it. It's a wonderful album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Storyteller - warm like the evening sun, 14 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Storyteller (Audio CD)
I have read with interest the reviews on here and decided to add my four penneth.
I have to say that the Rolling Stones and Elvis have always left me a little cold but having become interested in Alfie Boe through his opera and musical theatre performances I have stayed the course and followed the musical journey that he seems eager to follow. My CD arrived this morning and I put it in the laptop and had it on the garden while I painted the fence. The neighbours were treated to a consummate display of musical interpretation - from the build up of It's Over and Don't Let Me Be Understood to the lullaby feel of Can't Help Falling in Love with You to the slowed down blues version of It's Now or Never and the wonderful jamming session on Rank Strangers - apparently a one take wonder - all done with Mr Boe's beautful melodic voice and superb musicians. Probably my favourite though is Wayfaring Stranger. To those who say these are covers; well they are but then so are all opera CDs and musical theatre unless you are in the original that is. (a little unlikely for followers of Puccini, Verdi, Porter and Gershwin).I have now replayed the CD and am noticing things that had originally passed me by. So I would say give it a go and then give it another go - it's worth the ride.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaa3dbb34)

This product

Storyteller
Storyteller by Alfie Boe (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews