Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fanatic? Absolutely!!!
I didn't think Heart could match 2010's superb 'Red Velvet Car', but with 'Fanatic' the Wilson sisters prove once again that their talent for musical composition, poetry, and amazing vocals is second to none in the rock world.

Here we have ten tracks that demonstrate the real groove which is the heart of Heart - whether it be grungy rock and roll like the title...
Published on 4 Oct 2012 by Caramba!

versus
6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beware the fanatics when assessing "Fanatic"!
Any Heart release, however bad it could turn out to be, is always going to get some totally over the top reviews from a truly fanatical number of fans who refuse to take ANY criticism of whatever the Wilson sisters do. ("Oh dear, we mustn't say anything even slightly bad about OUR group", etc.) They have even been known to make playground threats to critics (e.g. "We got...
Published 21 months ago by Mr. David Watson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fanatic? Absolutely!!!, 4 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fanatic (Audio CD)
I didn't think Heart could match 2010's superb 'Red Velvet Car', but with 'Fanatic' the Wilson sisters prove once again that their talent for musical composition, poetry, and amazing vocals is second to none in the rock world.

Here we have ten tracks that demonstrate the real groove which is the heart of Heart - whether it be grungy rock and roll like the title track, or the deeply felt ballad of 'Rock Deep Vancouver', a banjo-themed duet with Sarah Mclachlan on 'Walkin' Good", or the Led Zep psych-rock of 'Corduroy Road' - the theme is the same: it's about stripping away the auto-tuning and the showbiz and letting the soul speak out and rainbow the deep passion these women have for their lives, their music, and their world.

Yes, this is a louder, rockier affair on the whole than the last album - 'Mashallah' is a breathtaking wallop of hard rock - but that doesn't mean any of the power and emotion of Ann's words and Nancy's playing is lost at all. Quite the opposite. It's also fantastic to hear them trade vocals on a couple of tracks like '59 Crunch' - they really should do it more often.

On this evidence, it's impossible to imagine a day when these women ever do anything less than wonderful, or end their creative genius. Their energy seems endlessly undiminished, Ann's voice raises the hairs on the back of your neck as much as ever, and with stand out tracks like 'Dear Old America', and 'Million Miles' which showcase the melodic wizardry of Nancy Wilson, the world is sure to 'take heart' once again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good rocking Heart album!, 26 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fanatic (MP3 Download)
Heart has been one of my fav bands forever.
I am glad to hear that they are still rocking out and why not....

Keep the tunes a comin' ladies!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Different but very good, 22 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fanatic (Audio CD)
Love this album, one of their best in my humble opinion. A grungier sound which after 40 years really surprised me. A million miles is my fave track. Would be in my all time top 10 Heart tracks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beware the fanatics when assessing "Fanatic"!, 6 Mar 2013
By 
This review is from: Fanatic (Audio CD)
Any Heart release, however bad it could turn out to be, is always going to get some totally over the top reviews from a truly fanatical number of fans who refuse to take ANY criticism of whatever the Wilson sisters do. ("Oh dear, we mustn't say anything even slightly bad about OUR group", etc.) They have even been known to make playground threats to critics (e.g. "We got your number boy!").

Whilst devotion is admirable (up to a point), sometimes their praise is so silly it makes them look ridiculous. I'm sensing that a little already here, with some reviewers saying "Ann's voice is as strong as ever", or whatever. Pure nonsense!

I think Ann Wilson is the best rock singer there has ever been (and probably will be), with Nancy not too far behind as it happens! She has given me so much enjoyment, but I think even SHE would have to say that her voice cannot do it all it used to. I could give sample lines where she chooses not to use pitch and vibrato like she once did, but would those silly fanatics even understand? All I will say to them is this : Ann's voice is not what it used to be but guess what? She's STILL better than 99.99% of her contemporaries today! I'm STILL a champion of her talents, albeit a bit more realistic than some people out there!

So what is the album like? In summary, the album as a whole sounds more in keeping with "Red Velvet Car" than "Jupiters Darling" (unfortunately). They still seem to be experimenting with fresh (to them) sounds. (Thought they'd exhausted all that on the "Strange Euphoria" box set?) Yes, some riffs ARE heavy (as they had promised us), but it's often a punky, "garage band" type of heavy, which, when it come from Heart, just comes across as "badly produced".

I've played this album in full over 30 times now, so it's not as if I haven't given it a fair hearing. These are the random thoughts that strike me now whilst playing it:-

"Rock Deep" : ok - familiar to what we expect from Heart.

"59 Crunch" : de-tuned, murky guitar and strident, almost amateurish lead fills.

"Corduroy Road" : chorus is hardly easy on the ear.

"Beautiful Broken" : DREADFUL gang vocals going into the chorus - shame on you, Heart!

"Two Silver Rings" : well yes, different (no singing), but they should leave the spoken word imagery to others (i.e. bands where there ISN'T a good singer) - there are shades of Jim Morrison and "Queen of the highway" on this, to my ears.

"Zingara" : horrible, tuneless lead guitar phrase reminiscent of a certain Velvet Underground song!

"Fanatic" : Another "heavy" number, but not "good" heavy, as per "Barracuda" or "If Looks Could Kill" - far from it!

"Dear Old America" : another slightly discordant guitar sound. Strings are WAY too similar to some other group's song but can't recall who right now.

"Walkin' Good" : ok song but leaving judgment till I find out who exactly is singing - if it IS Sarah McLachlan then WHY? - with a Heart album it is criminal to even imagine someone other than Ann or Nancy on vocal duty!

"Skin And Bones" : surely one of the most pedestrian songs they've ever recorded!

"Million Miles" : the modern dance beat has actually grown on me, much to my surprise, but the lyrics (which I don't normally care about), are the biggest load of nonsense and lies I've ever heard on a Heart album!

"Pennsylvania" : probably the best song on the album.

"Mashallah" : alright, but poor excuse for a chorus.

I will ALWAYS buy Heart's releases, and I'm sure I will always find redeeming points on them (as here), but I defend the right to compare their past with their present, and give objective, explanatory reasons for any disappointment. There you have it. Buy, but don't play full price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you like their older 70s stuff you'll love this. If you like their 80's pop stuff, you probably won't love this., 9 May 2013
This review is from: Fanatic (Audio CD)
This is a great rock album. Thankfully the Wilson sisters and their band have forgone their 80's and 90's penchant for sacrificing quality in order to gain hit singles.

From the start of the album, the style is heavy, sometimes angry, sometimes humorous. The goal here is clearly to provide a hard rocking album created out of personal experiences of the band leaders Ann and Nancy Wilson. Much like the band's classic 70s output, this is not Top 40 drivel or music that will appeal to listeners wanting cotton candy music. It will, however, appeal to fans who want a good hard rock album with a bit of darkness and plenty of wails from the best female rock vocalist in the business.

Heart is a polarizing band in some ways. Those who became fans in the 80s don't seem to understand or appreciate 70s Heart, and those who became fans in the 70s see the 80s output as a "sellout" (similar to Aerosmith, KISS, and Van Halen). "Fanatic" will no doubt appeal to the latter audience, leaving the former disappointed.

If I have an issue with the album, it's some of the lyrics. Most of the lyrics are fine and some are great, but "59 Crunch" sounds like purposeful nonsense written simply so the song wouldn't end up an instrumental. Filler lyrics at best. Otherwise, "Fanatic" is a great album in my humble opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heart fan, 17 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fanatic (Audio CD)
Heart great power band and rocky no one seems like them now. they dont know a class band
super songs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great stuff, 1 Oct 2012
By 
D. Jones (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fanatic (Audio CD)
Classic Heart.
I still love the self-titled 1985 Heart (all time classic) and Bad Animals but this one is a def 100% purchase.
Buy it and see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PDG, 1 Oct 2012
By 
J. Turner (Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fanatic (Audio CD)
I bought 'Fanatic' as a birthday present for my husband, and it arrived today, Had my first listen in the car - and I am impressed! The Wilson sisters haven't lost their combined talents for making excellent music, Anne's vocal is as strong as ever, Nancy's is the perfect compliment to her sister, and her guitar playing hasn't lost any of its' flair and power. Lyrically, the sisters Wilson come up with several great songs, ably abetted by Ben Mink. This is a great cd that is just going to grow on me the more I listen to it, what can I say except its PDG - pretty darn good! Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC!!!!!!!, 2 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fanatic (Audio CD)
Welcome back to the Rock world Heart!!!
This is a brilliant rocking Heart Album the best for quite some time.
Have been very disappointed with the last 2 albums of the Wilson sisters but, still bought them being an ardent fan of theirs since ealy 70's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Huge sound!, 15 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fanatic [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Really rocking album but why does the track Pennsylvania have bad sound compared to the rest of the LP? I got the Vinyl.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fanatic
Fanatic by Heart (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews