Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic keyboard
My daughter has used the 5 star excellent Yamaha PSRE333 Portable Keyboard for the past year and this keyboard in the same price bracket is definitely worth the money and an improvement of the previous version we've used without the light up keys. Being able to follow the keys lighting up while learning is fun and a great aid.

We did lots of research into our...
Published 20 months ago by debbie8355

versus
21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good learner instrument
This is another new Yamaha keyboard aimed at the beginner player. The sounds and set rhythms are the standard set seen in many similar Yamaha keyboards and sound very good. I found the absence of the ability to play dual voices and also split the keyboard with two voices is a shame and meant I deducted 1 star from the review.
The keyboard has keys that light up and...
Published 20 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic keyboard, 29 Dec 2012
By 
debbie8355 (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Yamaha EZ-220 Portable Keyboard with 61 Full-Size Lighted/Touch-Sensitive Keys/iPad Connectivity (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
My daughter has used the 5 star excellent Yamaha PSRE333 Portable Keyboard for the past year and this keyboard in the same price bracket is definitely worth the money and an improvement of the previous version we've used without the light up keys. Being able to follow the keys lighting up while learning is fun and a great aid.

We did lots of research into our previous keyboard as my daughter does the ABRSM exams for her instruments and this is the type of keyboard you need if you are doing piano exams because the keys are touch sensitive - the harder you press the louder the sound as with a real piano. The sounds are good and this keyboard came with a sizeable music book which is a bonus.

Yahama as a keyboard brand is excellent - well made, sturdy and our previous Yahama has survived a few drops and bashes. We've found a keyboard stand is essential to get everything at the right height for play.

The ipad connectivity is a bonus at the same price of previous versions.

Very highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tons of fun with a clever keyboard., 15 April 2013
By 
Zola fan "Nana" (Hants, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Yamaha EZ-220 Portable Keyboard with 61 Full-Size Lighted/Touch-Sensitive Keys/iPad Connectivity (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
It really is possible to learn one of the pre-installed melodies in a few hours on this excellent piece of keyboard kit. Some basic knowledge of scales, key progressions, etc, would certainly be helpful, but not essential. I have never had a piano lesson in my life but this system is quite easy and by the end of a weekend I had learned a couple of tunes and had lots of fun trying them out.

The 61 keys light up individually and briefly on power-up, and the adjustable volume level shows as a series of bars on the central display. This becomes the default setting when switched off, and there is an eco-friendly "Auto Power Off" option. There's a headphone socket with this keyboard which is a very useful feature as it stops you driving loved ones and family pets up the wall whilst learning a new song.

The multiple-display panel shows a fingering guide for each hand, together with the chord, numeric "measure" of the song, style, beat, touch response level, and if the "accompaniment" mode is switched on. This condensed amount of information is confusing at first, but you soon get used to it. There are 100 preset songs, and if you press the "DEMO" button, all of them will be played in sequence. Most people, however, would select one of the songs in the list, using the "song" button, and this can be repeated using the "Start / Stop" button.

The preset songs are set to default values of "style", but there is a choice of 100 styles (R&B, Latin, Ballroom, Country, etc.), satisfying most musical tastes. A particular part of the song can be replayed, paused, rewound or fast-forwarded to any other section, and the left or right hand parts can be muted. The tempo can also be progressively changed - or the "tap" button can be used to set it as required.

The final basic selection is the "voice". The default voice is "grand piano", but there are a mind-boggling series of options and an excellent "accompaniment" background style available for a more professional sound.

If you have an iPad, it can be mounted on the supplied stand, automatically displaying and turning the pages of the music sheets for any of the preset songs. Additional features are a Metronome, Sustain (you need a footswitch for this one), Reverb depth, octave transposition of Pitch and - importantly - Touch Sensitivity. The style may also be varied for the introduction, main, and ending sections.

The "Song Lesson" feature is the probably best aspect. A good start is "Fur Elise", before moving on to more complex preset songs, but there are so many to choose from. The most useful function - for me - was the Chord Dictionary. A selection of chords is shown in the handbook, but you can work them out as you go along! If you select the root note of the chord you are looking for, say B, on the RHS of the keyboard, then select "minor" on the centre section of the keyboard (it's all in the handbook!). The correct keys for this chord will illuminate, a bell rings when you get it right, and the chord is sown in the display. Inversions of the selected chord can be chosen by pressing the "+" or "-" button - to get it just as it sounds on the record.

Finally, you can connect the EZ-220 to a laptop with a simple USB to HOST cable. Software such as "Synthesia" is available on the Internet to download MIDI files when "Local" mode is selected, switching on the illuminated key function and allowing you to learn your favourite songs. For instance, "B minor" chord / arpeggio, produces the beginning of the introduction to Hotel California, followed by F#, A and E (then G, "D/F#". Emi, and F# again). With minimal effort, you can work your way through a favourite song if the chord sequence is known.

Overall, this is an excellent keyboard, suiting all levels of musical ability and it's reasonably priced for a beginner. I know I will never be the next Chopin but I am having great fun learning tunes with this Yamaha.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good learner instrument, 19 Jan 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (Beds UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Yamaha EZ-220 Portable Keyboard with 61 Full-Size Lighted/Touch-Sensitive Keys/iPad Connectivity (Electronics)
This is another new Yamaha keyboard aimed at the beginner player. The sounds and set rhythms are the standard set seen in many similar Yamaha keyboards and sound very good. I found the absence of the ability to play dual voices and also split the keyboard with two voices is a shame and meant I deducted 1 star from the review.
The keyboard has keys that light up and thus works well with the multi layered learning mode. You can follow the lit notes to play the correct notes. The 100 songs in the accompanying book are the only ones that can be used in the education mode. One nice addition to this new keyboard is the free iPad app to show the music, which also turns a page when appropriate based on the playing. Great idea, but sad it is still limited to only the same 100 tunes.
Recommended for beginners but if you are not I would suggest you look for a model with mire voice flexibility and not lit notes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Beginner Piano, 11 Feb 2014
By 
MusicTechBooks (manchester, england) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Yamaha EZ-220 Portable Keyboard with 61 Full-Size Lighted/Touch-Sensitive Keys/iPad Connectivity (Electronics)
It is full size keys, so when you play on a real piano, once you found the Middle C, you will not have problem finding your way around a real string and hammer piano regardless of it being a grand piano or an upright piano. The touch sensitivity is great. Wish it came with a pedal. even the most beginner level books require you to use a sustain/damper pedal after a first few months. This is sufficient until a beginner decides to stay on the course of piano learning, or for a student who moves around every year from dorm room to apartments or houses etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for a rusty beginner, 2 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yamaha EZ-220 Portable Keyboard with 61 Full-Size Lighted/Touch-Sensitive Keys/iPad Connectivity (Electronics)
I bought this for my partner who has been wanting to take up the piano again after an absence of some 25+ years! So far it has kept her amused and entertained for hours, although the next step is to take some proper lessons and so prevent bad habits slipping in - easy if you just copy the lit keys without paying attention to the music or fingering. My one complaint would be the tiny size of the LED display. It would be great to have a larger display to follow the notes and fingering without almost going blind in the attempt.
I'm sure this keyboard has all sorts of features yet to be discovered but for the price it ticks all the boxes for fun and learning and the sound quality is great. Especially if you plug some headphones in! For which, it should be noted, you need a jack adapter for most headphones as the socket is a large one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars perfect for kids, 28 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yamaha EZ-220 Portable Keyboard with 61 Full-Size Lighted/Touch-Sensitive Keys/iPad Connectivity (Electronics)
Excellent for beginners. The lighted keys are great help. Good for kids and adults. Arrived very quick. Nice touch sensitive keys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good for a beginner as you would think, 7 May 2013
By 
Sailorjohn (Milton Keynes UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yamaha EZ-220 Portable Keyboard with 61 Full-Size Lighted/Touch-Sensitive Keys/iPad Connectivity (Electronics)
I'm not spring chicken but had got the urge to learn to play an instrument and a keyboard seemed a good choice, mainly because you don't inflict endless bad playing on other people by using a pair of headphones.

I was attracted to this particular model of keyboard as it seemed to cater for beginners, what with the YES system, the lighted keyboard, song book and built in songs etc. Although this is all true it does, in practice have very little value for somebody, like me, a complete beginner.

When I say beginner let me stress that I'm at a level where I'm still learning the staves, the note names etc. and "Row Row Row Your Boat" is still a challenge.

This means that the built in songs are far far too advanced to learn on, sure it's fun to hear the songs and marvel at the sound but it doesn't help you actually learn to play, this a real shame as I'm spending my time learning the ten notes around middle C following a beginner's book. It would have been so much more useful if the built in songs had started at this level and slowly built up in complexity.

The keyboard has a small LCD display showing notes on both the bass and treble stave as they are played, this is really useful but sadly the display is very small and not that easy to see when sitting at the correct position.

Overall the keyboard sounds nice to my unskilled ears and I'm pleased with it but if I was buying again I would forgot the lights and stuff and buy the next model up which has a clearer note display and just accept that the only way to learn is to persevere with a book or a teacher.

Don't be put off if you have never played before though, I just love practising and enjoy getting even the simplest tune to sound recognisable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ideal for beginner, 13 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yamaha EZ-220 Portable Keyboard with 61 Full-Size Lighted/Touch-Sensitive Keys/iPad Connectivity (Electronics)
A present for my wife, an impressive piece of kit which although she is has never played before, had her reading and playing music in just a few hours (aided with children's music books). The light up keys certainly help the beginner but for the price it sounds very good, and has impressive specifications.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Electronic Keyboard, 10 Jan 2014
By 
M. Stewart (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yamaha EZ-220 Portable Keyboard with 61 Full-Size Lighted/Touch-Sensitive Keys/iPad Connectivity (Electronics)
Bought for my wife who assures me it is a wonderful improvement on the instrument she had previously been using. Certainly it has a beautiful tone, and is easily portable. We would both highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 31 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yamaha EZ-220 Portable Keyboard with 61 Full-Size Lighted/Touch-Sensitive Keys/iPad Connectivity (Electronics)
We bought this for our 12 year old son as a step up piece from a cheap toy keyboard as he has developed a keen interest. He loves this keyboard and has been able to accelerate his learning
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews