Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Great
Another good book in the series. Now on to the final book. Will be quite lost when they are finished.
Published 10 months ago by sue walters

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Derogatory,boring,bland and idiotic
I have decided to write my review on the first 5 of these books as i have no interest at all in the 6th and there is too much to say to spread it all out.
This book series is awful mediocre at best and very sexist and not true most of it is false though the author seems to be intent in his notes that it is very realistic and plausible. It is badly written and...
Published 17 months ago by Nefertari


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 10 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Amarnan Kings, Book 5: Scarab - Horemheb (Kindle Edition)
Another good book in the series. Now on to the final book. Will be quite lost when they are finished.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant series for Egypt lovers, 6 Dec 2013
This review is from: The Amarnan Kings, Book 5: Scarab - Horemheb (Kindle Edition)
Once you have read the first book in this series you have to read them all. Scarabs life story is compulsive reading. There is a lot of history missing from the ahkenaten time and although this book is fiction it is believable and fills in a lot of gaps. I hope the author writes some more books about Egypt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just as good as the previous books in the series, 4 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Amarnan Kings, Book 5: Scarab - Horemheb (Kindle Edition)
Having read all the previous books, this one is just as compulsive. Very well written, with ideas which will challenge your view of traditional stories of the era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Derogatory,boring,bland and idiotic, 16 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Amarnan Kings, Book 5: Scarab - Horemheb (Kindle Edition)
I have decided to write my review on the first 5 of these books as i have no interest at all in the 6th and there is too much to say to spread it all out.
This book series is awful mediocre at best and very sexist and not true most of it is false though the author seems to be intent in his notes that it is very realistic and plausible. It is badly written and changes are constantly made through out the series, such as the main character scarab in the first few books is identified as being a quarter 'Khabiru' though she ends up being half khabiru how this happened i do not know but it shows the incompetence of the author.
Over-sexualisation also plays a massive part the main character is thought of as nothing much more than an object, when in ancient Egypt women were treated as equals and this fact is written in this novel.
Also there is no evidence to say that queen tiye and Ay were khabiru so i don't know why it was put in. and the part about akhenaten becoming Moses was funny because it obviously isn't true and is just a load of random rubbish that the author thought to throw in with the rest.
The story is boring and the only interesting elements take place within the palaces,Horemheb was a boring character as were all of the other with the exception of Scarab on the odd occasion.
When Scarab was tortured and bloodied the god Geb said to her it would be a shame to spoil such beauty, then why on earth does she have a stone eye and a body riddled with scars?
She should of been given something like a tattoo or simply just her golden scarab what did the stone really do anyway.
And to describe Queen Tiyes death to Plague isn't accurate as her Mummy certainly shows no evidence of it. though there is the possiblity that the embalmers removed all evidence.
Also it really was a bit odd to put Smenkhkare as Akhenatens brother he was more likely sun or even Nefertiti herself.As for Nefertiti it is incredibly unlikely that AKhenaten would of deposed her, she was the source of his little popularity and the only reason that his heretical polices were allowed. So therefore she was most likely assassinated or simply died of Illness.
The author certainly was bloodthirsty and seemed to almost delight in throwing in gang rape, torture,murder, mutilation and much more.
In fact i myself could do far better than this author and i have read better young adult books about the Amarna period than this series of novels.
IT had no emotion the scene full of the most life was when scarabs son was taken from her, and that went on for to long and was boring.
Following on from that where is the evidence that was apparently checked over with an Egyptologist that let Seti be Beketaten's son, nothing is known about whether or not she even lived into adult hood, and yes it is a story but as it is historic fiction an element of reality is essential.
And to tell the truth the most this book had were names of people and places.
I cant even be bothered to type more on this novel because there is that much that is wrong with it.
DO NOT buy this rubbish it is boring and has a thin plot , and to be honest is just plain annoying keep far away from it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Epic adventures, 25 Feb 2013
This review is from: The Amarnan Kings, Book 5: Scarab - Horemheb (Kindle Edition)
I've read all the books in this series, and enjoyed some more than others. The first two books - Akhenaten and Smenkare - were thoroughly enjoyable. I thought it lost its way a bit with Tutankhamen, but picked up again in the last couple of books. The story as we follow Scarab throughout the turbulent Armana period is well conceived. I guess I'd say, looking back, that the books seem a bit over-long. I think I'll read them again one day, but I have a feeling I may find myself skipping chunks. The author clearly knows his subject and must have done a huge amount of research. Interesting link to the bible stories in the last book. All in all a big bold set of books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Keep em coming, 28 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Amarnan Kings, Book 5: Scarab - Horemheb (Kindle Edition)
Having read the complete series I am still wanting to read more of this. the whole series has the feel of the Egypt series by Wilbur Smith including the quirky characters I dont want to come to the end of this amazing storyline.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Once Again, 25 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Amarnan Kings, Book 5: Scarab - Horemheb (Kindle Edition)
Once again (as with previous books) Max let me know when this was up on Amazon. I can honestly say I couldn't wait for this to come out and enjoyed this as much as the other books in this series. I love the way Max has written this series of books, for me, he describes the people, areas and whats going on in such detail that I can imagine what the people look like, their feelings and how they are affected by the actions of others. I feel that I have almost watched "Scarab" grow from a young girl to a woman who faces sadness, hardship and joy along the way. The description of the areas that Scarab and her friends encounter is so good I could almost see the places for myself. I know the next book will be the last in this series, and once again can't wait, but Max if you read this, please please write another series along these lines.

Thank you once again for a great book that I didn't want to put down!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Historic fact and fiction - a great mix set in ancient Egypt, 13 Oct 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Amarnan Kings, Book 5: Scarab - Horemheb (Kindle Edition)
Brilliant series based on the pre-Ramesid pharoahs of the 18th dynasty. Recommend books 1-5 wholeheartedly, but book 6 is pure fantasy, but doesn't pretend to be anything else!

An enthralling series that I couldn't put down!mn
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Gripping yarn, 2 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Amarnan Kings, Book 5: Scarab - Horemheb (Kindle Edition)
Max Overton is a good story teller and keeps you gripped to very end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Amarnan Kings, Book 5: Scarab - Horemheb (Kindle Edition)
I have enjoyed all of these books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews