Customer Reviews


8,771 Reviews
5 star:
 (5,604)
4 star:
 (1,830)
3 star:
 (683)
2 star:
 (362)
1 star:
 (292)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


125 of 131 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful romp of a novel
Allan is a hundred years old today, but he doesn't want to stay around for his party in the home in which he is resident, so he climbs out of the window and escapes.

This is the start of Allan's journey (into perhaps a fourth age?), and he becomes involved with a variety of characters - some criminal, and some merely suspect - and is also involved in a...
Published on 1 Sept. 2012 by Frances Stott

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars An over-long saga which bored me.
I thought that the book started off extremely well as the tale of the 100 year old man got underway. However, I didn't realise that it would develop into a Forrest Gumpesque style of increasingly complicated and frankly boring sagas. I liked the characters in the plot which involved the 100 year old man escaping and the series of "mishaps" but the rest was boring.
Published 21 months ago by MLCG


Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What a good read, 20 Feb. 2013
By 
M. Lester (Suffolk, GB) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hundred-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared (Kindle Edition)
It really cheered me up in my 95th year. The history was nearly true but the humour great. Well worth the 20p it cost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read on your own, 26 July 2013
For anyone sharing the same room as you the constant giggling and unexpected bursts of laughter can be very irritating. My wife banished me to the patio where the neighbors started complaining.

Having previously read "The unlikely pilgrimage of Harold Fry" and really enjoying it I thought I would embark on a campaign of choosing books with silly titles and titles don't get much sillier (or better) than this.

This is like no other book I have ever read and I loved it from beginning to end. They say that the main character in a book should be likeable and I defy anyone not to fall in love with Alan Karlsson. OK when he has had a few drinks too many he does have a tendency to help unstable nations to develop nuclear weapons but nobody's perfect.

A fantastic book from a writer with an extraordinary imagination, although part of me wants to believe it is a true story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It starts well, but loses its way, 29 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hundred-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared (Kindle Edition)
Recommended to me - enjoyed the first half, but then it became almost tedious to finish! Unduly complex in second half, which spoiled an otherwise good idea
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Daft as a brush and hugely enjoyable, 6 Sept. 2012
By 
Peter Lee (Manchester ,United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a fun read this was!

The story begins with the titular character sitting in a retirement home shortly before his 100th birthday party. Faced with this terrible prospect he opens his ground floor window, climbs out into the flower bed, and walks away, heading for the local bus station where he steals a suitcase from a gang member before boarding a bus and alighting at an abandoned railway station. From then on it would spoil things to reveal any more, but the story becomes increasingly silly yet remains hugely enjoyable, often laugh out loud funny. It's preposterous, it is as daft as a brush, but incredibly engaging, hard to put down, and somehow everything ties up beautifully in the end.

If you fancy reading something a little bit different which will make you laugh and feel good, give this a go. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 41 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some great laughs, but ..., 29 Sept. 2012
When I read an excerpt of this book on here a couple of months ago, just ONE review had been written. What a shock I had on logging on now to write a review and finding the review count had leapt to 94!

Centenarian Allan Karlsson's tale began with great promise, but then grew tiresome in its complacency and repetition. The story is what it is -- light entertainment. It's a fun read with some truly imaginative moments, but ultimately suffers from endless replication and an excess of flat humour. Which is a shame. A considerable abridgement of this book could have made it a winner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic, fun and hilarious read, 31 July 2013
By 
Jakeisthecoolest "Jake" - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hundred-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared (Kindle Edition)
I have to confess I am always intrigued by books with long titles and this one didn't disappoint.
What starts out as a quirky tale of one-hundred-year old Allan on the run from his own party by, as the title suggests, sneaking out the window. What follows is a serious of funny and endearing encounters with equally funny and endearing characters as he trawls around Sweden. Much of this reminds me of Douglas Adams in both style and humour.
Running alongside the main story is a Forest Gump style historical account of Allan's previous ninety-nine years, during which he encounters many historical figures and unwittingly takes part in a number of significant historical events.
Often laugh out loud funny, this book breezes by in an instant. Well worth buying, I'd be very surprised if you didn't enjoy it as much as I have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funniest book ever!!, 29 Aug. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I ordered this book after reading the reviews and can honestly say I was not disappointed. The story is a rollercoaster of events and although the characters all have 'back stories' they are lightly drawn and very funny.
The story is delivered in a matter of fact, almost deadpan style(i'm not sure if this is due to the translation)which,for me, enhances the humorous content.
The introduction of Herbert Einstein takes the book to a whole new level although all the characters play their part and complement each other.
There are real laugh out loud moments - elephant sitting on biker villain, destruction of Vladivostok etc but I found the book funny throughout.
I would highly recommend this book if you are looking for something light and funny with a happy ending.
A real feel good novel!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


63 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just enjoy it!, 21 Oct. 2012
Totally unbelievable..Completely ridiculous....Absolutely BRILLIANT!!! Most enjoyable book that I have read in ages. A bit repetitive maybe but so what, I think that's part of the fun of it. Start with an open mind, accept its tongue in cheek and ENJOY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 27 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hundred-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared (Kindle Edition)
Took me quite a while to read this book but it is just brilliant and definitely the kind of book you can read and pick up again a week later. Dry, witty, interesting and very enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Page turner, 27 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hundred-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared (Kindle Edition)
I couldn't put this book down. Fantastic entertainment with a smattering of history, albeit adapted. All my friends and family have read it and all agree how absorbing this read is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews