Customer Reviews


7,347 Reviews
5 star:
 (4,662)
4 star:
 (1,564)
3 star:
 (578)
2 star:
 (307)
1 star:
 (236)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


83 of 87 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful romp of a novel
Allan is a hundred years old today, but he doesn't want to stay around for his party in the home in which he is resident, so he climbs out of the window and escapes.

This is the start of Allan's journey (into perhaps a fourth age?), and he becomes involved with a variety of characters - some criminal, and some merely suspect - and is also involved in a...
Published 22 months ago by F. M. M. Stott

versus
80 of 91 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable for a while then faded
There is a lot of hype about this book and the reviews on here are totally enthusiastic which kind of convinced me to give it a go. I certainly enjoyed parts of the book - more particularly the earlier sections. There are some amusing and clever twists to the tale - but they become increasingly far-fetched and somewhat repetitive. It reminded me somewhat of William...
Published 22 months ago by Self-help junkie


Most Helpful First | Newest First

62 of 72 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just enjoy it!, 21 Oct 2012
Totally unbelievable..Completely ridiculous....Absolutely BRILLIANT!!! Most enjoyable book that I have read in ages. A bit repetitive maybe but so what, I think that's part of the fun of it. Start with an open mind, accept its tongue in cheek and ENJOY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


62 of 72 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a reader, 12 July 2012
By 
Consumer A "ReaderAAA" (England. UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hundred-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared (Kindle Edition)
Allan Karlsson is in a care home. There are going to be big celebrations for his 100th Birthday which he wishes to avoid.The Mayor - everyone has been invited. It is a big civic celebration of Allans's century. Allan sees an opportunity climbs out of the window and only realises as he escapes that he still has his slippers on. He finds his way to the local bus station aware that soon his absence will be discovered. Our Hero is old can't run or climb and when he finds the bus station that he has little money so he gets a ticket for the first bus that will take him the furthest from town.... A very lanky young male wearing a T shirt with ' Never Again' written across it and carrying a suitcase comes on to the station and rudely demands that Allan look after his case as he can't gain access to the toilet with his heavy suitcase. Before Allan can reply the man leaves and the bus arrives. The bus driver asks if he wants help with the case onto the bus and Allan says 'yes' as it occurs to him there might be a pair of shoes in the case. The adventures start and continue from there. This is the funniest book I have read. It is so entertaining, so clever, so well written that you don't want to get to the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 30 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Promising start, but I got bored with the silliness..., 5 May 2013
By 
S Taylor "The Nugget" (The Wirral) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hundred-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared (Kindle Edition)
I really thought I was going to like this book when I began reading the first few chapters. It seemed humorous and observant, but I got so bored that I just couldn't be bothered finishing it. For me, personally, the endless "meetings" and "adventures" with so many world leaders, just became ridiculous and went into far too much boring detail. I found that I wasn't actually taking in what was written as I'd become so fed up with it by then. I don't usually give up on a book, and will see it through even if I don't think it's particularly gripping, but this one was the exception. Sorry, but I can't recommend this one...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What a good read, 20 Feb 2013
By 
M. Lester (Suffolk, GB) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hundred-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared (Kindle Edition)
It really cheered me up in my 95th year. The history was nearly true but the humour great. Well worth the 20p it cost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 41 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some great laughs, but ..., 29 Sep 2012
When I read an excerpt of this book on here a couple of months ago, just ONE review had been written. What a shock I had on logging on now to write a review and finding the review count had leapt to 94!

Centenarian Allan Karlsson's tale began with great promise, but then grew tiresome in its complacency and repetition. The story is what it is -- light entertainment. It's a fun read with some truly imaginative moments, but ultimately suffers from endless replication and an excess of flat humour. Which is a shame. A considerable abridgement of this book could have made it a winner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars hated it, 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
was so looking forward to this, but was such a disappointment. really slow and boring. expected much more from what critics said about it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 27 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hundred-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared (Kindle Edition)
Took me quite a while to read this book but it is just brilliant and definitely the kind of book you can read and pick up again a week later. Dry, witty, interesting and very enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Page turner, 27 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hundred-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared (Kindle Edition)
I couldn't put this book down. Fantastic entertainment with a smattering of history, albeit adapted. All my friends and family have read it and all agree how absorbing this read is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun and addictive., 27 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great book, well written. How one man, through no direct fault of his own,has such a great impact on so many historical events. True or not, a truly great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forrest Gump with a brain, 27 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hundred-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared (Kindle Edition)
One of those books that keeps you hooked from start to finish. Allan is a likeable character and his life shows you that being positive, living a simple life can take you on adventures most only dream of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews