Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mysterious River
Dismantling the Fantasy is a powerful little gem of a book. With clarity and directness Darryl points to the heart of nonduality; the absence of a separate self and the illusion of free will.

"This is like looking at the surface of a river and believing that there are separate ripples influencing each other. There are no separate ripples. There is only the...
Published on 2 July 2010 by R. Haigh

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the most useful book of this type
I found this book a tad irksome and fuzzy in it's languaging and positing - I think the main reason is the Author's conclusion that life is one form-less event without really clarifying what he means by "form" which has many possible meanings in language. He posits that for example a house has no form because over a long period of time it will eventually turn to dust and...
Published 15 months ago by FumanBean


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mysterious River, 2 July 2010
By 
R. Haigh (Cornwall United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Dismantling the Fantasy is a powerful little gem of a book. With clarity and directness Darryl points to the heart of nonduality; the absence of a separate self and the illusion of free will.

"This is like looking at the surface of a river and believing that there are separate ripples influencing each other. There are no separate ripples. There is only the moving and shifting of one flow of water." "We can't say anyone does this dynamic, or directs this dynamic, because all that's ever experienced is this dynamic." "There is no you that can avoid it or get it wrong. There is only a mysterious river expressing itself."

One of the most concise and refreshing books on nonduality that I have read in years, Dismantling the Fantasy carries the sweet perfume of good news remembered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five star plus !, 6 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Words fail to describe this amazing book -- the first chapter 'the cloud' may bring up pondering but all is soon revealed to be clear & obvious in this concise simple & inspiring book[
[ASIN:8189658026 It Happens by Itself: Dialogues with Isaac Shapiro]]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully simple, beautifully clear, 8 Jun. 2010
One of the best and least misleading books on the subject I have ever read, and expressed with impressive simplicity and clarity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A simple but brilliant book, 26 Oct. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have just finished reading this fairly small book. I found its simplicity and clarity really striking. Darryl Bailey does not use jargon and his approach is extremely refreshing.

I have read many many books on this subject and every so often one stands out. This is one of them and it had a huge effect on me. A lovely, clear, beautiful book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A modern Huang Po, 18 Nov. 2010
Like a modern Huang Po, Darryl points straight through the ephemeral nature of perceived reality to that eternal mystery that lies at the very heart of existence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it!, 22 Mar. 2012
This is one of the clearest books I have read on non-duality. The author has, in almost poetic fashion, written an in-depth exploration in to the nature of impermanence. And while I don't recall the word 'emptiness' actually being used in the text (this is not a Buddhist text), I have not read a better explanation on the Buddhist teachings on emptiness. It is also one of the few books that when I finished reading I was inspired to read again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an incredible book. clear, poetic, the end of seeking is pointed to, the aliveness of life is lived.xxx, 22 Oct. 2010
as the title of this review suggests, it is; this is it. thank you, darryl bailey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 25 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dismantling the Fantasy (Kindle Edition)
I chose to buy this book as the ratings were so good, however I did wonder if it could live up to its high rating! It certainly did. I found that it is written in an easy to read and absorbing manner, which I found refreshing, as so many books on the subject of nonduality can be as mystifying as the subject itself. Darryl Bailey managed to introduce the idea in an imaginative and effective analogy of a cloud which captured my understanding from the outset.
I have enjoyed this book so much that I have already recommended it to several other 'seekers' who have been equally as impressed by its simplicity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Profound, clear & concise, 25 Jan. 2013
By 
kev (Witham, Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dismantling the Fantasy (Kindle Edition)
Early last year, my girlfriend introduced me to The Power Of Now which was life changing and helped me to understand and smooth out my stress/meditation cycles, however, for me, Dismantling the Fantasy is the next stage. I've read it twice and, on both occasions, my mind was quiet after the first chapter, The Cloud, which are the most profound 8 pages that I've ever read.
A work of art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 'Fantas'-tic, 23 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dismantling the Fantasy (Kindle Edition)
Absolutely God-send! These two words are enough to describe this book. No other truth can stand up to this description as all descriptions are itself fantasy as so explicitly pointed to by this author.
21 years on the 'spiritual path' and no one has has dismantled beliefs as well as Darryl in a kind and gentle way. The only other person who comes close is U.G. Krishnamurti but in a much harsher and blasting manner. Also Darryl is way more focused and yet there is nothing to be focused about as the 'teaching' the 'teacher' and the 'taught' are mere appearances in the flowing river of motion always in constant flux. Nothing stands or can be said to be in this including this book, any other words or even this review. What more can be said. 😷Thank you Darryl
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dismantling the Fantasy
Dismantling the Fantasy by Darryl Bailey
£6.07
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews