Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Topical and Entertaining - Why Can't All Travel Guides Be Like This?
This is the first Footprint Focus guide I have read but I am certain it won't be the last as it combines relevant and up to date information with a writing style which is both easy to follow and entertaining. Most of the popular towns and tourist destinations of south east Sicily are covered admirably with obvious emphasis being given to Mount Etna and the city of...
Published 16 months ago by Graeme Wright

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lacking
I am not wholly convinced that the author has been to the far south east corner of Sicily and if she has then she went with rose-tinted glasses on and perhaps a few years back! Don't get me wrong, it was a fascinating place and we had a great holiday but this guide was misleading or inaccurate on a number of occasions. It is seriously lacking in good maps and...
Published 10 months ago by MrsH


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Topical and Entertaining - Why Can't All Travel Guides Be Like This?, 25 April 2013
By 
Graeme Wright "book worm" (salford) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sicily: Catania & the Southeast Footprint Focus Guide: Includes Taormina & Mount Etna (Kindle Edition)
This is the first Footprint Focus guide I have read but I am certain it won't be the last as it combines relevant and up to date information with a writing style which is both easy to follow and entertaining. Most of the popular towns and tourist destinations of south east Sicily are covered admirably with obvious emphasis being given to Mount Etna and the city of Catania. If you've visited Sicily this book will bring back all the memories, sights and tastes. If you haven't then one read of this and you'll be onto the travel agent quicker than you can say primavera
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compact, Concise & accurate, 13 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just returned from Taormina , Sicily and the book was extremely useful and accurate. Did Etna, Godfather villages and visited Messina using tours, buses and trains. Book was very helpful - just enough info to get us to some good places.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lacking, 21 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am not wholly convinced that the author has been to the far south east corner of Sicily and if she has then she went with rose-tinted glasses on and perhaps a few years back! Don't get me wrong, it was a fascinating place and we had a great holiday but this guide was misleading or inaccurate on a number of occasions. It is seriously lacking in good maps and directions, which would have been a great help to navigate Sicily's poorly signed road network. Beaches that we expected to be "pristine" or "deserted" were not so. The best cafe in Ragusa was not to be found despite quite a hike around the city centre. The guide may be useful as an overview but not if you want to really explore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Low Cost matches lack of detail, 19 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sicily: Catania & the Southeast Footprint Focus Guide: Includes Taormina & Mount Etna (Kindle Edition)
Very disappointing, despite the easly portable Kindle version. This guide only covers a very small part of Sicily and even then fails to deliver. Very poor maps and little detail on anything beyond the main attractions. Suffers from the usual issue of being out of date with regard to comparative pricing almost as soon as it is published.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Kindle version, 7 Sep 2013
By 
Andrew F. Hunter "AndyH" (Midlands UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
At the end of the book credit is given to the photography. However I have not found a single photo in the Kindle version. Disappointing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good guide, 6 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This guide book has lots of interesting historical facts plus recommendations for hotels and restaurants. It has an easy chatty style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Kindle edition of guide book for Sicily, 11 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sicily: Catania & the Southeast Footprint Focus Guide: Includes Taormina & Mount Etna (Kindle Edition)
Bought for my kindle, but his would have been much more useful as a paperback 15 words required, so ta da da!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Thin on facts, 9 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sicily: Catania & the Southeast Footprint Focus Guide: Includes Taormina & Mount Etna (Kindle Edition)
Thin on facts - a local postcard was of more use. Just not what I was expecting to help us on our journey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A bit thin, 28 Oct 2013
By 
R. Hodges (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sicily: Catania & the Southeast Footprint Focus Guide: Includes Taormina & Mount Etna (Kindle Edition)
I needed a guide to Sicily for my holiday but found that it was a bit selective in its coverage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Scicily - Catania and SE Footprint, 26 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sicily: Catania & the Southeast Footprint Focus Guide: Includes Taormina & Mount Etna (Kindle Edition)
Short and snappy, easy to carry around. Contains the basics on verything you nee dto know abou the area in an accessible format
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews