Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you are a fan of 1970s nostalgia then Cilla Black will tickle your fancy with her comedy plays!
Britain's chart-topping pop singer made her transition into television in 1968 with her very own BBC TV variety show "Cilla". By the mid-1970s and after seven record breaking seasons at the Beeb Cilla Black signed a new deal with production company ATV (Associated Television/ITV). The deal offered Cilla the chance to dip her toe into the world of situation comedy and her...
Published on 10 July 2012 by Mr. K

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A change too far
Cilla had allways done comedy scetches during the CILLA shows on BBC,but this was a big departure and allthough I am a huge fan of Cilla's I don't think it really worked.Her hits had dried up and this was seen as a new direction.She did one last BBC series in 76 then more or less vanished from our tv screens until SURPRISE SURPRISE in 84
I will of course purchase...
Published 21 months ago by C. J. Walker


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you are a fan of 1970s nostalgia then Cilla Black will tickle your fancy with her comedy plays!, 10 July 2012
This review is from: Cilla's Comedy Six - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Britain's chart-topping pop singer made her transition into television in 1968 with her very own BBC TV variety show "Cilla". By the mid-1970s and after seven record breaking seasons at the Beeb Cilla Black signed a new deal with production company ATV (Associated Television/ITV). The deal offered Cilla the chance to dip her toe into the world of situation comedy and her husband Bobby the position of Executive Producer.

`Cilla's Comedy Six` was the first of two series made for ATV (the 2nd being "Cilla's World of Comedy - The Complete Series [DVD]"). Filming began in late 1974 and the series was broadcast on ITV at the start of the following year. The response from British viewers and the critics alike was very positive as millions tuned in to watch Cilla star in her new role as ITV's "prime-time" comedy actress. This popularity continued thereafter with each of the six plays charting the weekly `Top 10' poll of "most watched" British TV programmes. A few months after the first series ended Cilla received "Britain's Top Female Comedy Star" award by the Writer's Guild.

A generation out there will likely have never seen this series before - as it has not been repeated over the years and instead disappeared into the vaults at ITV. What I will say is if you are a fan of seventies nostalgia then you will likely enjoy the humour of these plays. If not, you may find them at times a bit dated and wooden as the scripts and style of comedy was very much of the time. If I'm honest I don't think the stories aged as well as some of what you see on better known British comedy classics like "The Good Life" and "Are You Being Served". You do at least however get to see another side of Cilla Black which further proves she is certainly not a one trick pony. Instead, the Liverpudlian star shows she is a very good character actress at heart who can hold her own alongside many of the 1970s sitcom elite. So prepare for a lorra, lorra laughs along the way (and a few tears) all directed by TV's legendary Les Chatfield (Coronation Street, Juliet Bravo, Duty Free). Now here's the big plus point the series is offered at a BUDGET price!

Below are details of each episode:

1) No Harem for Henry (15 January 1975) - Guest starring Keith Barron and Anna Sharkey - "Linda Pearson wonders if there is another woman in her husband's life."

2) Every Husband Has One! (22 January 1975) - Guest starring Henry McGee, Tony Selby - "Doris Livesey is chosen as the typical housewife by a consumer research organisation."

3) Sea View (29 January 1975) - Guest starring Maggie Jones, Alan Rothwell - "Thelma and Barry Fosset take their two small children to the seaside for a week's holiday but it is only when they are ready to return home that problems arise."

4) Father's Doing Fine (5 February 1975) - Guest starring Leslie Sands, Helen Frazer - "Christine Bradshaw's life becomes complicated when her widowed father meets Gloria..."

5) Who's Rocking the Boat? (12 February 1975) - Guest starring Dudley Sutton, Norman Rossington - "Vera Clayton is about to set sail around the world, in a small boat with two men for company."

6) Dictation Speed (19 February 1975) - Guest starring Dinsdale Landen, Nicolette Mackenzie - "Secretary Sally Norton has to work out how to cope with the unwelcome attentions of her boss."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars About Time!!, 14 Oct 2013
By 
A. J. Darbyshire "tonyspost" (East Yorks) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cilla's Comedy Six - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
About time that this brilliant comedy series was released onto dvd. Read the other day that Cilla is about to do her first acting role. Excuse me, what about this series plus Cilla's World Of Comedy which followed shortly afterwards. Although the series shows dated sets etc. you can still see why Cilla was chosen to receive numerous awards for her comedy acting roles. All we need now is for her film Work Is A Four Letter Word to be released!!

Well worth the money and was a great pleasure to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cilla's Comedy Six, 4 Jan 2014
By 
Mr. A. Nicholls "Mr A Nicholls" (PRESTON,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cilla's Comedy Six - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
I'm glad this series as come out on DVD as i remember seeing this on TV as a cilla fan it's just great to own it so you can watch it over and over again it's so funny just great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, 13 Nov 2013
This review is from: Cilla's Comedy Six - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Great entertainment even tho it is from the seventies, remember it well. Was deemed excellent in its day and Cilla won the Writers Guild Award for 1976 comedy actress of the year! Well deserved!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A trip down memory lane with actress Cilla, 25 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cilla's Comedy Six - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
I remember watching this when I was young. My Dad never liked her as a singer, and was not keen to watch the comedy actress Cilla.
He was pleasantly surprised. We tuned in every week and my Dad particularly liked the second episode. I liked them all, the wrighting of the stories was very clever . Cilla would never win an oscar, but she does a very good job. It was a top rated sereis at the time with regular position in the top 5 TV ratings
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A change too far, 16 Mar 2013
By 
C. J. Walker (U K) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cilla's Comedy Six - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Cilla had allways done comedy scetches during the CILLA shows on BBC,but this was a big departure and allthough I am a huge fan of Cilla's I don't think it really worked.Her hits had dried up and this was seen as a new direction.She did one last BBC series in 76 then more or less vanished from our tv screens until SURPRISE SURPRISE in 84
I will of course purchase these two series when eventually released,they were due before last Xmas,then April now July.
We do hear Cilla the singer on the opening credits with "Easy in your company" released as a single at the time and not a bad song.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dated, as it should be, 10 July 2014
By 
M. D. Vanaman "vanno" (Nottingham UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cilla's Comedy Six - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Very dated but some surprisingly funny lines by the writers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fell in love with her all over again, 5 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cilla's Comedy Six - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Villa is endearing and enchanting. Fell in love with her all over again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 17 Dec 2014
By 
Mr. P. Smith (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cilla's Comedy Six - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
If you like Cilla then its a must
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 Nov 2014
By 
G. Head - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cilla's Comedy Six - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Great memories
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cilla's Comedy Six - The Complete Series [DVD]
£8.87
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews