Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ondatrópica (MP3 Download)
Fantastic album from this South American band. A must if you're into modern latin music. A firm favorite
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A superb record - but by the deluxe 2CD version, 21 May 2014
By 
N. Rogall "nlr50" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ondatropica (Audio CD)
This is a terrific album. It is the first time I have bought a Quantic album - I will certainly listen to more. But a word of warning. I purchased the 2CD version for not much more than the single CD. The second CD is even better than the first. Don't buy the single version
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quantic at his best, 1 Feb 2014
By 
S. Haselden "Haselsh1" (Lincolnshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ondatropica [VINYL] (Vinyl)
This I understand, is the latest outing of Will Holland aka Quantic since his move to Colombia. The album is entirely recorded using analogue techniques and this shows in the sound quality. The music is a fabulous blend of latin and funk and really should grace your collection if you are remotely interested in this man and his music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good grooves, 3 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ondatropica (Audio CD)
No disappointment here. Lots of variety and not just your standard salsa mix; at one point it even goes slightly klezmer. Enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Colombian music captured, 16 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ondatropica (Audio CD)
Not quite Buena Vista Social Club, but an excellent dip into Colombia's percussion-driven music with some skilful and fun musicians. I bought this after seeing Ondatropica live with Quantic at Hay Festival and although it doesn't capture the great atmosphere the band generates live, it's an excellent, lively studio recording that makes great stereo listening. Play it loud!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Reviews were good so I took a chance, 27 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ondatrópica (MP3 Download)
On first listening this was an OK buy, but the more you listen the more intriguing it becomes. Things are not straightforward, there's a superb re-working of Black Sabbath's Iron Man and I'm sure Willy the Pimp makes an appearance later on. All in all it's a fantastic album and well worth it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great album, 16 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ondatropica (Audio CD)
This is a really awesome cd, gave it as a gift to a buena vista social club fan hoping they will enjoy it also and it was really a big hit. Very summery vibe, really mellow and easy to listen and enjoy this music..hear it just once and you will be hooked on the first track!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A piece of Latin genius, 28 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ondatropica [VINYL] (Vinyl)
This album is a Latin masterpiece!

The pieces off this record are sublimely written with influences from Rap to Ska and Reggae this album is a must buy for any music lover!

The vast knowledge of Colombian and Latin music held by the producers has been collated with the musical talents of Latin artist both old and young to create a heartfelt celebration of their musical heritage, recorded at the famous Discos Fuentes studio en Colombia.

Ouvrir la ventana porque este record es muy muy calor!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best 2012 album !!, 12 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ondatropica [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Perfeita combinação de ritmos latinos , embalagem de luxo, vinil bate forte na pista !
Discoteca básica ! Melhor disco de 2012
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Utter Gem, 29 Oct 2012
This review is from: Ondatropica (Audio CD)
I had never considered myself especially a fan of South American music but I happened to hear the 4th track of this album (Suena) on a Songlines sampler album and was completely hooked. For me there were obvious parellels between Ondatropica/Columbian music and Buena Vista Social Club/Cuban Music way back when, in that both offered a fantasic entrance into a whole new musical world and having set off in this direction it is a world that I fully intend to explore. I defy anyone to listen to this great collection of songs and not smile with sheer enjoyment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ondatrópica
Ondatrópica by Ondatrópica
Buy MP3 Album£4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews