Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Prime Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars24
3.8 out of 5 stars
Price:£6.89+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 January 2013
But a shame the Mystery isn't up to his abilities. However, it's engaging enough, and fun to scream at actors who are now unrecognisably [nearly] doing Other Roles---best was 'Brenda' off 'Emmerdale' as a beautiful, talented young ingenue. Good fun for a rainy afternoon.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2013
2x class acts here why dont they make program-mes like this anymore,i would recommend most highly,not just from a nostalgic sense these stories still hold up today
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2014
Not much to add to the other reviews; both are actually good stories, although the second one is not really about ghosts. The quality of 'The Ferryman' print is markedly poorer than "Poor Girl' but the acting is great and they're worth watching just for that. The special effects are of their time shall we say!

The most interesting thing for me in some ways is just how dated the 1970s now appear, even to someone who grew up in them; it's quite amusing how the rebellious young writer in 'The Ferryman' wears a suit, dresses for dinner, has sherry before, whiskey after etc etc. Very traditional but then Kingsley Amis (who wrote the story) was more of a 1950s guy.

The DVD is a bit disappointing, apart from the poor reproduction; there are no extras, so it seems as if it was produced as cheaply as possible. I personally don't think these two are any where near as good as the BBC MR James series but worth watching if you like ghost stories.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2015
Two enjoyable stories however I felt the DVD was too short and there should of been more episodes included on this disc so it does not represent value for money. This is hardly a collection and I will check in future what I am ordering.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2016
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2014
Although both were good stories, the picture was slightly blurred, and the sound could have been better.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2012
If you haven't treated yourself to the BBC's 'Ghost Stories For Christmas' you'll wonder what this load of tosh is all about - if you have then I don't expect you'll have the patience to stay with it for very long. It's only when I attempt to view stuff like 'Haunted' that I realise just how far some film-makers have come - and actors too. Anyone having seen Jeremy Brett's portrayals of Sherlock Holmes will watch 'Haunted' and wonder just how both scriptwriter and director managed to put all that burgeoning acting talent to no good use whatsoever. If you want to see some really good hauntings then go for the BBC's Ghost Stores: Made around the same decade as,'Haunted' , set a century earlier - and light-years ahead ahead in terms of style. No praise too high for the one - no price too low for the other.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2015
Wonderful
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2014
Good quality and arrived in good time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2015
Very disappointing
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)