Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Faces - In their own words.
This series is a true crime viewers dream. It is adapted from the book "Faces - A Photographic Journey Through the Underworld" and sticks to the books basic structure. The first four episodes cover crime from the 1940's to nearly present day as told by the "faces" of Glasgow, Manchester/Salford, Newcastle and London. The last two episodes deal with the move from armed...
Published on 3 Dec. 2012 by Estuary

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars sad old men
i dont know who's saddest, me for buying the dvd or the sad old losers in the dvd.

Only thing i learnt from this was crime doesnt pay

as if we all didnt know that already !! lol
Published 8 months ago by PhotoShopper


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Faces - In their own words., 3 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: British Gangsters: Faces Of The Underworld - Series One [DVD] (DVD)
This series is a true crime viewers dream. It is adapted from the book "Faces - A Photographic Journey Through the Underworld" and sticks to the books basic structure. The first four episodes cover crime from the 1940's to nearly present day as told by the "faces" of Glasgow, Manchester/Salford, Newcastle and London. The last two episodes deal with the move from armed robbery into the drugs trade and the consequences. The participants are very candid which some may find shocking, but the series never glamourises crime or the criminals themselves, but it does give them room to tell their stories.
It show's that at the top crime pays, but it exacts a fearsome price, in years served and lives broken.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A criminal record., 30 July 2013
By 
Arch Stanton (Cornwall, England.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: British Gangsters: Faces Of The Underworld - Series One [DVD] (DVD)
Documentary series in which O'Mahoney takes us on a journey around Britain and it's criminal underworld. Along the way he gives us a brief history of certain events and individuals, and meets some of the 'faces of the underworld', who tell their personal stories and give further insights into the history lesson O'Mahoney is giving us...
I enjoyed this, I knew very little about these individuals, as I don't tend to read a lot of 'gangster' true crime, but bought this, largely based on the many good reviews the series had received here on Amazon.
It's pretty much what you would expect, with the overall message being that the world of the gangster, is certainly a violent one and rarely a glamorous one, with lots of jail time thrown in for good measure.
Some of the accents are pretty broad and at times, I did find myself leaning toward the TV in order to understand them better, not that I can honestly say that that worked. With many of 'The Faces' talking with gusto about the crimes they have committed. Which makes you wonder just how repentant, if at all, these individuals are, for some of the horrible things that they have done. However I could not help but chuckle at Vic Dark's tale of a high speed getaway.
Overall, I did find this pretty informative, and certainly entertaining too (if I am being completely honest!). As I so imagine would anyone, with a vague interest in this subject matter.
The dvd contains 6 episodes (approx 45m each) and some extras, which include the launch party featurette for the book this series was based on, an over an hour long discussion with Paul Ferris about the book, interviews, galleries and footage from a polygraph test.
4.25/5 for what it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great dvd, 11 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: British Gangsters: Faces Of The Underworld - Series One [DVD] (DVD)
I ENJOYED every minute of this double dvd and the interviews were very interesting and openly honest about many aspects of these gangsters lifes. From what they were accussed of how on others occasions set up by police. ive read both of paul ferris books but to see him talk openly on the dvd was also a learning curve regards his dark past and how now he lives a quiet life and rarely heard of. Many are pensioners now like walter norvel but still has an accurate and good memory going back to his days of serving the godfather Arthur Thompson..I recommend to anyone interested in Glasgow gangsters this is a gripping dvd with no holds barred accounts from the men themselves that rules the underworld back in their day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of British......, 3 Dec. 2012
By 
M. Nesbitt "` nezzy`" (gods country: newcastle.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: British Gangsters: Faces Of The Underworld - Series One [DVD] (DVD)
Long awaited ..... For the first time here is a DVD that is worth getting. For years the DVD market place has been missing a truly great documentary on the British underworld but at last here is one that makes the long wait worthwhile. Not only do the 6 episodes cover the underworld the length and breadth of Britain, but it has truly some of the most fascinating interviews/stories ever to be recorded, from Paddy Conroy and Paul Ferris in the North to Vic Dark and Freddie Foreman in the South.
Having watched the entire documentary series in one go I can categorically state that it is the best on the market. Foreman, Dark, Richardson, Fraser, Conroy, Ferris, Massey and so on, they are all here, some recorded for the very first time.
I highly recommend this DVD, not only is the series well put together and very informative but it includes hours of extras. I'm already waiting in anticipation for series two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great viewing, 23 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: British Gangsters: Faces Of The Underworld - Series One [DVD] (DVD)
Really enjoyed this dvd. London and Glasgow being the best episodes from disc 1. Enjoyed disc 2 too.

Recommended to friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars oh yes, 11 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: British Gangsters: Faces Of The Underworld - Series One [DVD] (DVD)
I love these Dvds as it shows u what can happen , well worth the money I would recommend these Dvds to anybody wants to watch this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Faces DVD best yet, 10 Jan. 2013
This review is from: British Gangsters: Faces Of The Underworld - Series One [DVD] (DVD)
bought the DVD as i have the book, want too sure what to expect, but i must say its a top top documentry and behind the scene film about the "faces" of Britian. any crime fan or anyone intrested in this subject this DVD is a must. The Extras are great to with vic derk and Arran coghlan. thanks again bernie your done the film and yourself proud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars gangster dvd, 20 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: British Gangsters: Faces Of The Underworld - Series One [DVD] (DVD)
very good value ,arrived quickly,very good dvd ,worth the money ,bought this for a prescent,have purchaced a few on amazon and have all been good value,thanx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars bargain, 1 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: British Gangsters: Faces Of The Underworld - Series One [DVD] (DVD)
these dvds were bought as gifts and were a good watch and interesting to watch great price and delivery thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best gangster documentary i have seen., 31 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: British Gangsters: Faces Of The Underworld - Series One [DVD] (DVD)
Gangsters being totally honest about their criminal careers. No holds barred,explicit stuff and an insight into the criminal mind. Worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

British Gangsters: Faces Of The Underworld - Series One [DVD]
£4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews