Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brecker Brothers Complete Arista Albums
I had most of these albums on vinyl but wanted the complete set on cd to play in the car. Great music from a very underrated band.
Published 10 months ago by aldostua

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars BARGAIN BOX BRECKER
Price a bargain 1 per CD so no moan on that front.

Quality flip box presentation with CDs in replica jackets and a booklet with track, personnel etc details.

I'll declare an interest: I come at this from the modern jazz side of both Breckers, including Steps (Ahead) and other MB outings. So you may guess that I liked the Live at Montreux (2 CDs)...
Published 6 months ago by Russell Chapman


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brecker Brothers Complete Arista Albums, 30 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Complete Arista Albums Collection (Audio CD)
I had most of these albums on vinyl but wanted the complete set on cd to play in the car. Great music from a very underrated band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Funky Fun Jazz, 20 Feb 2014
By 
Cornish Deadhead "Happy Harv" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Complete Arista Albums Collection (Audio CD)
This might not be everyone's cup of coffee in the jazz world as these guys love funk and fun, but boy can they play as well!

In this box you get 8 albums of predominantly happy music so far as I am concerned, with many of the tracks insisting that at least one foot is tapping. OK so these albums were recorded between 75 and 80 and I concede to some extent they are a product of their time, but for me I reckon they have aged well, with the exception of some of the vocal tracks. Michael Brecker who sadly passed away 7 years ago was one hell of a sax man and Randy was no slouch on the trumpet. As this box is available for such a reasonable price, anyone considering a purchase simply should take the plunge!

Packaging is like other boxes in this series with each album in a replica cardboard sleeve, all held in a clamshell box. There's also a 20 page booklet with a very short note by Randy, some photos, track listing, personnel etc, a lovely little set!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Complete Arista Albums Collection (Audio CD)
Great over view of the Brecker Brothers talent. Well designed and presented package containing 5 complete albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars BARGAIN BOX BRECKER, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Complete Arista Albums Collection (Audio CD)
Price a bargain 1 per CD so no moan on that front.

Quality flip box presentation with CDs in replica jackets and a booklet with track, personnel etc details.

I'll declare an interest: I come at this from the modern jazz side of both Breckers, including Steps (Ahead) and other MB outings. So you may guess that I liked the Live at Montreux (2 CDs) sides (both excellent and 5*****) best, followed by the non-vocal or mostly non-vocal CDs (4**** or 3***).

From my perspective, the vocal sides are at best, quality dance pop, some pretty boring, at worst, tacky, Village People-type stuff. The musicianship in all of them shines beneath real repetitive 70's schlock vocal arrangements.

As a listener to a lot of vocal music in all styles, I'd say that none of the music is enhanced by the vocals - the trite or repetitive lyrics are just not up to the music. For these 3 or 4 CDs (I'm summoning up the courage or listen again), I'd be generous and give
2** or 1*. If you are having a party though for people of a certain age, they might be pretty good background music.

If you are 70's music fan - this is probably well up your street.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Aug 2014
By 
PAUL NEEDHAM (DERBY, DERBYSHIRE United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Complete Arista Albums Collection (Audio CD)
great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Complete Arista Albums Collection
Complete Arista Albums Collection by The Brecker Brothers (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews