Customer Reviews


74 Reviews
5 star:
 (61)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent drill
This drill is used by professionals and I can see why.

Irrespective of the pretty cool looking aluminium case and black and white style it is very powerful and very light.

It comes with 3.0aH battery so you will likely never need to charge it twice in one sitting. and even if you do it fully charges in 22 mins.

The case is of very high...
Published 21 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
2 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great drill, poor case and amazon customer service
To start the drill is as expected, competent and easy to use, the problem is I have had two drill sets sent to me and both cases were damaged or poorly put together. Amazon customer service has been pretty poor as well. If you don't mind a damaged case, buy from here.
Published 20 months ago by Just Dreaming


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent drill, 16 April 2013
This review is from: Makita BHP456RFWX 2-Speed 18V Li-ion Combi Drill with Battery Anniversary Edition - White (DIY & Tools)
This drill is used by professionals and I can see why.

Irrespective of the pretty cool looking aluminium case and black and white style it is very powerful and very light.

It comes with 3.0aH battery so you will likely never need to charge it twice in one sitting. and even if you do it fully charges in 22 mins.

The case is of very high quality (you'll feel like a hit man putting up shelves!)

Build quality is 1st rate and make sure you register the tool on Makita's website within 30 days to get your 3 year warranty
!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect bit of kit., 1 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Makita BHP456RFWX 2-Speed 18V Li-ion Combi Drill with Battery Anniversary Edition - White (DIY & Tools)
This is a superb bit of kit, the battery goes on and on, and when it does run out just have a coffee break (22.5 minutes) while it recharges. Absolutely no need to get a second battery - unless of course you don't intend stopping for a break! Totally recommend this product.
John
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 24 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Makita BHP456RFWX 2-Speed 18V Li-ion Combi Drill with Battery Anniversary Edition - White (DIY & Tools)
this is my 2nd of these now, the 1st was approx. 4 years ago so this is the updated model. loads of power weighted perfect. my 1st drill is still going strong but for this price with a battery its a no brainer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great drill, 13 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Makita BHP456RFWX 2-Speed 18V Li-ion Combi Drill with Battery Anniversary Edition - White (DIY & Tools)
I am a joiner to trade and have had many Dewalt battery drills. On a comparison with a top of the range Dewalt I would give it 9/10 all round but it costs half is much so imo is a really good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Drill, 14 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Makita BHP456RFWX 2-Speed 18V Li-ion Combi Drill with Battery Anniversary Edition - White (DIY & Tools)
Very good price for this professional drill.
Well balanced with excellent torque.
Best power tool I have owned. Worth paying that bit extra for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DIY Luxury, 8 Dec. 2013
This review is from: Makita BHP456RFWX 2-Speed 18V Li-ion Combi Drill with Battery Anniversary Edition - White (DIY & Tools)
First of all, I'm not a professional user or even more than a fairly casual DIYer. This is the third cordless combi drill I've had in about 15 years so, unsurprisingly, the technology has moved on. However, this is the first one that (after a couple of months of ownership and a few bouts of use) hasn't had me thinking that it was second-best to my trusty old Bosch mains powered drill.

It's comfortable to hold, the right weight (for me) to be able to use one-handed at awkward angles without tiring, while being heavy enough to cope with the power delivery without the torque making the bit wander. Basically, it drills holes exactly where you want them (sounds obvious but you know what I mean) and the power delivery is superb. This is particularly good if, like me, you sometimes try to avoid making a mess by holding a vacuum cleaner wand underneath the hole you're drilling while using the drill one-handed.

Another thing - the aluminium case is (almost disconcertingly) big but the foam lining makes it suitable to keep all my basic drill bits in their various boxes with the drill without it rattling.

It's positively pleasant to use and the whole package feels just that bit better than functional for my purposes; hence the title of this review.

The light isn't brilliantly positioned, though, but so far it hasn't especially annoyed me.

If I lost this drill, I'd have no hesitation in buying exactly the same one again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent drill, 14 Aug. 2013
This review is from: Makita BHP456RFWX 2-Speed 18V Li-ion Combi Drill with Battery Anniversary Edition - White (DIY & Tools)
Bought this as I required a drill for when I moved home. Good light weight drill, that doesn't tightens up easily, just clicks and that's it. Takes almost the time it takes for a cup or tea to charge so no need for a second battery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars marvellous, 9 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Makita BHP456RFWX 2-Speed 18V Li-ion Combi Drill with Battery Anniversary Edition - White (DIY & Tools)
Great drill, lasts ages, strong and powerful. The chargers are massive but it takes only an hour to charge fully. As someone has said before the light doesn't shine where it is useful, but hey its a good drill!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great quality, 11 May 2013
This review is from: Makita BHP456RFWX 2-Speed 18V Li-ion Combi Drill with Battery Anniversary Edition - White (DIY & Tools)
Great quality drill for the price, good weight, handy light when drilling/screwing and batteries are fantastic. Also in great case.

Wouldnt use as a hammer drill though i would buy an sds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Once you've bought this, you can throw all your other toy drills away!, 14 Nov. 2014
By 
jazzyb88 (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Makita BHP456RFWX 2-Speed 18V Li-ion Combi Drill with Battery Anniversary Edition - White (DIY & Tools)
If you an occasional DIYer then this is hands down the best drill you will ever own. I used this last year to create a stud partition in my garage, which consisted of securing approximately 30 pieces of timber. The ease of changing settings and effectiveness of the drill is simply outstanding; able to comfortably drill holes in breeze block, brick (in hammer mode), pilot holes in wood and screwing. Throughout the task, I can only recall having to charge it twice (bearing in mind it was being used from new, so the battery probably hasn't hit maximum usefulness yet). Charging was a breeze with the fast 20 min charger, so there is not a lot of waiting time or painstaking overnight charging with the old Ni-Cd drills.

Before this, I only had a cheapy Wickes branded cordless drill and as you might expect, this is a million times better.

I would say if there is one good tool you want in your toolbox, then a drill has to be up there. It really is worth paying that bit extra and getting a tool that will last for many years, such as this one.

One piece of advice is to register for the extended warranty when you buy this as Makita will then cover it for 3 years instead of the usual 1 year. I think you need to do this within 30 days of purchasing, so don't forget to do that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews