Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars534
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

In some respects to review the fantastic documentary film "Searching For Sugar Man" is to ruin it. But here's the 'some-info' version minus spoilers...

Sixto Diaz Rodriguez (pronounced Sees-Toe) was born in Detroit, Michigan in 1942 to recently emigrated Mexican parents. From the early to late Sixties, Motown had put the Motor City on the musical map - so emerging singer-songwriters cut their teeth in bars and cafes, soaked up the campus/street politics and hoped to get noticed. After an early 7" single in 1967 on Impact that folded without trace - enter Producer Dennis Coffey and Sussex Records (home of Bill Withers). Sixto's debut American album "Cold Fact" was released Stateside March 1970 on Sussex SXBS 7000 - followed the next year by "Coming From Reality" - November 1971 on Sussex SXBS 7012. But despite their musical quality - few noticed locally. Legend in fact has it that "Coming From Reality" sold less than 20 copies.

Cut to the other side of the world - South Africa - and young black and white kids are plagued by Apartheid. With lyrics like "drinking from a Judas cup...papa don't like new ideas round here..." or "I wonder will this hatred ever end?" - they pick up on the Arthur Lee melodies and the Bob Dylan protest lyrics and the soulful Jose Feliciano voice and the album becomes a huge hit over there. So Rodriguez tours and those shows are emblazoned into the memory. But then the mysterious American immigrant troubadour disappears...some even ruminating that he's dead - or never existed at all.

Cut to decades later and a South African secondhand record-store owner wonders what happened to this huge and positive influence in his life? And so the journey begins...searching for the sugar man...

As a cartoon figure wanders across the dirty city streets of a cold Detroit with a guitar case strapped over his shoulder - you listen to tracks like "Crucify Your Mind" and "Inner City Blues" - and you wonder how in God's name you've never heard this great music before. Politics, Mafia swindles, radio indifference - all of it probably. But it's what happens next that makes you double take and grin from ear to ear all the way to the joyous end...

I urge you to buy either of the stunning Light in The Attic CD/LP remasters of both albums ("Cold Fact" on LITA 036 or "Coming From Reality" on LITA 038). The "Coming From Reality" album has "I Think Of You" - as lovely a melody as you've ever heard. The album finisher "Cause" has stunning lyrics - "Cause I lost my job two weeks before Christmas - and I talked to Jesus at the sewer - and the Pope said it was none of his Goddamn business..." The CD reissue even has three tracks from his aborted 3rd album - "Can't Get Away" showing how well his songwriting had progressed. After them make a beeline to this wonderful BLU RAY.

To sum up - you know the way you look at hundreds of 5-Star reviews and wonder what all the love is about - don't.

They're all right...
22 comments|25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2013
I had the fortune/misfortune to spend my teenage years in South Africa under the stifling regime that was Apartheid. Now as a white person my experiences were no where near as bad for me as it was for the indigenous black population.

Only State controlled media was allowed and TV was still a couple of years away, but out of the fog of State Censorship came Cold Fact followed by After the Fact. And Rodriguez entered the life of a frustrated teenager.

I am happy to see that nearly 40 years later this artist who played such a large role in my teenage angst is getting the recognition, and royalties, he richly deserves. This documentary is well made and well worth the BAFTA, and hopefully an Oscar, it has already won. If you don't know of Rodriguez then this documentary is a great introduction to his story and music, if like me his music played constantly around the camp fire, the bedroom, the car and anywhere else you could play it as a teenager, then enjoy the trip down memory lane.

Searching For Sugar Man [Blu-ray]
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 2 December 2012
Format: DVD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
As many others have said, this is a truly astonishing and uplifting documentary. To think that an artist can flop so badly in America, barely selling 100 records, and yet inspire a whole generation and be their "Bob Dylan" or "Rolling Stones" in another country, yet at the same time be utterly oblivious to it; it's incredible.

Until I first heard about this film, I'd never heard of Rodriguez before. I'd never heard his music, never known about the impact he had on revolutionising a nation, never even heard his name mentioned. This, I think, is the best way to go into the documentary.

Although at the heart of this story is the journey that some South African's go on to find out "who is Rodriguez" - a man who, even to the nation he helped change, was a complete mystery - I think I enjoyed it more being blissfully ignorant. It's a journey I felt glad to follow and made me feel a part of the exploration. I am now aware of Rodriguez, and so should others be!

Aside from being uplifting, the film tries to shed light on corruption and deceit within the music industry itself, but that aspect does feel a bit tame; like they're trying not to tread too deep into potentially libellous territory. For example, when they're "following the money" to try and trace what happened to Rodriguez, you get to see a brief clip of an interview with Motown legend Clarence Avant which gets cut short relatively quickly. I couldn't help but wonder how much was removed due to the threat of legal action?

But almost everyone else in this documentary comes across as genuine, humble, likeable people. The fact there were rumours of Rodriguez's suicide all around South Africa, no-one truly knew what he was like, where he was even from in America, it created this sense of wonder that as a viewer is transferred to you. It's a real credit to the director, Malik Bendjelloul. I'm expecting big things from him in the future and will be keeping a look out for any future works of his!

I recommend this documentary highly. It's bound to make you feel good about the world and most of all, it's fun and entertaining. A fantastic piece of film making.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2012
I am South African and I loved this film. A trip down memory lane like no other. Every song brought back memories of the times we lived in, how we wished to change the landscape we found ourselves in. To actually find about the man who made us question our government, our religion, our parents - was simple marvellous. To discover more about how he lived his own values. To meet his family, to be reminded of ones own family. I really hope he tours again. To see him in the flesh like the lucky few who have would be a highlight of my life. A true inspiration.
44 comments|54 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2012
I have just pre-ordered this DVD because it made such a profound impact on me when I saw it on the big screen at the Tyneside Cinema.

It is a brilliant film. I already liked his music but I came away in awe of the man. He is everything the average, dumb-head pop star isn't. He's talented, inconspicuous and meek and a very kind, gentle human being. One of the things that almost moved me to tears was the bit in the film where his daughter says the money he latterly earned from his success he gave away to the poor of Detroit. Brilliant! I hope I would do that in the same situation!

It's a film filled with drama and emotion, telling a story chronologically and with powerful imagery from Detroit and Cape Town backed up by spine-tingling music from the man himself.

If you don't enjoy and even love this film I will be frankly amazed. He is playing at the Sage Newcastle on 24th Nov - I CAN'T WAIT!!!!!!!
44 comments|74 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Format: DVD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Searching for Sugar Man is the remarkable film of Rodriguez, a Detroit based singer-songwriter, tipped for the top by his record label and the critics, but whose 1970 and '71 albums failed commercially: except, and without his knowledge, in South Africa where his socially concious Dylanesque lyrics, delivered in a style that leans a little toward Neil Diamond, took off big style.

It is hard to believe that an artist's records could sell in large numbers somewhere in the world without his knowledge, but South Africa was a fascist state at the time where popular music was effectively banned -- especially music that challenged the establishment -- and later cultural boycotts left the country further isolated. Into this void had stepped a large and sophisticated bootleg industry, that did very well out of Rodriguez while the artist himself scraped a subsidence living as a labourer in one of the United States' most depressed cities. Only with the collapse of Apartheid and the advent of the internet did this situation change. South African fans had believed Rodriguez dead, his legend enhanced by stories of a gruesome on stage death by self-immolation. But in 1998 Rodriguez's daughter stumbled across a fansite dedicated to her father and the rest is history.

So Searching for Sugar Man is the story of loyal fans' desperate search to discover more about their idol and delighting to find him alive. Rodriguez belatedly achieves stardom and while he never receives the royalties on all those album sales he does play to tens of thousands over a series of sell-out gigs. It is a wonderful film -- I nearly cried -- a rags to riches story with the strangest of plots.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2012
This beautifully made documentary is, like the story of Rodriguez, irresistible. How a musician, long forgotten in his own country, can be a superstar in another without him being aware of this is a screenwriter's dream. I suppose the story seems even more fantastic in our modern hot-news, hooked-up, internet-driven world. This is an absorbing film about a modest man whose music was played, recorded and released in the US in the early 1970s. His records 'Cold Fact' and 'Coming From Reality' did nothing and he quietly faded into obscurity. Meanwhile, in South Africa, his music quietly and steadily gained cult status. No-one knew anything about the musician until a journalist started digging. What he found was extraordinary and this film tells the story. Highly recommended. The albums are superb too.
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 11 November 2012
Format: DVD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
"Searching for Sugar Man," is a documentary following two South Africans as they search for the elusive Detroit musician Sixto Rodriguez, who released two critically acclaimed albums which didn't sell. Unbeknownst to Rodriguez, he became an icon in South Africa during the height of apartheid and 3 decades later his fans try to uncover the mystery surrounding the unknown songwriter who was rumoured to have committed suicide.

Set to a soundtrack of Rodriguez's original recordings, a picture of the Sugar Man is built up by those that grew up with his music in South Africa as well as people who remember him in Michigan including interviews with music executives, producers and journalists. This is a heart-warming story of how music can break down boundaries and inspire generations.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2016
Who was Sugar Man, why was he called this, who was searching for him, and why was he being sought?

The answers are complicated and have to do with music, history, politics, international relations.

Sugar Man was a drug dealer in Detroit.

“Sugar Man, won’t you hurry
Cos I’m tired of these scenes.”

So says the addict in the song, desperate for oblivion, for a place to kill his pain, at least temporarily.

The singer is Sixto Rodriguez, an artist few in America had heard of, a singer-songwriter-guitarist whose two albums in the early 1970s went nowhere. But that was the U.S. Elsewhere he was iconic, heroic, talismanic, a legend.

South Africans were the ones searching for him. Or some of them — those inspired by the music, ashamed of what apartheid had done to their country.

Sugar Man appealed to the young white urban middle-class, the educated and liberal. His records made their way to South Africa and for a short time received airplay on local FM stations (until the authorities shut down the music). Word spread, as did bootleg copies of the albums — all two of them (“Cold Fact”, released in 1970 and “Coming from Reality”, released the following year). They flourished underground, played clandestinely in bedrooms, backstreet cafés and at private parties.

It’s hard for us who were not there in the South Africa of the ‘70s to feel what they felt for him. We had never heard of him, and they — young white South Africans — had no idea we never had. To them he ranked with the Beatles and Rolling Stones, a Pied Piper from Hamlin who would lead them to liberation, not doom as in the folktale of old. They hung on his words, analysing and interpreting their significance.

“I wonder about the tears in children’s eyes
And I wonder about the soldier that dies
I wonder will this hatred ever end
I wonder and I worry, my friend
I wonder, I wonder, don’t you?”

Answer: Yes, they did. They wondered about all of it, sick and tired of their political condition and wanting change. If the Beatles sang of revolution and the Stones were street-fighting men, Rodriguez was their revolutionary, his music travelling everywhere to them underground.

“Garbage ain’t collected, women ain’t protected
Politicians using people they’re abusing
The mafia’s getting bigger, like pollution in the river
And you tell me this is where it’s at”

There was no internet in those days. No satellite TV, either. International sanctions against South Africa had isolated the country, turning it into a kind of sunny North Korea. Young whites identified with the oppressed black majority, both groups incarcerated in their different ways. These young whites knew what Mandela stood for and shared the values he prized. They wanted Nelson, themselves and their country freed, but this could only happen, they knew, with the white power structure challenged and dismantled.

Rodriguez gave them hope and courage. “For many of us,” says one South African in the film, “he was the soundtrack of our lives.”

The film is a non-linear chronicle of that strange and beautiful event — the hope and courage he gave people through his music. We begin in South Africa with confessions from several persons, including a music store owner and a music journalist. Later in the story they become important in the search for Sugar Man. Soon thereafter we are in Detroit where Rodriguez grew up and still lives today. The portrait that emerges from those who know him there is of a modest, gentle, hardworking man. Also a loving and loyal one — loyal to his three grown daughters, friends, city, roots and work. What work? Hard labour: roofing, bricklaying, construction, furniture removal. One co-worker says he works with pride, putting in an honest day’s labour because that’s what he can do. Loyal too to the arts which he never abandoned: music, painting, literature and poetry. He went back to university and got a degree in philosophy. He ran for city council and mayor of the city. And when his girls were growing up he took them to libraries, art galleries, science museums and concert halls, just so they would know something about the dimensions of the world.

His daughters love him, clear in everything they say about him, a good man at the centre of their lives. So in a way he’s already rich by the time the South Africans track him down, if richness means love, contentment, peace and acceptance. He is found through the sleuthing of a music journalist: interviews, phone calls, a website and e-mails. He’s invited to South Africa and flies there with his daughters in March 1998. Sold-out concerts, of course. The people scream and cry at them, sing and dance to the music. He’s their own Christ risen from the dead, fulfilling the promise of liberation made to them long ago through his music. He comes to a country free of apartheid whose president is Nelson Mandela. Tears all around, then, for South Africa at this time.

Both fairy stories are true.

As far as we know, success failed to corrupt Sixto Rodriguez. He never left Detroit and he gives away earnings from concerts and royalties to loved ones: family members and friends. He’s happy with his music and the bounty of recognition, seemingly unmoved by the seductions of money.

In a later song he tells us he wants to slip away. From what? That’s the interesting thing:

“Maybe today I’ll slip away

You can keep your symbols of success
Then I’ll pursue my own happiness
You can keep your clocks and routines
Then I’ll go mend my shattered dreams”

In the end his dreams were not shattered, or not entirely. Nor could he completely slip away. He had touched too many and their own dreams and would remain loyal to them as well.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 7 June 2014
So states South African music fan Stephen 'Sugar’ Segerman to 'long lost’, enigmatic US musician (of Mexican descent) Sixto Rodriguez, as Segerman (in 1998) unearths the presumed dead Rodriguez (now living in Detroit) in Swede Malik Bendjelloul’s intoxicating (and Oscar-winning) 2012 documentary. And, although the film’s claims that Rodriguez had been entirely 'lost to the world’ since his career flopped in the US in the early 1970s is not quite true – in addition to his popularity in media-isolated, Apartheid-ridden 1970s/80s South Africa, he was also popular in Australia, touring there in the 70s/80s – this does not overly detract from what is an irresistible 'fairy tale’ story of overlooked talent, musical inspiration and the subtlety, and poignancy, of modest ambition.

Bendjelloul’s film is also remarkably assured given that this was his first major cinematic excursion, seamlessly blending interviews with Rodriguez family members, disbelieving co-(construction) workers of ('modern day’) Rodriguez and South African fans with stark depictions of the ruthless South African racial segregation policies, and all overlaid with Rodriguez’s superbly evocative music – whose style, both thematically and aurally, is reminiscent of Dylan, with elements of, say, Donovan and Nick Drake thrown in – the latter with whom Rodriguez’s 'story’ has, initially, a good deal in common. Indeed, one of the things that makes Bendjelloul’s 'story’ so compelling is the remarkable juxtaposition of the tale of Rodriguez’s overlooked potential with the political (and musical) inspiration it provided (equally remarkably, primarily by ‘word of mouth’ – the circulation of copied cassette tapes!) to music fans in a nation thousands of miles away (despite the South African authorities’ attempts to censor Rodriguez’s ‘political’ material by physically 'scratching out’ tracks on vinyl records!). Similarly, the unassuming attitude presented by Rodriguez (and family) provides an interesting (and novel) commentary on US social attitudes – one that rarely surfaces in today’s celebrity and 'status’-obsessed media.

Thus, despite there being one or two 'holes’ in Rodriguez’s story (for example, where the revenue from the man’s significant South African, and presumably Australian, record sales went – A&M Sussex Records (and ex-Motown) supremo Clarence Avante becomes noticeably twitchy on this subject having previously lauded to the skies Rodriguez’s music), Bendjelloul’s film is a compelling watch and follows in the wake of other recent outstanding documentaries, such as Bart Layton’s The Imposter and James Marsh’s Man On Wire. The film also takes on a note of added sadness following Bendjelloul’s recent suicide in May 2014.
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)